We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond our wildest dreams!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beyond our wildest dreams!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Returning to Portofino after five years was a dream come true. We spent three nights of our honeymoon at the hotel lazing on the beach, reef fishing and doing the shark ray snorkle. Now we were returning on a three hotel trip to the island and we kept Portofino as our highlight. We did our 5 year anniversary vow renewals and everything and i mean everything was simply perfect. We communicated with Michaela (the Manager) ahead of our arrival and she simply assured us that everything would be taken care of, and it was! The wedding pagoda on the beach made from bamboo and whispy white curtains was adorned with eye pooping pink and white flowers, she arranged for a pastor to come from the capital Belmopan, arranged for the cake and every last detail. They surprised us with a palm frond walk down to the wedding spot for my wife to walk down and even the owners Jan and Sandra were sweet enough to remember us and to agree to be our witnesses. One of the staff agreed to take our photos and took great ones of the ceremony and then Sandra took the camera later and obviously has a complete talent. She was taking hidden shots which turned out to be amazing and for these and every last detail we will be eternally grateful. The entire staff from the welcome on the pier, the meals in the restaurant, the grace and accuracy of every last detail for the vow renewal to the million electric tealights and flower petals on our bed, nothing could be faulted. We were served dinner on the beach afterwards in the same wedding chapel with twinkling lights and it felt like we were in some movie set, everything looked so perfect and the food was off the charts. If you are in love, planning a wedding, doing a vow renewal or simply want the best you can get for your money, head down to Portofino. We certainly will not be waiting 5 more years for another visit, Michaela and team just ROCK, thanks to them we will have a day we will simply never forget. Gracias, thank you, amazing!

Room Tip: we booked very late and had a beach cabana which was their last room and which was perfect, had we b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanilla_Custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are extremely thrilled we were able to share in your special occasion at out resort and make the event memorable. It was my pleasure to have been able to assist you as well in making this trip a special one. The staff and all of us at the resort do our best to make everyone feel comfortable and welcomed and it is always our pleasure to make your stay even more memorable.
We truly do appreciate your company at the resort. We look forward to the opportunity to pamper you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    118
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
429
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Portofino was excellent from the moment we arrived. From the front desk to the dive crew to the restaurant guys they were all great!! Everyone too very good care of my wife and I. The food at the restaurant was great too. People came from several of the other resorts each night to dine at Portofino. My wife and I will be returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
we are happy you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful country with us. The staff has a key eye for service and does everything to the best of their ability.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Portofino is a well kept secret!! A beautiful place to visit with an amazing staff!! The location is fabulous, the dock is awesome, and we all loved the front porches on the beach!! I need another week there VERY soon!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with our resort. We truly think we are in paradise and always take pride in sharing it with out guests. Our staff genuinely does their best to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible.

We are very pleased your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Portofino Resort!! The service was good: professional and accommodating. While the resort is a little farther than others from town, the boat was extremely easy! The great thing was that we had the freedom to go to other resorts for lunch and dinner. Our only small complaint was we wish our room was a bit bigger!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with the resort. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and extremely happy we were able to accommodate you for honeymoon. The distance from town is a plus for some people as it offers a bit more seclusion and relaxation.

We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We came to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and found our trip to be better than we could have ever hoped. Every part was perfect; the service, staff, location, the resort itself, and the amazing country of Belize. Many places we visit, I leave having enjoyed my time but not having a strong desire to go back because I'd been there and there are still more places to see. Belize is different and I canNOT wait to go back! I want to explore more.
The resort is unlike any hotel I've seen. It feels like a B&B more than a resort giving the opportunity to make friends with other guests and the staff. This was an unexpected treat during our stay but added a very special memory and sweetness to our adventure. As people walked around for breakfast or in the afternoon or after an excursion was done in the evenings, we would all say hi by name and talk about our day, wave as we walked past and converse in the evenings and often link up for dinner. It was sad to see people leave as their trip ended. We have traveled all over the world (My husband has been to 33 countries, and 16 for me) and no where have we seen such hospitality. The resort staff was kind beyond their commitment to the job, frequently going out of their way for anything I might need or want.

The rooms are little duplex grass roof condos and there's a couple larger houses too. It had all the elegant charm of the tropics without feeling cheesy or overdone with perfect attention to detail. Each evening we came to our room to find a special treat laid out for us by housekeeping.

The location being 6 miles north of town made for a peaceful trip. It kept me on downtime when I could have wasted time wondering to stay busy (because I've forgotten how to relax in my busy life), but taking time to explore when I wanted. I returned home refreshed, rested, recovered and inspired.

Portofino is 1 mile from Mexico rocks, a perfect afternoon kayak or swim out to snorkel with nurse sharks and rays in the wild. The only warning I'd say here however is that the water is very shallow for 100 meters out or so with turtle grass. Once you get out a bit further you're in water taxi traffic lane so having a kayak in tow is necessary for safety. But once you get out a bit further, the swimming is quite perfect and the water makes Hawaii feel cold.

We did the Blue hole dive which was an absolutely amazing experience. The blue hole itself isn't about the color and fish, but about the features in the wall. Then the 2 following dives were all about fish, reef and color with the 100+ft visibility. We saw more than I can take time to write here but large variety of sharks, eagle ray, conch, and...and...and...

We also did Shark Ray Alley and Hol Chen and it was pretty great too..I have to say that Mexico rocks from the resort allowed me the time to play at my own pace and leave when I wanted. Despite having to leave before I was ready, I really enjoyed having the guide with us who broke us into groups and named all the life we were seeing as we went along Hol Chen. Nice since we can't talk underwater when diving. I would most defiantly recommend this trip especially if you are not a diver.

If I have to give thoughts or ideas to add to this experience: some evening board games and/or cards would be a fun add ...or more water toys (Paddle board, sail board, etc..)

Room Tip: Any room in this small home away from home would be an experience worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppydogpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are so Happy that we got to share in your special occasion and helped to make it memorable. We like to think that being small has its advantages, where we can give you, our guests, more attention rather tan being drowned out in the crowd. Being a little distance away from town helps with the individualized attention away from all the distractions.
Our staff do A lot to make everyone feel welcomed and somewhat part of a family. And everything they do is truly to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible. They are part of the unique experience of Portofino and like family.
We feel Belize truly is a treasure to be cherished and are truly happy you were able to enjoy in our little slice of paradise.
We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

The view is amazing with the hammocks in the water. Unfortunately, there is no beach where you can swim anywhere around. The beach at the hotel is covered with seaweed. Not a single person swam there. The closest decent beach is about 1.5 miles away.

If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place. No bars around, just some other resorts. Getting to town from here is a pain, so plan on hanging out here most of the time. It is very quiet and I suppose would be a good spot for a honeymoon, but not for a friends trip.

Service was mediocre. At first, we were greeted with amazing welcome drinks, but that was really the last time we experienced such great service. The bartender lied to us about the tips, claiming the gratuity included in the bill was not actually a tip. Another waiter told us the truth.

Food at the hotel restaurant was not that good but more expensive than the restaurants at San Pedro.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank nina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with our resort. As we advertise we are located 6.5 miles North of San Pedro Town and accessible only by boat. our aim is provide relaxed seclusion from the constant go of urban life. We understand that might not be the best for everyone, however if you are looking to getaway from the activity this would be a place to enjoy. As for the Turtle grass, it is a protected eco system through out the country and as such we unfortunately can't have it removed. there are few places on the island that would offer a swim up beach but at the end of the pier there is a clearing for guests to enjoy the Caribbean Sea.

As for the restaurant, because of our location there are a lot of additional costs associated with providing meals. We are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy the restaurant service as it is one of the top rated restaurants on the island, but its not to everyone's palette.

As for the issues with the staff, we will continue working with them to ensure that this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I would like to start out by saying that for the people who wrote negative reviews for this resort must be miserable people. My fiancé and I got engaged and the staff was accommodating and amazing! especially michaela. They surprised us with a candle light dinner on the beach and a room filled with flowers! Overall our trip the portofino resort was our favorite vacation so far!

Here are some helpful tips:

The resort is on an island. So please know that you first fly into the international airport then take a 15 min cab ride to belize city which is $25 then take a 90 min boat ride to San Pedro. San Pedro is where Moe will pick you up and take you to the resort. You can also take a separate fight to San Pedro which is more money and might be worth it after the traveling. You can get round trip boat tickets at the dock for about each $30.

We stayed in the beachfront cabanas which had a view of the pool and ocean. The other rooms such as the treetops are set back behind the cabanas. The room was equipped with a nice cool a/c, mini fridges with bottled waters and homemade soap that you can choose. The bed was very comfortable as well as the hammock on the porch.

The resort as a whole was very clean and well kept. The beach is small and you don't have to fight for a chair. the water along the beach is not swimmable but please don't let that discourage you as there is a long dock that goes out to clearer and deeper water. I would suggest to swim and snorkel out there as there are many fish under and around the dock. Behind the resort is the unpaved road with a view of the lagoon. My fiancé also caught big lizards out back.

The food was good. The dinner is expensive but every night moe goes into town from 5pm to 6:30pm so you can eat in town or bring it back with you when you return to the resort. All the locals in town are nice and speak fluent english and Spanish. They do not bother you and are not pushy. They take american dollars.

We went to Mexico rocks, hol chan and shark ray alley. Mexico rocks is free as you can kayak there and very worth going to. If you snorkel or dive you must visit Hol chan and shark ray alley. Very awesome! We were going to do the cave tubing but found out that it is about a 2 hr trip into Belize city for only about an hour cave tub ride. Also the cave water is cold.

The weather was nice. The first day was windy but kept the bugs away. The last day it rained but was still warm. Bring big spray.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcduarte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the resort. Also, for sharing travelling tips on getting to the resort from the mainland. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience here with us. And the staff always tries their best to make all or guests feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible.

We do feel we are in paradise and are happy to have others share int his wonderful place. All the excursions bring something unique. and there are more travel options available.

Thanks again for sharing and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
8.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
3.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
1.2 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Property: Portofino Beach Resort
Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing