We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was one of the best decisions we made. The room was clean and air-conditioned, the concierge was very helpful, and it was easy to set up adventures because they would just come pick us up at the dock! We rented bikes from their travel store (monkey business) and it's a short, 2-mile ride into town. The restaurant attached to the hotel was also delicious, and we're very generous with their piña coladas! Go next door to the beach bar, and go across the street to Robin's Kitchen for an amazing meal!

Room Tip: Try for a beachfront, or courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieFerree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    145
    87
    26
    18
See reviews for
71
163
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Paul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our one week stay! Since it was off season, we were able to get a free upgrade to the courtyard area. The rooms were clean with well equipped kitchens. Not that we cooked... Too busy being picked up at the dock for fishing, Mayan Ruins, snorkeling and scuba diving excursions. The concierge was extremely helpful! We caught snapper while drift fishing with "Hilly Boo". The resort restaurant cooked them for us. Driving around in golf carts rented from the resort was also fun! The courtyard area was fun for lounging, card playing, cooling off in the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubamomma6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This trip was incredible. We are originally from Belize living in Maryland. My kids were born in NY and raised in Belize where to this day my son stil resides with my mom. The girls had not been home in 5 years so we had a incredible family Easter weekend with our three grandkids. Our stay was really nice. Hotel could do with some upgrade and the food was kinda pricy, however the rooms were spacious and we did get a good rate. We spent a lot of time in the pool since we had younger kids. All in all if you are loooking for a place to lay your head and within a budget this is it. Staff was really nice and accomodated us well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The rooms were dated, needs upgrading. no elevator, staff very nonchalant. Internet useless in the rooms. You have to go out side by the pool to use it. The concierge office not very helpful. I would not use it for setting up the tours. We hired them for a fishing trip. The boat and guide they hired were not very good. The guide was in different. They pick us up and spent 1.5 hour looking for bait. We were 3 on the boat but our guide told us we could only fish 2 rods. We trolled all the time and did not catch anything. I ask if we could try bottom fishing and I was told no that they did not anchor the boat. No fish caught..end of story.

Room Tip: ocean front rooms look like they have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This location is a bit south of town, 20 minute walk on the beech to the airport area. We didn't mind, but you are away from the action. Started out with a lot of bad things, ants in the room, coffee maker was broken, no wash clothes and it took 4 hours to get them, we saw a rat in the court yard. It is a lower end property....single pillows that are barely there, cheap linens etc. it was a good base for us to go on excursions. But not particularly nice.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BrettLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

The location at the Banana Beach is second to none. Its easy to get to the center of town, a water taxi, airport and pretty much anything you want to get to. Its also a main location for the lobster fest party. White sand beaches, an excellent conceirge, pool and even a tiki hut for a nice massage. The food was pretty good too. What I didn't like was the sheets and beds. They could spend a little money and get some 1000 count cotten sheets.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank perrytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed for two nights with a large group of 35. Had a nice pool and beach property. The rooms were clean. Rooms with kitchens were available. We had breakfast at Divino in the morning, a restaurant at the hotel--not very friendly-cannot accomodate large groups-could not eat all at once. You can rent golf carts to go to and from town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#33 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing