We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Portofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

THis is a top notch resort. We loved everything from our tree top accomodations(Sunflower Suite) overlooking the ocean and the pool, to the friendly and extremely helpful staff.
All the dive trips and tours they booked for us were excellent and the door to door service appreciated. The staff could not be more helpful. Every request was fulfilled with a smile, including a special birthday dinner out on the end of the pier for my BF. What a beautiful setting under the stars! Many thanks to Lorraine, Flor, Alex and Raphel for taking such good care of us. Definitely recommend this resort if you want a romantic, peaceful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: I would recommend a top floor room . The views are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you had such a memorable experience here at Portofino. Our staff never ceases to impress us with the outstanding customer service that they provide and we are grateful that not only did you enjoy our facility but also the Belizean hospitality! Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 648 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you are looking for action beside tranquil surrounds. This is not the place...if you love great service, nice pool, nicely appointed cabanas, good food, icy Belikins and feeling like you are the only one at the resort at times sign up today. Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in Royal Orchard and cabana#2. Royal Orchard rocks with a view that is tough to beat. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaglelorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities and ambiance of our little piece of paradise and hope to welcome you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Portofino is a great boutique hotel on Ambergris Caye. Our family of five, 3 college age sons and my husband and I spent a week at Portofino at the end of March 2012. It was quiet, well appointed, and relaxing. The only way to get to San Pedro was by speedboat and the resort makes several trips a day. The difference with Portofino was the hardworking staff - they really made the difference. They quickly knew our names, and made each day fun!

Great dive staff on site as well - everything is customized to what your family wants to do!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crevare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed their stay with us. Our team is very hard working indeed and we are glad that they were able to make your stay pleasant.

We hope to welcome your family again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and I started planning this trip about a year ago. This was our 25th anniversary. It was exactly what we wanted...even better than we'd imagined! ...beautiful rooms, gorgeous grounds, breathtaking views, delicious food (we did the meal plan), some of the best snorkeling we've ever experienced, friendly staff... wonderful!

Room Tip: We were in the Tree-Top Suite...loved it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romantic5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

An anniversary is a time to celebrate the beauty, gift, and the blessing of enduring love and we are honored to have been a part of such a special celebration. We are so happy that you enjoy our little piece of paradise and your anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This resort was perfect for us. If you are looking for the perfect combination of unbothered peace right at the water's edge, and adventure, but still a fairly short boat ride from town, this is it. Great service, great food, excellent staff. The dive master, Roberto, was very good and took us on three wonderful dives. And you can take the kayak out to Mexico Rocks and snorkel at your own pace. Or just lie in the beach chairs and enjoy the incredible views as the sea laps at your feet...sigh. We want to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. A haven of barefoot luxury, relaxation, romance and adventure, in combination with great food and unmatched customer service is what Portofino is all about. We are so happy that you were able to find that here and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Portofino Resort in north Ambergris Caye is a fine example of a beach resort that really caters to their guests. The rooms are large and very well appointed...we stayed in the "Mansion" which is a two-story building on the left side of the property facing the Caribbean Sea. Huge space for a family or 3 couples, even if they brought kids along. Nice kitchen, cool walk in shower, and everything you need to enjoy your stay. Each morning my daughter and I would wake up early to watch the sun rise over the water -- simply spectacular and I am not even a morning person!

The resort itself has a really nice elevated pool with lots of space for lounge chairs, you can even put one right in the shallow part of the pool itself. Shady palm trees and other places to sit and view the sea are all over the place and they have a pair of hammocks out over the water, very nice. The restaurant and bar were great, super friendly people and everything we ate and drank was perfect. I really liked the Belizean breakfast I had on 2 days...so yummy and looked to be quite healthy too with fresh fruits and tasty fry jacks on the side.

Jan and Sandra, the couple that run the resort are raising two beautiful children at their home on resort grounds, are just delightfully friendly people who work hard to make every guest happy and telling all their friends about this amazing resort called PORTOFINO.

I recommend the hotel completely and believe anyone seeking a exotic, upscale tropical vacation will find Portofino hard to beat.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a big place for a larger group, ask about the Mansion House....its perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanHeimbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thanks for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your daughter had such a great time here at Portofino. The sunrises are indeed something that is worth waking up for! There is nothing more relaxing and serene as watching the golden sun rising over the barrier reef, reflecting over the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea!

Our family is truly best to have the opportunity to live here in paradise and we are even more fortunate to be able to share this slice of paradise with so many wonderful people from all over the world!

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was a lovely hotel, but it was a long way from San Pedro by boat and it was hard to go in and out of town without planning ahead. The rooms and property were very nice, but if you want to go to another restaurant or take a trip into town, it takes some significant planning as you can only get to and from town by boat and the boat does not run that often. You have to wait for them to pick up or drop people off from the airport. If your plans do not coincide, you need to take a water taxi which takes 45 minutes and only leaves every 1 and 1/2 hours. Also, it is not cheap- around $30 for two people if you are a tourist. Locals pay less. If we went back to Ambergris Caye we would stay closer to town. This place was just too far away for us to take advantage of what San Pedro had to offer.

Room Tip: The suites are huge and nicely appointed. We recommend spending a little extra money for the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort. We are indeed located 6 miles north of town, which is about 15-20 minutes by boat. The water taxis do take a little longer as the do several pick ups along the way at other resorts. They currently charge $11 per person one way. Locals pay the same price unless they are staff working north. Staff pay less for the taxi as they travel twice on a daily basis, year round as this is the mode of transportation for most of them to get to work. Our boat, which is complimentary to our guests, goes in several times per day and an updated schedule can be found at the Front Desk in our Main Lobby.

For guests that want the privacy and to be away from the hustle and bustle of San Pedro Town, Portofino is ideal as they can still take advantage of getting into town if they find it necessary. We can see where it would be a concern for guests that want to be in town, and for that reason we do indicate on all our ads that we are 6 miles north of San Pedro Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
4.6 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 54 in San Pedro
236 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
8.5 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
860 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matachica Resort & Spa
Matachica Resort & Spa
#8 of 54 in San Pedro
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#23 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $256 - $1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing