We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Portofino!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Wow, what a fantastic and beautiful resort! We traveled all over Belize for almost two weeks, and we ended our stay at Portofino - wish we were there longer!
It was so relaxing, very clean, every cabana looks out over the sparkling blue pool and then not far after the ocean. You can take a kayak out to the reef from this spot - amazing. Afterwards, rehabilitate in the shallow end of the pool in a comfy chair and order a fresh "dirty banana" colada from the waiter - yum!
The food was great, especially dinner. We met up with some friends and stuffed ourselves full of scallops and other seafood.
The owners made us feel very welcome and tried to get us to extend our stay - we seriously thought about it!
Free and reliable Internet, relaxing atmosphere and great sunsets - check it out for yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snocone417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 648 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2008

We found ourselves at the Portofino for our honeymoon. It was one of the best decisions we could have made. We were greated at the airport by Mo who graciously carried our broken, heavy, and overspilling suitcase to the boat where we took a 15 min ride up the shore to get to the Portofino. It was one of the prettiest resorts from the water. Upon arriving there we were greated with a glass of rum punch. From that point on we were treated like family. The service was extraordinary!

There were not many people there, which provided us with a very calm secluded honeymoon far from other tourists. The entire resort was well kept (in fact I think the pool was cleaned hourly). The beach was cleaned every morning, unlike many of the other properties on the island. The majority of the guests were other honeymooners like us.

At one point during our stay we were hit with a tropical storm. The hotel staff recommended things for us to do while staying indoors. They had plenty of DVD's which you could take back to your room and watch. They had many books and a few good dice games that they taught us. The bar tenders even played dice with us!

They were able to book all of our excursions and tell us the best places to eat and things to do on the island.

When we left Portofino we were going to another resort on the island for 5 more days. It was so horrible when we got there that we turned around in 2 hrs and returned to the Portofino. Upon returning at the Portofino they gave us an upgraded room at 25% off of the original price and a night free! They greated us with rum punch and of course cheers and claps, because they were happy we had returned! I would recommend this place for anyone!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

The Portofino was delightful, and I would defnitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Belize.

This lovely boutique resort is just a 15 minute boat ride from San Pedro, and I would recommend staying outside of town. The beach is private, and once you arrive there is no reason to leave. We were greeted with an island punch when we arrived, and I have not met a friendlier staff. They were very helpful, accomodating, and made our stay very memorable. All of our meals were very good, and offered a variety of food choices.

The pool is really great, and has a beautiful view of the ocean. You can lay out in a lawn chair IN the pool, or swim in the deep end.

The hotel offers cabanas on the beach, and suites with views of the ocean or pool. Our porch had a hammock where I read my book with a view of the ocean and got out of the sun for a while. Our bathroom was large, and the shower had a raining shower head. The room itself could not have been nicer. The suite had air conditioning, your own filtered water dispenser, a refrigerator, and a very comfy bed.

I will definitely be going back! Paradise awaits at the Portofino!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank inneedofavaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We recently stayed at Portofino (during the low season) and had a fabulous time. All of the staff were so courteous and welcoming; we couldn't have asked for more, beginning with Mo, Rosalie and Helda...and the list goes on. The pool set-up is great - you have a wading area with chairs and a deeper end for swimming. It meets all of your needs for getting sun, reading, etc. The beach and outdoor area is very well kept, even with chairs out on the dock for lounging.

The service at the restaurant and bar was right on...and really convenient. The room is set up in a very relaxing, comfortable way, but it is definitely more luxurious than my home! The real flowers on the bed and in the bathroom reminded you that you were on a vacation each day.

I would recommend Portofino to anyone and am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank e568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

It is with great pleasure that I write this review. Over the last 6 months I’ve read both positive and negative reviews of the Portofino Beach Resort. My husband and I had a clear idea and purpose of what we wanted for our vacation and the setting we were looking for. The good thing about reading reviews is that it leads to clarification of questions and or concerns you may have about your goals for a vacation. The Portofino Beach Resort is pristine in beauty, and impeccably maintained. The resort has a little more that a 30 person capacity for guest, leaving the overall setting uniquely personal. Each accommodation is individualized, making your living environment comfortable, conductive to resting and privacy with daily meticulous housekeepers. The restaurant at the resort was exceptional as well as accommodating. We greatly enjoyed all our meals and the staff that provided the service. All along the windward side of Ambergris Caye is a beautiful narrow walkable beach, but the water is very shallow due the Belize Barrier Reef that runs parallel to the coast line so that at different points it my not be swimmable. Walking the beach, wading in the water along the way, stopping at a beach side bar and or restaurant and meeting people along the was is fabulous. Portofino uses a salt / fresh water processing system for showering and hand washing with each room supplied with a fresh water tank for drinking. Though the shower water may have been a little salty, and being boaters, we didn’t have any trouble with our shampoos, shaving products and or just general hygiene use. The resort management coordinated our trips and we had the most exciting successful two days of deep sea and reef fishing with a private boat from Freedom Tours with “Hilly Boo” as our captain. He also personalized our trip to Shark and Ray Alley and the Hol Chan Canyons Marine Reserve to snorkel as well as visiting the island of Caye Caulker. But most importantly, above and beyond the beauty and uniqueness of the setting, the staff at the resort from the person who rakes the grounds every day to the top management could not have been more personable, accommodating and enjoyable to be with as we shared our time together at the resort. Our deepest appreciation to Helda, Rosalie, Maria, Chris, Moe, Julie, Rafael, Orvil, Beverly, and to our host Mr. and Mrs. Van Noord for their vision in creating such a personal setting. This was an experience of a life time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakeRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I would recommend Portofino to anyone. The rooms were adorable (we stayed in the cabanas and I bet the suites were twice as nice). It certainly exceeded our expectations. The rooms were cleaned every day (which was nice considering how much sand we tracked in) and the staff members are so nice and trustworthy.

I highly recommend going during the low season. We were there with just two other couples and the staff was more than accommodating to our every need. They have an amazing restaurant and serve lobster year round. We ate there nearly every night. People from other resorts rode in to eat at Le Bistro. For the guests staying at Portofino, they don’t make you pay each and every time you order. Instead, they write you up a ticket and you sign for it. Then you pay at the very end. It was really convenient and the prices were reasonable.

The packages they arranged for us were so much fun and the tour guides knew what they were talking about. Portofino booked the trips though SEAduction, a Belize outdoor expedition company. We walked up and down Ambergris Caye, loved the locals, the drinks, etc. It was perfect for our honeymoon. Even though the beach isn’t really set up to go swimming, they have this awesome pool they just installed with chairs in the water so you can relax, read a book and the bartenders will even bring you drinks.

There were two drawbacks, but it wasn’t Porofino, it’s Belize in general:
1. The water is pretty salty, even though they filter it. They do give you plenty of bottled water and filtered water in your room though.
2. The water taxis were rough. Everyone there takes water taxis and when they water is rough, it can be a tough day.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank danieyeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We decided to splurge for our honeymoon. We had never been to Belize, so we went to the Ambergris Caye website and started researching places to stay. Fortunately we picked this place. Immediately upon arrival to the airport, our bags were carried for us, and then taken to our rooms after a quick boat ride. Upon arrival there were welcome drinks, and the staff introduced themselves to us, and started treating us like royalty.

We stayed here for 7 days. Tirelessly each staff member worked to insure trips were planned, and that we had a great time. The manager of the resort even took us to town on her night off and helped us find good local places to dine, drink, and go out on the town.

We were there during 2 tropical storms. Unfortunately we spent 3 days inside. Instead of watching us go stir-crazy, the staff showed us dice games, helped us work on puzzles, and kept us occupied in order to help the dismal time pass.

I have never stayed at a place that works tirelessly to treat you like a member of their family. The pool was always clean, the beeches were always raked, even in the two tropical storms. We were pleasantly shocked to see staff members in rain coats raking the beeches in 80 mph winds.

Unfortunately we left Portofino and traveled to another resort. We were used to being spoiled, we left the other resort within 2 hours due to the lack of customer service as well as cleanliness. Portofino welcomed us back with open arms. The staff members clapped and hugged us in the lobby when we returned. They even upgraded our room and gave us a night free for our loyalty.

This was a truly wonderful find for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mattyjakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
236 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
859 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $256 - $1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing