We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed one night at the Banana Beach between checking out of the Grand Caribe (sister resort - 5 stars!) and our international flight. Luckily our stay was short. The hotel seemed very old, with out of date furnishing, and dated vibe. The room was clean, though the TV was tiny and the kitchen appliance looked to be older than I am. The door had only a door nob lock - no deadbolt or safety locks, not the mark of a good hotel. However, the staff was friendly and the hotel suited our needs for one night. Also, the free breakfast was a nice bonus.

Side note - the attached restaurant, El Divino, was very expensive and only okay. BUT! we were lucky enough to be staying on two for one martini Monday - an excellant deal for a great martini menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Banana Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 402 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm still baffled as to why this place gets great reviews.. It was fine but speaking to others on the island, there is much better.
Pros:
-close to the the good restaurants south of the island
-they'll pay for your transfer from the jetty (but not back)
-free beach towels
-two separate living areas
-great restaurant

Cons:
-if you don't leave the Air con on at all times you will have puddles of water throughout the bedroom, the staff will not help other than to tell you to leave the air con on at all times regardless of the pure waste of our earths energy
-the shower takes about 10mins to be even slighty warm (we were in the far corner furthest from the water heater) again a total waste but I couldn't be bothered to ask about this
-the staff are NOT overly friendly -(unless they work in the restaurant)
-the cost of 3 local calls is $7US ( about 1 min each if that)
-they do not employ enough staff for breakfast at peak times, they should offer a buffet if they can not staff the restaurant to cater for al la carte service. I felt awful for the one guy taking care of the whole lot of us.
-the bar on the beach was not opened once

Overall it was off season so I'm putting my experience down to that. The place was only at 10% capacity. When we get back to the island, we'll stay somewhere else

Overall it was off season so maybe they were having a lapse in manager and overall judgment,

-
-

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went as a group of divers to the hotel recently. Many of us have been there several times. The staff is helpful and the hotel is very safe (always security walking around the hotel). The have an excellent restaurant, 2 nice pools, a beach bar as well as one in the restaurant. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacrosse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just spent 14 nights at Banana Beach. It is the second time we have stayed there and it is one of the best places i have ever stayed for the price. GREAT staff, we love them. The bar is awesome, remodeled since last time we were there. All sorts of room now with great seating and a lot of flat screen tv's. we had king crab on Belizean Mother's Day and watched an NBA playoff game. I was awesome. The food at El Devino's is incredible. I can't say enough about the quality of the food there. We also got a massage there, that was incredible as well. Monkey Business, their travel shop, booked us a day long sail with Seaduced and that was amazing. We highly recommend Banana Beach for a stay or just for dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room poolside and looking out to the ocean... amazing~
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrentDoig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I know this is late, however, after staying at the Banana Beach resort last December, I feel it was warranted to write a little note about our stay. The room we had was on the ground floor on the left side of the hotel. We had an outdoor table and chairs along side the room. Great for bird watching. There were banana trees along the side gardens and it was great for watching as the hummingbirds were pollinating the banana trees. The room was exceptionally clean and the maid service was prompt and routine day-to-day. The bed was comfortable and the A\C worked well on those days when you needed to cool down. The hotel is located on the beach with two fresh water pools and a hot tub. Spectacular view of the reef from the beach. Lounge chairs were plentiful and comfortable. Watching the sunrise daily was incredible. There was a 24 hour security guard stationed on the beach.

San Pedro town center was a 15 minute walk along the beach. Golf cart rentals were available at Monkey Business, the travel shop onsite at the hotel. Money could be exchanged easily at the front desk, who were exceptionally friendly and helpful at all times. Taxis take a few minutes to arrive, but, are reasonably priced at $10BZ ($5 US) for anywhere you need to go.

The El Divino restaurant at the hotel was moderately priced and we never had a bad mouthful of food. Everything was quite good. Martini Mondays are a must after a nice dinner.

Our stay was very relaxing and that usually has a lot to do with the services provided. Well done, I highly recommend this hotel if you are travelling to San Pedro!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The resort was very nice. Cool, clean rooms. We stayed in building A and were very pleased. The resort is a bit far away from the town, not bad if you have a cart, but quite a trek if you walk. We liked being far away because it was so quiet at night. There was little going on after 8pm. My biggest complaint is the restaurant on location, El Divino. Unfortunately, the restaurant does not live up to its name... The service was terrible and we were made to feel like we were bothering the waiter. One male waiter in particular was terrible. We ate breakfast therevevery morning because it was included and had to serve on own coffee every morning. We ate dinner there once on our first night. The menue is overpriced and the food is mediocre at best. We paid 16$ US for a burger that had no flavor to it. I highly recommend the hotel, but stay away from the restaurant! We Will be visiting San Pedro again, and wouldn't mind staying at the Banana Beach, but we will only be eating at the restaurant if it's free.

Room Tip: We stayed in building A because we had read the AC worked better. We were indeed cool and comfortab...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myers23935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had reservations for another hotel ... Stayed on night and left ... So, this hotel was recommended by the taxi driver. We got more than we expected, we only had 1 hour to leave due to check -out, and we refused to stay another night. Anyway, the Banana room was quite expensive, around $50 more a night ... Would have been less if booked on line ... But, the ocean view was WONDERFUL ... Room was Caribbean style, beautiful location, nice breakfast included, staff very helpful, two pools, spa, golf carts available next door, strong air conditioner ... Would have given it a "5" but the room was much cheaper on-line (after researching) and, we have to take a taxi into town ($5 Belizean dollars/ $ 10 American)would stay again. If you need a massage, it's cheaper in town on the beach.

Room Tip: Nice Caribbean hotel for relaxing. If you're looking to party ... Stay closer to town.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavette2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
351 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#35 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $94 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing