We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private autentic paradise feel with ggod balance of diving, social scene, and budget”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambergris Divers Resort
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not a fancy tourist megahotel thank God. Only has a few units so the resort can probably can accommodate nor more than 30 guests. You can develop a close relationship with the staff very quickly and they make an extraordinary effort to help you with anything. The resort is nestled in palms and is isolated from other resorts. Very private and lay-back. Well maintained beach (they rake up the dead sea grass every day!). I loved our room and the wooden deck. Had the feel of a mountain cabin...somewhat rustic and warm but with an amazing ocean view and breeze!

My son and I shared the room and dove every day with Ambergris Divers. I was amazed at how easy it was to arrange transfers to their dive center in San Pedro. Basically, I only had to tell the manager that we wanted to do the morning or afternoon dive tomorrow...and their boat picked us up the next day precisely on schedule. Very efficient. Ambergris divers was recommended to us by a dive master in Georgia. She has used them many times. Great outfit.

We rented bikes from Joe's bike shop. Yes, the resort is 4.5 miles from town but we truly enjoyed to workout. Bikes can go in places (and park in places) that golf carts can't. We carried cinch bags (back packs) and also used the large bicycle baskets for carrying groceries.
The bikes come with bike locks FYI.

We selected a 7 night, 5 2-tank dive package. Great deal! We will come back again and hopefully with a group.

Room Tip: Select a room on the upper level. We chose a suite mostly for the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ted4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff was great an eager to please!! Quite place and clean!! A little far from town but just a short water taxi ride away. Set up a tour of the Mayan ruins and learned to scuba dive while there. Staff were more than happy to help out or give directions to local attractions. Food at Restaurant was great and service was good but a little pricy but in line with the other resorts. Restaurants in town were pretty good too but a little cheaper. probably about the same or cheaper to eat at resort after paying water Taxi. All in all a great little resort would definitely go back again!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This place is lovely but note it is 4.5 miles out of San Pedro town. There is a water taxi that you can get at scheduled times for $8us each way. There is a restaurant on site which serves great food but is pricey, at least $24us for an average evening meal (just a single meal). I booked just a room which was perfect for what I wanted, but I am aware that people who have booked packages have had a number of issues. The rooms are large and nice and bright. If you want somewhere out of the way and secluded with money to spend then you're good here. The dive company connected with them is a little sketchy about when they'll dive or not. The bar is run by Raymond who is the saviour of the place, he's amazing and will keep you entertained and in drinks! There are better places to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beach. I was on the ground floor but only one other person there at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthy_HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were a little leery after reading some of the reviews on here that were not so great but we did not have any issues with this hotel and were wondering why half the stuff that was not great was written in the first place. First off, the place is under new management by Ricardo. We were greeted even before we got off the boat. Our bags were carried into our rooms. Our rooms were clean and we were supplied with clean towels and the beds made up daily. There was no trash on the beach. The meals that we ordered were amazing and at a lesser price than the other places near by. My favorite was the spicy pineapple chicken and the coconut shrimp. The entire staff was friendly and we enjoyed our relaxing time at the beach bar the best right on the water. We also did our open water diving certification with Ambergris Divers. The instructor Argyle was the best! We feel fully confident with our equipment and now diving with sharks aren't so scary after all! Thank you for a great stay :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krististepnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great staff. Rick the manager is awesome. This resort is located in the north side of the island. Comfortable rooms and very quiet. Look for Raymond - he is an excellent bartender.
Lucky is a good chef and a very cool guy. Make sure to take the water taxi and avoid renting a golf cart as the roads leading to the resort is in the process of being paved.

There is a grocery store right behind this resort which is fully stocked.

All the staff's are very friendly and courteous. Hope to see you soon!.

Suresh .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sureshmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

My father and I stayed at Ambergris Dive resort for 5 nights. It was quite pleasant and a great stay. I would have no complaint and can confidentiality recommend this resort to others staying in San Pedro. Reading through reviews, it seems others may have had a rough time, but I can say we did not experience such troubles and had a wonderful stay. Here's an overview:

The resort is quite small and very old building, but perfectly well maintained; a rustic feel. You feel like you are right at home. The staff are absolutely lovely and kind. Honestly, chatting and passing time with them at the bar were the best times we had in the Island. They really treat you like family. The manager Tula is charming, absolutely such a sweet woman. As are the groundsmen, cooks, and Raymond the bartender.

Upon arriving we got our promised welcome drink and Tula helped us make arrangements to get a flight on Maya airline for our return trip. Upon leaving, she had arranged the hotel boat to pick us up, right on time, for no charge (alternatively, water taxis are USD$8 one-way to town). All went perfectly smoothly thanks to Tula. She's a hard worker and attentive to all guests that they make their flights on time.

Throughout the stay, we were also welcome to hop on any boat headed to town or back for free, which was a really nice gesture and saved us some money on taxis. You have to be proactive about being around when they leave--they are not generally for guests but it was a really nice gesture by the staff to let us hop on if the boat is headed that direction anyway. Really saved us some cash.

Food is great at the restaurant. A bit pricy but honestly the prices are very comparable to the rest of the resorts, so no complaints there. The island is quite sparse up where this resort is located, but beautiful location! It is quiet and peaceful so its great if that's what you are looking for.

Be prepared to walk and plan your day accordingly to make sure you make it to dinner during serving hours. Most kitchens are open for dinner 6:30 to around 9. There are only 2 other places to eat nearby, Rojo Lounge and Mata Chica, about 10-15 min walk up the beach. Ate in both, and would highly recommend the food (also pricy, $20-30USD a plate.)

We had no problems with the bill. Charged all our meals eaten there (about 3 or 4) and all our drinks to the room. We did not precharge anything or select "All Inclusive" (which is no longer offered), and all worked out great.

Real peaceful down-to-earth place. Its no luxury resort but very comfortable and all basics are provided. Would highly recommend based on the beautiful location, cleanliness and fantastic staff.






Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank fabz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This resort is located in a beautiful area but it just isn't kept up. The long stretch of beach from the right to the left is is lovely with only this resort's patch of beach not cleaned daily or weekly for that matter of seaweed. This leaves a smaller area of beach to enjoy.
All of the outdoor furniture and restaurant furniture is old and cheap. Again every other resort in the area as you walk up and down the beach has better furniture. There are hammocks which are very nice but that should not be the only comfortable place to rest.
The pool is kept clean but there is a broken ladder without any foot rests so it's unusable.
So sad as the view is fantastic. The staff is very very laid back but if one of them would just be responsible to clean the beach it would be great. Raking around the pool area is not enough as the beach itself needs to be cleaned. Again this is not asking too much as the whole rest of the area up and down the coast is cleaned daily.
I enjoyed the room and it was kept clean and tidy for our stay for this budget style resort.
It seemed that the staff really enjoys the place as they all seem to live there and hang out there at the bar and pool area. One day into the night a group of their kids played in the pool. Nice for them but very loud for guests to enjoy a quiet day. If they were guests I would feel a bit differently but that they were family of the staff which is just a poor thing to do for paying guests. I had asked to move my room away from the pool but now I know why I wasn't as the rooms farther away (and more prime location for privacy) are occupied by the staff.
The drinks were ok nothing special and the food again was ok nothing special and very expensive for what you were served. If you walk down the beach just a bit you can eat and drink for just about the same price at Rojo Beach Bar and enjoy a great pool, fabulous furniture, great cocktails and fantastic food. They keep their beach area clean and it's just a fantastic place to go. Just buying a drink allows you access to relaxing there and enjoying their infinity pool.
Please visit this area but I don't recommend staying at this resort. You can find better though you will have to pay but in the end you have traveled so far and to cheap out for this it's just not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orangey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 55 in San Pedro
153 reviews
5.7 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 55 in San Pedro
821 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 55 in San Pedro
1,327 reviews
6.1 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#38 of 55 in San Pedro
407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Costa Blu Adults Only Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambergris Divers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambergris Divers Resort

Address: 4.5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#42 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $150 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambergris Divers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Ambergris Dive Resort: In the town San Pedro, Belize on the island of Ambergris Caye you will find the only All-Inclusive Dive Resort with island style food prepared at your doorstep and all of the snorkeling / diving you can handle on the largest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundiver Beach Hotel
Ambergris Divers Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing