We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a honeymoon.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Not that I was on a honeymoon. My best friend and I were recommended to the Portofino. And, it was very nice. The service is second to none. They greeted us in the lobby with a special tropical drink and a hot towel with eucalyptus essential oil. Very unexpected. But lovely. They took care of booking all of our events. And we could charge everything to our room, so we didn't have to carry money with us. I loved that.

The only negatives, in my mind, were the mosquitos. We literally had to dart to the restaurant and order dinner to be brought back to our room because we didn't want to dine outside. I don't think this is a year-round problem, but we happened to be there in the rainy season. So, bring your Off and your loved one! And you'll be fine. It was one of the most relaxing places I've ever been.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friscomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBelize, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2009

Mosquitos come out when the first rains fall after the dry season. Normally we keep them under control with a fogger, but this time the fogger was broken, and we sincerely apologise for that. In the mean time it has been repaired and we now have a back-up fogger, so we will not again be caught off guard again next year!

Jan van Noord

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 655 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

We could not have picked a more appropriate or wonderful place to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were lucky enough to have wonderful breezes to keep any bugs away. The entire staff Mo, Rosaleee, Rafael (who will know exactly what you want from the first day) Orville along with the owners are there to meet your every need. I would like to comment on those who have written negative reviews regarding the a/c, rooms, etc. You need to know what type of place Portofino is before you go. It is laid back, relaxed, understaed luxury, not formal. With the beautiful breezes we slept with windows open and no AC some nights. However your every need is catered to superbly. They prepared a wonderul anniversary celebration dinner on the dock which was a wonderful surprise. The excursions were wonderful and Ambergris Caye in itself is beautiful. The only problem is we would like to visit other places and now I only want to go back to Portofino (we've compromised on returning every other year) Thank you for a wonderful trip - Couldn't hvave asked for more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We took a quick few days getaway after our wedding as the main honeymoon trip will be in September. Portofino is a honeymooners paradise, on the boat ride from town one night we were four honeymoon couples in the boat. But the resort is not only for couples in love, we saw families and older folks having just as much fun as we were.
Food is outstanding and the restaurant was busy every night, the restaurant has such a good reputation and the resort offers a free boat ride for town for those not lucky enough to be staying at the resort. Some great Italian wines by the glass as well as a well put together list of international selections.
I think the pool is the deepest on the island at the deep end, you only have to meet the affable owners to see why, Sandra and her husband Jan (6 foot 8 in his bare feet) and their staff offer amazing levels of personal attention. On arrival our room was decked out with fresh flowers, we had enough space in the room to play honeymoon tag, the room was huge. Evening time we got some free DVD’s from the front desk and snuggled up for the night in the jumbo bed for a video and perfect rest.
Daytime we ventured out with Bobby a local fisherman used by the resort, he was amazing and neither of us had ever fished before – of course my wife had first catch and biggest catch of the day a 13 pound Baracuda which was promptly prepared on board and cooked on a small beach , perfect. The next day we took the resort double kayak and headed out to nearby Mexico Rocks for some amazing snorkeling. Oh forgot to mention that we snorkeled the day before with Bobby at Hol Chan Marine Park with nurse sharks, a little daunting at first but WOW the reef life was mind bending.
So if you are looking for a superb serving of luxury without it being over formal, friendly accommodating staff who remember your name and what your programme is, a spacious pool, truly scrumptious food all at good prices then don’t bother looking anywhere else. The whole team including Moh your boat captain who seems to work 48 hours a day and always smiling, then head for Portofino. I have to mention too that as a hotelier we are normally very demanding travelers and Jan, Sandra and the team at Portofino left us with an amazing short immersion of Ambergris Caye which will not be easily forgotten. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanilla_Custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Had a great time at the “La Isla Bonita” San Pedro! Portofino is a wonderful intimate oceanfront boutique hotel. Jan, Sandra and their staff are the best hosts you can imagine! Love the personal and friendly easy going treatment! You and your partner will feel like the king and queen! The setting is idyllic and romantic! Great food! And if you like seafood: Try the lobster specials! I will be back! Thanks again for the unforgettable stay! Sander

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and I took our family with us to Belize to get married. Portofino took care of everything!! The decorations were beautiful, the food delicious, and the cake divine. If you ask, Portofino delivers. In fact, sometimes you don't even have to ask; the resort is small and intimate, and the staff is friendly and always available. After a few days, they not only know your name, but you wants and needs. This trip, and this resort exceeded all of my expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dremwivr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

First the good : Orville is the best bartender I've ever had and a very cool person! Rosalee, and the owners are also very nice. Boating / snorkeling adventures are great. A 5 gal cooler (although not cold) of drinking water was a relief.

The bad: Besides those mentioned above the other staff did not give a warm feeling. I looked online and saw the advertised "honeymoon" suite, which looked great. We requested it but were told it had just been rented out but there was a treetop suite instead. The treetop suite left a bit to be desired. The shower head was broken when we showed up. They did fix it however. The room had lights on the sides that had no switch to turn on, leaving a dimly lit room with what we had. We had a mosquito net around the bed which I initially thought was just decorative and wanted to tear down because it was in the way. I didn't realize that we would get as many mosquito bites in our room as we did. We ended up having to use it. The A/C was really just a fan that would not circulate the air throughout our room no matter how hard we tried. The room isn't properly sealed which allowed mosquitos to get in. There is a lagoon behind the resort which according the the staff " doesn't bring mosquitos around until after the dry season " ( first half of the year ) . We couldn't sit on our deck for more than 30 secs without getting bitten, and that is with 95% deet ( insect repellent ). If what they say is true about the mosquitos I would recommend going in the dry season. We left with 50+ bites a piece. The food was very overpriced and was average/bad. I don't know why one would travel all the way here to eat bad American food. They need some cultural dishes like you can get downtown. The pool is only open 8:00-4:30 pm , but in the resorts defense people stayed in longer without being told to get out. Still at 4:30 its not even getting dark yet.

I highly recommend this place for great drinks, good company at the bar, a pretty setting, and a secluded quiet vibe.
I would not recommend this place for those who want good affordable food, accessibility to town, or a comfortable room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingzgambit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We traveled with 20 family members and friends, ages 7 to 75+. The trip was for a wedding, and it was perfect. The hotel staff were excellent and very helpful. They decorated for the wedding and made a beautiful cake! By the time we left, we felt like the staff were our friends. Everyone loved the hotel, and are still talking about the trip. The ocean view is great, and the food was wonderful! It is a great place to take it easy and relax. The rooms with the thatched roofs were somewhat warm at night in June, but the families who stayed in the Mansion got cold. We all agreed that we would return if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIttleMizzyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
4.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
238 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
880 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
976 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $273 - $1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing