We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portofino delivered!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just got back and of course miss it already. We booked a VIP suite and the pictures are spot on for what you get.The resort is lovely. The pool is wonderful. The food was delicious, never left hungry. The staff is great! Brittany took care of our room and us, and was a delight. One of the things I really enjoyed was the boat into town. Mo will give you a lift and pick you up from the dock, just check at the front desk for times... The wait staff and bartenders are an asset to this resort. Make sure to get a snorkel and jump in at the end of the dock...amazing little environment right there under the dock!! This was our third trip to Belize and we will definitely be making another return visit!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

We are thankful for your review and we're glad that our staff made your stay comfortable, hopefully we can host your 4th trip to Belize! see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 648 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

My sister and I just spent 6 nights at Portofino in early August. It was just what we were looking for even though we had no idea it would be so spectacular. We had flipped through reviews on Trip Advisor and were impressed by the recommendations for Portofino but still...we had no idea it would be so spectacular.

One thing to know is this is very rural. This was perfect for what we were looking for, but worth mentioning because we couldn't really picture it from the time we were planning: very excited, searching online, (from Chicago). From Belize City we took a small flight to San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, and the airline company called Portofino to inform them of our ETA. Once in San Pedro, we were given a taxi (not necessary once we got to know the area) and we waited at the Fido's Pier for Portofino's water taxi. Within 1 hour we were in the boat happy to have the breeze on our faces, the view from the water, and the destination...finally...so close. The ride is about 15 minutes, but honestly I never wore a watch while I was there and seldom kept track of time.
There are no doors on the shower and toilet, so if you are sharing a cabina/room with another person, keep this in mind.
There is a 10% resort charge on all restaurant/bar service, but we tipped certain staff in addition to this, to ensure they received complements we had for them.

Portofino is refined, it is pleasant in all ways and an ideal location for relaxation, restoration and peaceful vacation. The food was fabulous, the staff was accommodating and pleasant, and the nature is gorgeous, welcoming and harmonious. The jasmine and lavender soaps were a lovely complement but of course, you'll get to choose your favorites up on arrival!

Thank you to Ashira to helped us with all details we needed, to Ivan who served our meals with friendliness and courtesy, and definitely to Blinky who led our snorkeling tours. It was very convenient to have a diving/tour company there on the dock who were helpful and never pressuring or trying to sell us one way or the other.
The adventures/tours we booked that this company did not provide were scheduled with ease at the front desk, arrangements were made and we were packed an early breakfast and waited on the dock for pick-ups. I have to emphasize, all the details were taken care of.
Walking south down the beach we found a couple restaurant alternatives that were pleasing.

IF I WERE TO RETURN, I WOULD: take the kayaks to Mexico rocks daily! Soak up more time in the hammocks in the water! Take a few more naps on the outdoor bed at the end of the dock (yes, this is as appealing as it sounds). And eat more seafood in Portofino's restaurant.

ENJOY!

Room Tip: The seahore VIP suite is very quiet. However, the AC did not cool it as much as in the beachfront ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GloriacFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this long and wonderful review. We are extremely pleased to hear that Portofino was capable of hosting a successful vacation for you and your sister. We would be thrilled to host your return to Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

stayed with the family four nights and didn't want to leave. Portofino is a place that grows on you. it becomes better every day. You constantly discover more friendly stuff, more exciting things to do, and more delicious food. It is *the* place to relax. If you are traveling with kids go to Portofino. If you are traveling without kids - go to Portofino. Make sure to meet Raul and Jessica.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Iftah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

We are ecstatic to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! come visit us again some time soon! We'll be happy to host you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Portofino and would recommend it to anyone!
I had the lobster tail/filet special and it was awesome
free water taxi from our resort as well.
great choice for dinner and I would be back next time I visit Belize

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mixedcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

we really want to thank you far sharing your restaurant experience with us here. Sometimes, the culinary experience is overshadowed by the resort, which we don;t mind at all.
We look forward to providing more culinary specialties on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We had such a wonderful vacation at Portofino which began the moment we stepped on the pier. Ashira met us with warm cloths and flowers. She took special care to make certain our stay was perfect. The entire staff genuinely made us welcomed and provided excellent service.

Our cabana was Island designed including thatched roof. Flowers were on the bed and handmade soaps were provided.

We loved our entire experience and look to return very shortly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clhale22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on here. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us in our little slice of heaven. We aim to make everyone feel welcome and pampered. We look forward to the opportunity to do the same and more on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights at this beautiful resort with the boyfriend. We stayed in a cute cabana with hammock on the porch and a mini fridge (although wished they provided a kettle/cups etc.) but we asked the staffs and they assisted us with it. Daily housekeeping was provided which was nice as the room feels/smells refreshed. New towels & complimentary water bottles were provided daily as well. The pool sized was good with a beautiful ocean view and with the breeze hitting you it felt nice. Chairs were always available either by the pool or beach (never a problem). Complimentary boat rides to town (about 15mins). Boat ride is bumpy and unpleasant but hey it's free and it's the only access to get around town. Much cheaper food in town and quite a bit of selections and every dish we had was pretty yummy. The food provided at portofino was much pricey but we had their rib eye steak for $36 usd and it was delicious. Their lunch/snack menus were priced between $10usd - $20 usd and they also offered daily complimentary breakfast which comes with a drink. toast and assorted fruits. We did cave tubing & ziplining for a good priced that we went to town and bargained with the tour company there. Overall, the resort is beautiful and clean, staffs were helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank darling1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on here. We are happy you enjoyed your time in this part of paradise we call our home. We always aim to please and provide the best service available. Our staff has a knack for making everyone feel comfortable and very welcomed.

We hope to have the opportunity to pamper you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent our 20th wedding anniversary at the Portofino. In July, the rainy season. We were a bit worried about the weather, but it was perfect the entire trip, even a bit hot one day. The beautiful Island breeze helped with the heat. The resort is beautiful, and well maintained. The staff is helpful and friendly.. It was a perfect couples getaway. We enjoyed everything, except the 6 miles from town. We would of preferred to walk to town, we did take the water taxi in and the Portofino boat a few times. The front desk arranged two different excursions for us, one to the mainland. Everything from pick up to drop off went smoothly. We will come back to Belize for sure!!! If we come as a couple we will stay at the Portofino again, but if we bring our kids, we will find a resort with more activities on site for the kids to do. As a whole, Our trip was amazing and the Resort was Perfect for our needs.. Thank You Portofino!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grahams202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and we are thrilled to have shared in this milestone of your life. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We understand the distance from town can be complicated but it also makes for a more tranquil environment. We hope to have the opportunity to pamper you and your spouse again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
236 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
859 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $256 - $1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing