We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

No hot water,just luke warm & not for long. Wi-fi was in & out. Tv's was 1990's style. I had to ask for towels & wash cloth. No coffee in rooms for coffee pot, you had to go buy it & it's not cheap. Unless you get a ocean view room the view from other rooms are not any good. I know I stayed in 2 different rooms. There was other peple complaining also! Drinks were higher than anywhere else on the island. I would not stay there again & do not recommend the Banana Beach to anyone!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank gary_pruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our family of eleven held a reunion here at Christmas. The suites were perfect, with additional rooms just along the hallway. We loved walking on the beach, access to tour boats from our own wharf, the enthusiastic guy at the beach bar. The in-house restaurant is good enough for more than one visit, but many excellent places are walking distance away. It was a terrific holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a nice resort on the beach in San Pedro, Belize. We stayed for five nights, and the only complaint that I have is that the bed was really really uncomfortable. It sagged in the middle, and frankly seemed really old. Otherwise, the room had a fridge and a microwave, which were convenient. There was a travel place on site, Monkey Business, that arranged bikes and a golf cart when we asked. They also got us set up with a snorkeling trip to Hol Chan. Finally, the restaurant was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by our room. Nice full kitchen, sitting area, bedroom & bathroom. Very clean, Only problem was the bed, very uncomfortable.
The restaurant was very good. We had several meals there and enjoyed every one.
The on-site tour company was very handy and easy to work with.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My self and two other friends stayed at banana beach for 5 days and really enjoyed the small resort. The pools are small but always clean. The beach is nice but can't swim out front so this kinda sucked. The room are a bit dated but clean and nice for the most part. Overall the resort is nice and not far from town on the golf carts. There are lots of places to eat if you watch up the beach to the left. Hope you enjoy your stay and remember a vacation is what you make it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameronmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent the weekend at Banana Beach. I liked it so much I am trying to move to an apartment just down the street. You can use facilities if buying some drinks. I recommend the Pina Colada by Marlon during happy hour. $4US is well spent Add a Cuban cigar and you are on your way. The staff was excellent, friendly, helpful and prompt.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private balcony and view of beach are available but doubt if they are worth extra costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights there and would go back. This isn't a 5 star, but the price is reasonable for what you get. The rooms are newer, they have a tour office there and golf cart rentals. There is a water taxi pickup out the front. I like the first floor rooms around the pool.

Room Tip: First floor room around the pool is what I liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dillon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 55 in San Pedro
845 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 55 in San Pedro
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#40 of 55 in San Pedro
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 55 in San Pedro
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#33 of 55 in San Pedro
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#36 of 55 in San Pedro
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#36 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $121 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing