We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Good Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Good Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We got a room here through a package that included some dive trips, and the room price came out to be quite low, around $70 a night, during a week preceding the holiday rush.

For that, I thought it was a very good deal. The room was your basic hotel pad -- TV, large bed that was actually two twins pushed together (you can ask for an extra bed too), small balcony, small table and chairs, bathroom. A lot of the rooms in the place have more amenties -- for instance many include a kitchenette - but we were going budget so this is what we got.

Banana Beach is in a terrific location. You're just a short walk from some of the fancier places like Victoria House or Ramon's, and you're right on the beach. It's also not far from the town of San Pedro. So there's plenty of nice restaurants and beachfront thatch-roof bars a short walk away. Banana Beach's restaurant wasn't bad - had a continental breakfast there a couple of times and also sampled the ceviche. Happy hour drink specials are good too - particularly the Pina Colada.

Overall, like I said, this isn't super lux. But for someone who wants a comfy place to stay in a great location with all Ambergis Caye has to offer, this will do the trick without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    134
    80
    25
    15
See reviews for
65
152
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holidays. I have nothing but good things to say about this resort. We had an ocean view room and it was outstanding. We particularly enjoyed the sunrises. The room was very big and always clean. My only complaint was the wifi service. We were given the password, etc. but were never able to connect. The only place we could connect was the restaurant. Other than that, it was awesome! We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here our last two nights in Belize. The room was fine, clean and the air conditioning worked well. But the wifi didn't work. We asked about the wifi when we inquired at the front desk about availability. We were given a password. But when we tried to enter the password, the computer told us it was incorrect. I went back to the front desk and asked about caps and verified that we had the right password. The front desk just told me to try again. We never got it to work. I asked some other guests that we met and they also couldn't get the internet to work. Very frustrating. The on-site restaurant was fair. Breakfast was good, but dinner wasn't. Our last morning we were woken up by very loud construction noise. We went down to eat in the restaurant and found people using power tools in the restaurant. Our room was right by the restaurant. I didn't think that sleeping in till 8 am was unreasonable on your last morning of vacation. Kinda felt like that moment captured the essence of our stay at Banana Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Beautiful hotel, lovely beachfront, the rooms were clean. I loved the restaurant, the fry jack local breakfast was and is still my favorite.

My only complaint is that the second time my husband and I stayed there the front desk staff was not very friendly or helpful. However, the other hotel staff made up for it and we enjoyed our stay.

Overall, we enjoyed our visits to this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgi-bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Banana Beach our first night in San Pedro. The condo we rented near Mexico rocks was not ready yet, so we decided to stay close to town our first night and have our boat driver would pick us up the following day. Banana Beach was great for a one night stay. The rooms were clean, the service was good, and the location is convenient. I wouldn't want to stay at Banana Beach for a week, as it just didn't even compare to the beautiful, private condo with a boat driver/grounds keeper we found on VRBO for less money. But, if you're just going to need a night or two, Banan Beach isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlatheadMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel room was clean and the hotel staff were very friendly. The hotel had two small pools and a small but clean beach. They had a long dock that came in handy when we needed to be picked up by boat to go scuba diving. It lacked some of the amenities of your higher priced resorts, but it was definitely worth the price we paid. We were gone most of the time anyway and were here just at night to sleep. The food from the hotel restaurant was good but we preferred eating at the local restaurants in the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice clean and affordable hotel to stay at while in San Pedro Belize.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roger r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

**Must haves at this location: ceviche, fry jacks (order the "Belizean Breakfast"), and the watermelon juice cocktail**

We got married at this location and it was very pretty. Small, clean beach on location with comfortable lounge chairs and a long dock to swim off of. Staff is fantastic, very accommodating, and friendly. Ingrid is the best! The restaurant is reasonable in price and excellent in quality and we often found ourselves eating there out of choice rather than necessity. The room was one of the lower priced on their list but it was of great value. Large tiled floors that housekeeping sweeps and mops daily, a king-sized bed that was actually comfortable, a walk-in closet, a safe to keep valuables, a modest yet very clean bathroom with a regular (American) sized shower. There was a small television with many channels available but we weren't in the room enough to watch it.

Room Tip: Stay on the first level on the exterior of the facility so you get the most peace and least amount o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missionhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#27 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing