We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portofino Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$360
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$192
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$214
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
481
130
51
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
130
51
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexico rocksaction diversvip suitewater taxigreen parrothandmade soapsdive shophoneymoon suitein townambergris cayeboat captainfishminute boat ridethatched roofmiles north of san pedrogolf cartgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 695 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The staff is super friendly and very accomodating. But be aware some rooms are MUCH better than others. Our junior suite was definitely not at all "suite-like"...it was very small, loud (we could hear the neighbors walking around upstairs and we were right next to the restaurant/bar/front desk) and the shower was old and did not drain. When asked if we could change rooms, they upgraded us right away with no charge which was great customer service. The new room was much larger and quieter. The shower was still old looking but it drained at least.

Also the sink and shower water is actually SALT water. Not sure if all the hotels on the island have salt water since there may not be a fresh water source. But had I known this I would have researched other hotels. We never felt clean.

The food was good but not out of this world. Would recommend making reservations at alternate restaurants like Mata or go into San Pedro for variety. You are stuck to their bar and restaurant since there is nothing else around. And the prices were expensive...$9 for a smoothie? Lunck/Dinners ranged from $15-$50/per plate.

It was secluded and you are in for R&R. There are kayaks you can use for free and go out to Mexico Rocks to snorkle. Met a lot of nice people too. It was a quite, cozy and friendly enviornment. Were there for 3 days and it was the perfect amount of time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slpmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBelize, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2009

We are deeply sorry that our shower water was slightly briny during your stay.

The problem occurred because the water levels in our storage were extremely low, as we near the end of the dry season, and our water maker not being able to keep up with the demand because of technical malfunctioning. In the mean time we have been bringing water fresh water in by boat and the water maker has been repaired.

Words cannot express how truly sorry we are for the inconvenience that we may have caused. This is especially saddening because we work very hard to ensure that our guests leave with pleasant memories of Portofino and Belize.

To prevent this from happening in the future we have implemented a guarantee for our guests.

Jan van Noord, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Staff was amazing, food was amazing. All trip and plans were setup by them. Sit at the bar and have a drink with Orvil the bartender =)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotoMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Amazing resort with the best of staff. We stayed in the vip seahorse cabana which was fantastic and i would highly recommend it! As you walk out of the Cabana you step onto beautiful white sand and all you see is Palm trees, the pool (which is great) and the amazing blue waters. All the staff are phenomenal and cannot do enough to make you'r stay as great an experience as possible. Orville and Rafael are great and like they say they will serve drinks and stay open till you fall off the stool... never a bad thing...Rosallee at the front desk will book and give you advice on where and what to do. Sandra and Jan (owners) are great and you'll be sure to have a couple of cocktails with them before the trip is over. All in all we had a fantastic stay and if you are looking for lots of laughs, great service, in a tropical setting this is the place for you!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Portofino! Everyone was so helpful and so friendly! From Mo the boat pilot, to the bartenders Orville and Rafael to Front Desk service provided by Rosalie and Bertha to the warm and welcoming hosts Sandra and Jan! We stayed in the Jaguar Room and it is fantastic! The location is wonderful - far enough from town and close enough to town to be enjoyable! Our snorkeling and diving trips were amazing! We kayaked out to Mexico Rocks from the beach at Portofino and highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wddb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Portofino May 10-16 and couldn't have been happier. We stayed in Room 2 which is on the first floor right next to the lobby/bar. We booked last minute and Rosalie took care of everything. Very easy to call/email the resort directly to book your room. Mo met us at the airport in San Pedro and escorted us to Portofino. Our room was ready when we arrived, so after a quick introduction/orientation to the resort, and a welcome drink we were shown to our room. Being right next to the lobby and bar, I was initially concerned about noise, but never had a problem at all. In fact, I think we had the best view and location. This resort is great for anyone looking to get away. It is somewhat secluded, but still only a short boat ride to town.
Rooms:There is not a bad room on the property, all have ocean front views and interesting decor. We had a small concern with the water pressure in our shower the first night, told the manager of our concern and it was fixed within 30 minutes. We were even shown other rooms available if we wanted to switch. Everyone goes out of their way to see you have everything you need.
Food: The restaurant is very good. We always left very full. Continental breakfast is included with room rates. However, there are lots of good places/street vendors in town and we loved the food at Wild Mango's, Elvie's Kitchen, and Waraguma. Food on the island is, well, island priced. We always had breakfast at the resort, then either lunch or dinner in town. Portofino has a great bar, Margaritas are the best. No mix used. Both bartenders Orvile and Raphael are great and will make anything you ask, and are great with suggestions if you don't know what you want.
San Pedro: We had a great time on a fishing/snorkeling excursion one day. Booked through the resort. If you don't own snorkel gear, just borrow some from the resort, they have great equipment. Anyone at the desk can book days out for you, good to sit back and let them arrange everything. Chicken drop on Wed. night is fun, on the beach just off of the dock. Everyone on the island was very friendly and helpful. We especially liked not being hounded to look at timeshares etc. as we have found happens alot in Mexico. Overall this was the best vacation we have experienced and plan to go back. If you are looking to stay on the island please try Portofino, you won't be dissapointed. We are hoping to be back for New Year's.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginamullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews