We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz Carlton but who cares!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz Carlton but who cares!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Banana Beach is a lovely place to stay, the rooms are cleaned daily the grounds are kept well groomed and the staff is very attentive, especially for Shawna she went way out of her way to help us out with several issues we had encountered (not with the resort) while we were there, a big thumbs up for you Shawna and the rest of the front desk staff. It may be an older resort but as I said it is well kept. If your looking for luxury there are plenty of other places to stay for 4 times the money, but for a reasonable rate you can't beat Banana Beach. We would go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    149
    89
    28
    18
See reviews for
73
168
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I knew this wasn't a new property and that it isn't a big resort with loads of amenities. I believe is was a nice property at one time, but it is far from that now.

We started out the first day, after hours of travel, with only a trickle of water and it wasn’t hot. The front desk sent someone who turned on all the faucets and told us to let them run until it warmed up. This was strange because fresh water is a commodity on most islands and they ask you to reduce use. After 10 minutes it was a lukewarm trickle and we pseudo bathed. It was this way for a week. The last night there was no water at all from the hot. We reported it, again the same response. An hour later we had a flow from the hot tap that was nasty red from rust.

The tub and tile were in bad repair. Tiles repaired with caulk, black mold on tub fixtures and in tile grouting. The same tile "repairs" were made around the sink in the kitchen.

The ocean front 1 bedroom suites are not truly "ocean front"; they are what most would describe as "ocean view". They are along the side of a building and other 45-degree views of the water. We were lucky to be closer to the ocean than many others, but still not true ocean front like the 2-4 bedroom suites.

There are no dead bolts or other devices on the doors. Even a chain would give you some comfort.

The mattresses are typical of what we have experienced in Central America: hard or lumpy. In this case lumpy.

I do have to say the staff was friendly. The free breakfast items were limited, but good. Service in the restaurant is slow. The location is close enough to town, yet much quieter.

The property just needs major renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The room is older but clean and the kitchenette was handy to cook small meals. We had an ocean view which was quite good. Breakfast was pretty good and my husband loved the ceviche. Marlon the bartender is a great guy who is funny and friendly!! Make sure you tip the maid well- ours kept the room spotless! The beaches on San Pedro are more natural than other places- bring water shoes and a swim raft! It was convenient to book excursions at Monkey Business beside reception. Go cave tubing and zip lining - we used Searious ( get Javier- a great guide!). We had a great time in San Pedro -it's not like going to those all inclusive places where you don't leave the resort! We felt safe and wandered the island , drove around on a golf cart and met lots of people .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cookiemonsterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I knew that Banana Beach would be basic, but I expected more for the price.

Good:
- take any taxi to the hotel and they will pay the cab, very convenient
- beach access
- walking distance to downtown is not bad, go via the beach for a nice walk
- large room
- clean
- fridge and safe in room

Bad:
- bed could be more comfortable and with nicer bedding
- staff did not seem very friendly to us
- no Wi-Fi in the rooms
- our restaurant service was not great, the waiter seemed annoyed when we wanted to sit outside. the food was mediocre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idahogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I were at the Banana Beach Resort January 9-16, 2013. We had a great time. We spent a lot of time kicking back and reading by the water or on our deck. The view from the deck (Suite B-331) is beautifully situated over the ocean with a palm tree within reach. The room is very nice with tile floors and a small kitchen. We had to bring several small things to management's attention- light bulb not working, stuck bathroom window, outdoor table missing from deck, but within a few hours all of the issues had been addressed. BBR is about a 20 minute walk into down town San Pedro- which we saw as a benefit, because it was the most predictable exercise we got each day. You can rent golf carts (I think they were about $45 for 8 hours) which we did one day. There is a nice restaurant at the resort, and there are small grocery stores, a bakery, and some other stores close by and on the way into SP. We spent one day back in mainland Belize (by express boat) and did the cave tubing, zip-lining, and the zoo all in one day. It was a full day but very manageable and a lot of fun. Our guide was very good. I think that day cost us about $500. The weather was very good almost all of the time. San Pedro is fun and we did a lot of bar hopping and talking to locals and especially to ex-patriots, of which there appear to be quite a few (American and Canadian). There is a lot of activity along the beach in San Pedro a number of good restaurant / bars. For an English speaking country, you will be surprised how much Spanish you hear. We really had a good time. It is our second visit and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here with 3 other friends. There was hot water but the pressure was a little low. I loved all the plants they have around the pool courtyard. This is a very short distance from the beach. They serve drinks right on the beach and the water is very shallow here. Good restaurants are a short distance away like Caroline's and Rico's. If you go to the Restaurant here, you have to try the Ceviche. It's the best I have ever tasted. I also tried the salad and a soup both were really good, some of the wait staff are a little stiff but the front desk service is good, . We had four to a room and my bed was a pull out sofa with a matress on top. It was very uneven and difficult to sleep on, but since it was just me on the bed I was able to adjust myself to a fairly comfortable position. This place is located a little farther from downtown. A taxi ride is about $5.00 USD to the downtown shopping area. I was told it's a 30 minute walk to downtown but never actually walked it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jturtledov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are basic and sparsely decorated with well working AC and a small balcony. Everything is worn but clean.

There are two cold swimming pools surrounded by lounge chairs, and lounge chairs right along the beach in the back. There was a bar area set up near the ocean but it was never open while we were there.

We couldn't get internet in either of our rooms, but there were two benches along a walkway next to the restaurant where my friends and the other hotel guests were able to get a signal. That is where people congregated with their handheld devices. There is a computer in the main office and each room is allowed to use the internet for 15 min/day. The front desk closes at 8pm.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel (not very good), and one or two restaurant/bars within walking distance along the beach, but the main streets of San Pedro are about a 40min walk from the hotel. If you want to walk around downtown, go shopping or go out to eat, you have to take a taxi.

The "Monkey Business" office books adventure packages through the various local tour guide companies. Don't use it! Book directly through the tour companies instead. Monkey Business goes through several different avenues and it's nearly impossible to get your money back if your "adventure" goes awry (They really don't care as long as they have your money). Be sure to get a print-out or receipt that shows exactly what you paid for and what's included in your adventure package. Don't take their word for it.

We stayed here four nights and rented two rooms that each slept two people. They cost 189USD per night. That was too high for what they were, but it's a tourist area and the price is lower than other similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErmMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
794 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#25 of 53 in San Pedro
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,028 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 53 in San Pedro
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#34 of 53 in San Pedro
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing