We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
San Pedro
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
124
163
98
31
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
124
163
98
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey business restaurant el golf cart beach area the staff was friendly and helpful ambergris caye in town central america sea grass explore the island scuba diving great trip other resorts full kitchen pools divino kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 441 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019

The Banana Beach Resort seems to be aging and in need of a good facelift on the property, though it was actually built in 1996. Some of the plaster work appears to be crumbling and could easily be fixed. The small room we were given felt distinctly like a motel room with no kitchenette and the king-sized bed we were promised turned out to be two single bed pushed together under a king-sized mattress. The mattress was thin, so my lady and could not comfortably cuddle with the distinct hump in the middle where the twin beds met. Water pressure was notably inconsistent, sometimes dropping to faucet trickles but other times giving us the shower of our dreams. On the plus side, however, the green, yellow, & orange colours were cute and their plants were well-cared for. I really liked the swimming pools within the complex, and it should be noted that it has its own pier where we were picked up to go scuba diving. (However, at the time we were there, the seaweed was being raked out of their harbour onto the land, and it stuck like sewage, so no lingering on the beach.) The restaurant, Il Divino, offered a complete breakfast of our choice, free for guests, plus more choices for which one could pay. It was very good though the waiter consistently calling me "buddy" required an adjustment. We never ate dinner there for it was a bit expensive and offered mainly mainstream dishes like steak, lobster, etc. We wanted Belizean food. I still recommend the Banana Beach for its economic prices and great breakfasts. It's just a walk down the beach or through town to get the main harbour, so you don't need to add to the growing golf cart congestion.

Room tip: Make sure you get a real king-sized bed frame if you choose a king-sized bed/mattress.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibvnbelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi Greg,

Thank you for the review and feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the pools. Our restaurant El Divino has great options for breakfast and very tasty drinks. Regarding the issue with the water pressure, this is something that is affecting the entire Island there are days when the pressure is great and other days when it's weaker. We value all opinions and concerns that are brought to us by our guest, we would be honoured to host your stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

This is not a lux hotel. Not that there is anything wrong with that. It is basic, clean, friendly staff, good cold A/C. If you want to enjoy San Oedro but don't want to blow your budget on a room, this is your place. Besides, you are on vacation. Why stay in your room? My mattress was a little wirey. Needs replacing. Quiet night sleep.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelQ6492QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibvnbelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Hi,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great time with us. We will be sure to look into those mattresses. If you are every planning another trip to Belize, please feel free to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We arrived a little before check-in time but were allowed to check in anyway, the staff were helpful and courteous. But you know, nothing is ever too perfect. We were 4 people, checking into 2 rooms. In one room, the AC would not get cold enough, but the water pressure was fine. In the other the AC got quite cold, but the water pressure was low. The rooms were clean, the beds were fine, bathroom was fine, TV channels were ok but many of them frozen, but am sure that could not be helped. We'd definitely stay there again, golf cart recommended as it is a ways out of the center of town. If you're going to the 'island' to see the sites, then you don't need to be cooped in all day, this place is great for that, comfy and friendly.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Toni_BZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibvnbelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019


Hi Toni,

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate every opinion and concern that is brought to us by our guests. We will be sure to look into all these issues that you had mentioned, We would love to host your stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

Room was clean, staff was very helpful and 2 pools were nice. Sargassum is mother nature’s fault. Construction is ongoing all over the island. MUST rent a golf cart or get taxi to hotel from ferry. Golf cart was used to go North for better beaches.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank xcjordanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanInBelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Hi there,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us despite the sargassum which, as you mentioned, is an ongoing issue caused by nature. Yes, we do highly recommend that our guests enjoy the experience of reserving a golf cart and exploring the island of Ambergris Caye as it has so much to offer its visitors. We hope to see you back on your next trip to Belize!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Anna from Banana Beach Resort was the main reason we chose this hotel! She was the most friendliest and positive person I've ever met! All the staff was excellent! Free breakfast everyday was absolutely delicious! Planning to go back soon!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvanInBelize, Public Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Hi Alexandra,

Thank you so much for your great review of our resort but especially of our superstar Front Desk agent, Anna! Anna has been with us for a long time and is a valued member of the team. We are so overjoyed to learn that she made your stay that much more enjoyable. Wonderful news!

Thank you again for your kind words about our staff, our facilities and the resort in general. Our team works very hard to ensure that our guests all received exceptional service and an unBelizeable experience overall.

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews