We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Secluded Paradise”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

To get to this hotel we had to take a plane and 2 boats, but it was well worth the travel. The place is nice and clean, well-maintained, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. It was a really cool experience to be so far away from any major cities and to just relax and take in the beautiful surroundings. The beach appears a bit dirty, but it is just plant life and you can walk down the pier and go swimming in the ocean from the end of the pier. The beach extends in either direction so we were able to take walks up and down the island and all the way to San Pedro. San Pedro and a couple restaurants are accessible by the hotel's boat, which is available for use by the hotel guests at various times of the day. There is such abundant sea life that our niece all day just exploring the shellfish and multitudes of colorful fish. We took a couple kayaks out to the snorkeling reef (about 15 minutes from shore) and saw more fish.The restaurant on-site was just delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with Portofino and we a thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    120
    50
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
443
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I can't imagine returning to Ambergris Caye and not staying at Portofino. From the moment the staff greeted us at the airport, then again at the dock when we arrived at the hotel, we felt like they were waiting just for us. We were greeted with complimentary cocktails and everyone knew our names by the end of our stay. The staff is just that accommodating and friendly. (Not to mention the dozens of emails I sent prior to our arrival, all answered quickly and graciously.)

The grounds were my favorite of the resorts we visited. Small enough to feel cozy and intimate, but the amenities (a dive shop, a delicious restaurant, a full bar, massage services, bikes, kayaks, tour arrangements) felt like a true resort.

Even though the resort is a ways from town, that never felt like an issue. They arranged for us to be on the boat when we wanted to leave for dinner, and they either picked us back up or arranged for a water taxi to. Bikes got us to nearby places for lunch or drinks, too. We felt like we got to relax while seeing and enjoying other places, too. It was the best of everything really.

One tip: I recommend you ask for private dining (which isn't an extra charge for guests!) during your stay. Very romantic.

We hope to come back to Belize one day and the first place we'll call is Portofino.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with Portofino. Our staff does try their best to make everyone feel as comfortable and welcomed as possible and attentive to their needs. Our location has been one of our biggest features and glad you were able to share in our little piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Lived up to all our expectations for my husbands 60th birthday, private dinning on the beach, nothing too much trouble,they produced a special cake, cooked all the fish he court from his fishing trips, really looked after us well.
And there's no bugs there! We never got bitten once. They spray the sand so there's no sand flies! The sea is clean and there are patches to swim in. Wonderful sandy beech nice pool shallow end - with deck chairs in the pool neat! Bikes to borrow and khakis and Trips to town frequently. The restaurant has daily specials and the food is very good but at the higher end for the area the portions are a fair size.
We would defiantly return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are enthused by your experience at Portofino. We try our best to please and meet our guests' desires. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I only had to get off the boat to fall in love. I needed a break badly and thought an island escape was just what I needed. It was like the staff knew why I was there. Amazing property, perfect location with just the right distance from the bustling San Pedro town. For a minute there I forgot where I was. A fantastic staff of professionals who really understands hospitality. Sigh! I totally wish I was there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeleficentMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are pleased to have been able to accommodate your getaway as best as possible. Our staff has an uncanny knack for dealing with people.

Thank you again for sharing and if you ever need an escape, you know where to find us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you want to be pampered in a small, intimate resort, visit with friendly people for all over the world, and spend time in Paradise, this is the best place in the world! From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were treated like we were the only guests there. If you want to just relax and soak up the sun you can do that on the porch of your room, on the loungers at the beach or in an Adirondack chair in the sparkling pool. If you want activity there are lots of excursions for snorkeling, diving, and going into the jungle on the mainland, as well as taking a boat to San Pedro to shop and eat. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. We definitely will be going back. Chandel, Tristen and Brittney we hope you'll still be there!

Room Tip: If you'd like a room right on the beach reserve one of the 'beach front' rooms. We sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Your enthusiasm in sharing your enjoyable experience at the resort gives us the drive keep working harder at pleasing our guests.
We are happy to have shared your company and look forward to another wonderful vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Jim and I arrived at Ambergris Caye March 1st. We were greeted with a friendly smile from Moe, who whisked us via boat to Portofino. Asheera was waiting at the dock with eucalyptus towels, so we were able to refresh after our long flight. The rest of our vacation continued like that. Everyone was friendly, offering information on whatever questions we had and ensuring our stay was very comfortable and stress free.
Jim and I were married on the beach at Portofino March 6th. I have to mention the women who made our wedding exceptional, Michaela. Michaela took care of every detail, from when I came down the aisle which was lined with torches and palm leaves, petals scattered along the path to a canopy of tulle and flowers. I felt like I was in a dream, this had surpassed my expectations. Michaela created memories that will stay with us forever.
Olivera Rusu, our photographer was professional, patient and a pleasure. Although, I don't have our photos yet, I have seen her work and I know I will be sharing the photos with everyone.
I would also like to mention the Portofino restaurant. The food was very favorable and the staff attentive. A mention of Tristan one of our waiters, exceptional.
Lillian our masseuse was intuitive about our needs without us having to tell her where the problem areas were.
We went fishing, snorkeling and visited San Pedro, from our fishing guide to the towns people everyone was friendly. Jim and I bought our wedding rings in San Pedro from "Sagittarius" a jewelry store. I also purchased a bracelet the craftsmanship is excellent.
We stayed in the Honeymoon suite, the room was large and comfortable. Upon our arrival small electric candles adorned our bed. On the evening of March 6th our bed was adorned with candles and a heart outlined with flowers and leaves.
All in all, I have to say our experience exceeded our expectations and hope we will have the opportunity to celebrate an anniversary at Portofino.

Cyndi
Chicago Illinois

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the resort and we are extremely honored we were able to be a part of your most memorable day. Our staff has always made an effort for all guests to feel welcomed and at home during their stay. The resort staff was happy to have made your day as memorable as they could and look forward to an anniversary visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on a little get away. For 8 days we enjoyed the sun and sand. The water was clear as Gin and in some places you could just lay on the pier and look 50 feet down in the water and watch the fish. Great snorkels and scuba. The hotel had a true island motif. Clean, ( they even had little buckets of water outside your door to rinse your feet off so you wouldn't drag sand into your suite). They even sweep the sand on the beach. Food excellent as well. A British couple along with their dog Sadie greeted us upon arrival. Sadie has balls buried in the sand everywhere so don't be surprised if she puts one in your hand to throw. Loved the calm and quiet stress free atmosphere. Get a golf cart and go to SAN Pedro to explore. Eat at Elvys for great coconut rice. For a nominal fee the hotel provides the carts. I can't say enough good things about this place. Found nothing negative there. Just wish it were closer and I didn't have to work so I could go more often.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shadowcreek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, General Manager at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in our little piece of paradise. We hope we have the opportunity to make your next trip even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
229 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
944 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Property: Portofino Beach Resort
Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing