We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Pedro
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
124
163
98
31
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
124
163
98
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey business restaurant el golf cart beach area the staff was friendly and helpful ambergris caye in town central america sea grass explore the island scuba diving great trip other resorts full kitchen pools divino kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 441 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2019

The hotel is also a condo, I own there and bought there for value. Right next door you can own for up to $1,400,000 or buy at Banana Beach for 1/10th of that. It is not a 5-star hotel it is an affordable family hotel and the seaweed is an entire Central America product of nature and comes and goes with tides at different times of the year. Same thing in Miami, Florida. But, what the resort has is in-town location, top-notch steak house & bar, close to airport, restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. I am a real estate broker in Florida for over 38 years and I know the value of the property. The resort is managed by a very respectful and diligent manager Juan and I can't wait to get back.

Room tip: Best views are rooms directly on the beach
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is disgusting due to the lack of clean up on THEIR beach from the rotting seaweed and seagrass. The photos in the listing are old, inaccurate and very deceiving. The smell penetrated all the way from the beach to the pool and smelled like toxic sewage. We were supposed to stay 4 nights but checked out within an hour bc it was so foul. I understand the seaweed is an issue throughout the island but this property clearly made no efforts to maintain or clean it up like the property next door that had multiple employees working on it. Even 1 of their own employees at the BB told me they needed to clean up the seaweed. Our taxi driver said that hotel has done a poor job of maintaining the property recently and the owner doesn’t care about his guests.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank chenglokesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

I just spent seven nights at the Banana Beach Resort and everything was great. Anna at the front desk made check in a breeze and explained everything about the hotel. The room was great and everything worked very well. The included breakfast was really a great way to start the day. The entire staff is friendly and helpful for anything you might need. A golf cart is a great way to explore the island, but the hotel restaurant is great and there are several small restaurants and a great ice cream shop near the hotel. I would highly recommend the hotel for a economic way to spend time on the island of San Pedro.

Room tip: All rooms seem to be great.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus27106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibvnbelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi Marcus,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team made a lasting impression on your stay. We are glad you took advantage of the included breakfast for your stay as we would like to appreciate our valued customers. If you are every planning another trip to Belize we do hope that you would keep us in mind as we would love to host your stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

The Banana Beach Resort seems to be aging and in need of a good facelift on the property, though it was actually built in 1996. Some of the plaster work appears to be crumbling and could easily be fixed. The small room we were given felt distinctly like a motel room with no kitchenette and the king-sized bed we were promised turned out to be two single bed pushed together under a king-sized mattress. The mattress was thin, so my lady and could not comfortably cuddle with the distinct hump in the middle where the twin beds met. Water pressure was notably inconsistent, sometimes dropping to faucet trickles but other times giving us the shower of our dreams. On the plus side, however, the green, yellow, & orange colours were cute and their plants were well-cared for. I really liked the swimming pools within the complex, and it should be noted that it has its own pier where we were picked up to go scuba diving. (However, at the time we were there, the seaweed was being raked out of their harbour onto the land, and it stuck like sewage, so no lingering on the beach.) The restaurant, Il Divino, offered a complete breakfast of our choice, free for guests, plus more choices for which one could pay. It was very good though the waiter consistently calling me "buddy" required an adjustment. We never ate dinner there for it was a bit expensive and offered mainly mainstream dishes like steak, lobster, etc. We wanted Belizean food. I still recommend the Banana Beach for its economic prices and great breakfasts. It's just a walk down the beach or through town to get the main harbour, so you don't need to add to the growing golf cart congestion.

Room tip: Make sure you get a real king-sized bed frame if you choose a king-sized bed/mattress.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibvnbelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi Greg,

Thank you for the review and feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the pools. Our restaurant El Divino has great options for breakfast and very tasty drinks. Regarding the issue with the water pressure, this is something that is affecting the entire Island there are days when the pressure is great and other days when it's weaker. We value all opinions and concerns that are brought to us by our guest, we would be honoured to host your stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

This is not a lux hotel. Not that there is anything wrong with that. It is basic, clean, friendly staff, good cold A/C. If you want to enjoy San Oedro but don't want to blow your budget on a room, this is your place. Besides, you are on vacation. Why stay in your room? My mattress was a little wirey. Needs replacing. Quiet night sleep.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelQ6492QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibvnbelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us. We will be sure to look into those mattresses. If you are every planning another trip to Belize, please feel free to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews