We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Belize”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First trip to Belize”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Banana Beach resort offered clean spacious rooms at a very reasonable cost. The staff were AWESOME! All of the staff are friendly, helpful, courteous, knowledgeable of events and activities in the area. The beach was very well groomed, and a pleasure to lounge on while enjoying the beauty of the ocean. I will be staying there again !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    148
    89
    28
    18
See reviews for
73
168
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

six ladies wanted somewhere to stay for an overnight to enjoy the beautiful little town of San Pedro. We decided to stay at The Banana Beach Resort and we werent dissapointed. Our rooms were standard balcony rooms. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable.
We enjoyed our stay at this resort as it suited our needs. The American and Belizean breaksfast that we had was very good.
Special thanks goes out to Shawna our reservation personel who was very professional, courteous and friendly and took care of our needs. Thanks Shawna keep up the great work!. Our bartender Marlon was awesome mixing up some of the best rum punch that I have ever tasted. Anna our front desk clerk was warm and helpful thanks Anna.
We rented golf cart rental from Island adventures who prices were very reasonable as the resort is located couple minutes from the town located on the south side of San Pedro.

We enjoyed lunch at this local restaurant Waraguma the food was awesome and the prices very resonable.
We really enjoyed our stay. The food was great, the staff was very professional and helpful and the resort was clean what more could you ask for when looking for a great place to stay while enjoying the beauty of La Isla Bonita!!!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Larissa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Palm trees on the beach, waves gently washing on to the sand and the reflection of the full moon rising up over the sea are what you may hope for at a seaside hotel. This is exactly what you get at the Banana Lodge Resort. It is a reasonable distance from the airport and town centre to be away from the noise and bustle, but close enough to get an inexpensive taxi ride to restaurants that would do nicely for dinner. Room 217 set above the passage from the swimming pool to the beach is perfectly set for the wonderful view to be framed between palm trees. The large bedroom with two good sized double beds and the adjoining large well equipped kitchen/ dining room make for a very satisfactory living area that is enhanced with the good sized balcony. Beyond the beach lies a small jetty from which small motor boats collect clients for snorkelling on the reef. The reef itself seems greatly over-rated and not on a par with sites that we have visited in the Red Sea, East Africa or the Caribbean. However there may be many other sites along the system that could justify its reputation. A great deal of building work continues along the coastal strip and wildlife areas are disappearing fast. Small tracts of coastal woodland, mangrove and marsh remain but are badly trashed, and strewn with rubble and litter. Still, birds continue to come and can provide some worthwhile bird watching that is different from the mainland.

Room Tip: Room 217 overlooking the beach is perfectly set for the wonderful view to be framed between palm tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the 'Banana' and would return there again.
Things you should know prior to booking include:
*There are two buildings, they are A & B, we stayed in A331 which was a nice suite. It had the closest third floor view of the ocean, but was a little blocked by palm trees, not bad but not a completely clear view. My undestanding is the 'A' suites are larger and have better views than the 'B' rooms, however the B room we visited was nice but only had one a/c that as in the bedroom only.
*The A331 suite had dual air conditioners, one in the bedroom the other in the spacious kitchen/living room. The a/c controls were wireless digital remotes, you needed to understand Celsius as they did not understand Fahrenheit, but they worked extremely well.
*Some of the people we talked to always stay at the Banana every time they visit, I can see why. *Dual swimming pools were nice but unheated, still a refreshing temperature. No jacuzzi, however our suite had a jacuzzi bathtub.
*The beach is through an archway passageway just past the larger pool. The hotel sets up a small bar in the passageway in case you need something while swimming or at the beach which is only maybe 30 feet for the back of the hotel. A tanning area and dock are owned by the hotel. Shade trees allow full sun or shaded areas on the tanning beach.
*The dock is very convenient in case you set up private boat rides or dives.
*The Monkey Business office at the resort can help with arranging dives, renting golf carts (a little pricy but they include gas!), and provides clean beach towels that you can exchange anytime you want (check hours, not open 24hour). They also sell drinks, water, cuban cigars, etc.
*The restaurant is very good. Depending on you package you might have basic breakfasts included. People come from all over the island know of and visit the restaurant. Meals are a little pricy but very good food, drinks are very good as well from the attached bar.
*Beds were very comfortable, I would like to own the matress they use.
*The landscaping was a study in tropical plants, not overly lush, just tasteful.
*Close to the airport but far enough away there was no airport noise. FYI, you can jump in a cab from the airport for free as the hotel will pay the fare.
*The spa/massage can be used by appointment. I had one of the best massages I've ever had there, $65 for an hour.

***While we were there Feb 2013 they upgraded the shower nozzles. This fixed a common complaint. With the new showerheads, they temperature and flow was perfect.

Notes:
1.Belize dollars are easy to convert, there are $2BZ to $1US, and is locked in to that ratio, it doesn't change. US dollars are accepted everywhere but expect BZ dollars back in change.
2. English is spoken everywhere, if you know spanish it's a bonus.
3. There is at least one bar with live music every night, very enjoyable. Expect the dricks to be delicious but a little pricy of course.
3. Until you get a 2 week solid tan make sure you use suntan lotion regularly and every hour in the water, no fun to get burnt and ruin your visit!
4. Many taco shops and street vendors have great food, don't be afraid, they are safe, tasty, and oh so much cheaper than the restaurants. Carne-asada burritos might run $2US from a cart (evenings by the clock tower).

Bottom line, comfortable, a place you could stay on a regular basis. You need to rent a golf cart as it's a mile ride downtown (all paved), about $250-$320 a week to rent. Trust me, a golf cart is highly recommended anyway! You can stay at fancier places Ramons, or cheaper like the Conch Shell, the Banana is a good place without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean on the East side. Better views, better ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1sdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We made our first trip to Belize this February (2013), and our experience at Banana Beach Resort helped to convince us we don’t want it to be our last. Belize is a wonderful country and Banana Beach turned out to be just the sort of place we were hoping to stay: not too fancy, not too plain. We don’t care for pretense and Banana Beach turned out to be just right for our tastes and needs. We also lucked out in getting one of the 1st floor beachfront suites and I doubt we’d be happy with any other for future visits. It was great waking up to Caribbean sunrises over the offshore barrier reef.

The strength of the hotel is in its staff, especially its public face and voice in Shawna Diaz who is simply delightful and if something needs doing is the one to make things happen. We just can’t say enough about Shawna – Banana Beach is lucky to have her.

The hotel is not without its problems and challenges. According to one of the long-time returning guests we met (and there were many), the original partnership sold the hotel a few years ago to a Canadian buyer who let the place run down and failed to make payments, and the original owners had to take it back. They have been trying to restore the facility since then and are apparently succeeding. But they still have some work to do, such as replacing the deck planking around the main pool (verging on dangerous), replacing the water heating system (it was rarely hotter than ‘warm’), and investing in new furniture and furnishings. But even with all that, we still found the place enjoyable and would return. (You learn to watch your step on those aging planks.)

For us, Banana Beach was like the Goldilocks story: just right. And Shawna was a big part of making our experience enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seafood_Eatsame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I didn't expect much and wasn't dissapointed. The staff are all very friendly, our room was the lowest cost balcony room for around $655 for the week. It came with a breakfast every day, and not a typical continental breakfast, but a choice between 4 different breakfasts. My wife and I rotated ours every day between 2 of them-the American with eggs, toast, juice, and a serving of fried potatoes,peppers and onion. And the Belizean-with eggs scrambled with peppers and onions, refried beans with a little kick, juice, and either a tortilla wrap or fry jacks to stuff with the eggs and beans. More than enough to eat. Coffee was free. All very good.
Our room was large enough, the bathroom was large but showing it's age. The shower head needs to be replaced and the pressure and hot water was lacking if you like steaming showers. I don't so it was fine for me. Having a mini fridge is a plus as you can buy snacks and sodas from one of many stores down the road, including beer, wine and booze. Cheaper wine and booze at the duty free in the Belize City airport when you get off the plane. Cheapest beer at the beer factory a mile from the hotel if you buy by the case. We could hear people in the bathroom next door, and doors closing in the hallway, (no carpet to muffle sound anywhere) but otherwise fairly quiet with the air conditioning on all the time. I wear earplugs every night anyway. Beds and pillows were comfy for us. The air unit is new with a remote. Very handy for adjusting to your liking.
The beach area was kept clean, plenty of palm trees to find shade under, and Marlen the beach bar bartender is always looking to serve you with a smile. 2 for one drinks from 3-6 every day.
You can book a golf cart or excursions on site at Monkey Business. We didn't rent the bikes, and yes they are old but so is every other bike we saw on the streets. Cabs are $10 Belize or $5 U.S. to town. You can walk to several local restaurants, some only a couple blocks away.
We really liked the other friendly guests there. Almost all are from the states and Canada, many staying for weeks and months. If you're on a budget, this is a good place to stay, and the pictures on the website don't lie-the grounds are beautiful. It's not a 4 star hotel and not priced as one either, so again, for the price we paid it's a good value, esp. with the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frozentundraguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Amazing Hotel! The rooms were huge and always kept clean. Ours included a kitchen and living room area so we loved the extra space. I stayed at this hotel for a school trip and being 18 at the time we were not picky about really anything. Great pool area and great staff. They dealt with our group of 40 people very professionally and were always friendly. Beach wasnt the greatest but the walk along the beach to the town of san pedro was lovely! the walk to town was about 20-30 mins. you could take a cab but the beach along the way is beautiful. We booked activites through the hotel and they did a great job at recommending anything. Overall great trip and would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammclean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
177 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing