We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
SunBreeze Suites(San Pedro)
$147
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$122
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banana Beach Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$99
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$177
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayan Princess Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayo Espanto(San Pedro)
$1,495
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,778/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
87
11
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
11
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchfirst floorample towelsgolf cartfrench doorsmake arrangementsblack orchidprivate poolbedroom condobumpy roadmiles south of townbeach areabelikin beerthe ground floorshallow watercome homecomforts of home
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 103 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

We loved our stay at this condo. The rooms and kitchen were perfect for the 6 of us and the grounds were well kept. There was a brand new dock and shade palapas on site and the tour operator that was on-site was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BMyrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas. Indeed - you arrived just in time to take advantage of our brand new pier! We're also glad that you found the onsite presence of Suya Tours to be helpful; it's very important to us to make our guests' experiences as seamless as possible.

It was our pleasure to host you, and we hope to be able to do so again in the near future! Thanks for being such amazing guests, and please keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Our group of 8- 4 adults, 1 teenager, and 3 kids aged 5, 7, and 9 stayed here for 6 days in early June 2018. The staff were great and the condo was perfect for our needs. Comfortably sleeps 8 people with 2 master suites and one room with two queen beds (the kids shared that room). Walking right out from our patio and straight to the pool was amazing! It was not crowded at all and it really seemed like we had our own private pool for most of our stay.

Great trip, and we will definitely stay here again. We felt very safe, and this area was not overly crowded. We were very rarely approached by people trying to sell items which was nice. Roads to get there are VERY bumpy... as long as you go in with that in mind, you'll be quite happy. Take lots of bug spray.

Room Tip: The first floor condos are the best-the pool is at your doorstep. You can completely open up the condo for a really nice sea breeze!
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rnmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The condo that you stayed in, 1D, is indeed a family favorite due to the direct, walkout access to the pool deck and beach!

We're so glad to hear that you'll be coming back to stay with us again, and it's our pleasure to assist with anything you need along the way. Thanks again for being such wonderful guests - it was truly our pleasure to host you. Keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

My wife and I visited Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas with two other couples. Our stay was far better than we could have imagined - everything exceeded our expectations! The property, views, and pools were absolutely beautiful, and the condo was perfect. Perfect location. We loved that it was close to the city of San Pedro that you could easily get to the great local attractions and restaurants via golf cart or easy bike ride, but yet far enough away to feel the seclusion on the beach and away from the hustle & bustle.

The onsite staff and management were superb and went above and beyond our expectations, especially with their communications and checking in on us periodically throughout our stay. We will definitely be going back, and again staying at Hol Chan Reef Resorts & Villas!

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mikeferr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Mike - we are so excited to hear that you, your wife, and your friends enjoyed your stay here at Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas! It's also wonderful to hear that our location provided the serenity you were looking for while still being close to town and attractions. We had fun getting to know you, and we hope to be able to host you again in the near future! Thanks for being such awesome guests, and please keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Our family vacation at this resort was amazing. The location was perfect - 15 minutes south of town and accessible by golf cart. The staff was incredibly attentive to our needs, both before and during our trip. No surprises - we knew exactly what to expect when we arrived and were totally situated. Can't say enough about them.

The condo was gorgeous - professionally decorated with beautiful local wood furnishings. It felt just like an upscale Belizean vacation home should. We had everything we needed and more.

We booked several excursions with Suya Tours. These guys are top-notch. Favorite, by far, was the beach BBQ. Highly recommend! Our guides took us fishing and snorkeling, and cooked our catch on a beautiful secluded beach. It was the perfect family day.

We didn't want to leave, and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marina030820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2018

We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas. We agree - Suya Tours is an excellent tour company and always exceeds the expectations of our guests, which is why we recommend them! It was truly our pleasure to host you, and we hope to be able to do so again in the near future! Thanks for being such amazing guests, and please keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

How Chan Reef was an average place to stay. It was clean, had just about everything we needed when staying in. Great pools and very nice, attentive staff who took excellent care of us. Employee Miguel was very helpful and hard working all day long.

Negatives about the condo- upstairs unit - elevator was broken the entire trip. This was a little rough for our age 60+ group. One bedroom’s ac unit never cooled it. Had to leave door open hoping other units would help out. Water heater was not turned on. After 2 days of cold showers we “investigated” and turned on the switch. Rotting seaweed collected and covered small “beach/ lagoon area.” This caused a very rank stench. All.the.time. The Pier was being replaced so we could not get out past the seagrass.

EVERYONE drives golf carts.... stay away from San Pedro on Friday night! It’s a gigantic booze cruise. The drive is 3.5 from Hol Chan over DUSTY, BUMPY road. Even the bricked part in town is rough - speed bumps and drain culverts.

When visiting Belize bring a case of insect repellent with DEET. MOSQUITOES will eat you up! We sprayed and sprayed ourselves and still got eaten up! We also used baby oil to keep the “no see’ums” from biting us. They were not an issue.

Richard set up snorkeling for us and it was awesome! The food was incredible and the people we met were very friendly and helpful!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank WooperTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hol_Chan_Reef_Resort, Manager at Hol Chan Reef Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2018

Hi Barbara,

We're sorry your stay with us was just "average." We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests, and wish this had been the case with you. It sounds like a few of the issues were unfortunately out of our control.

It's great to hear your feedback about the pools and staff! We feel very lucky to have great people working with us to take care of our guests!

We wish we had known about the tripped breaker on your hot water heater so that we could have addressed it immediately for you. We are always here to help and even provided you with a phone to reach us 24 hours a day should you have needed anything. A recent power outage or surge was probably the culprit for the tripped breaker. Similarly, with the a/c, we would have addressed it had we known of the problem. It has worked fine for the group after you, so we're puzzled as to what the issue was.

The broken elevator was an unexpected issue that unfortunately is not easy to get repaired on an island in Belize. We did reach out to the person in your group that booked the condo and let her know ahead of time about the situation and that your condo was on the 2nd floor. We asked if this was a concern for anyone in her group, and she replied back that everyone was fine to climb stairs, but that you all would need help with luggage. We were happy to help you with your luggage, and would have done our best to find an available ground floor unit to move you to had we known it actually was an issue for some of the group.

Sargassum seaweed floats in from the Atlantic and affects areas from Florida and all the way throughout the Caribbean. It's true that it does put off an unpleasant smell, but our staff rakes it up and hauls it off as it comes in. Sometimes, large patches do get caught up on our shallow waters during low tide, and we're unable to get to them. Unfortunately, we can't do anything about this until it floats in. We just never know how the sargassum will be from year to year or when it will come in. It's an ongoing, well-publicized problem for all of the Caribbean.

Golf carts are the primary mode of transportation on the island, and at busy times town can be crowded, but that's why we like our location! We are far enough away from the town to enjoy peace and quiet! Most people love the "adventure" of traveling by golf cart, but it's not for everyone. That's why we make our location and transportation options very clear to our guests on our property listings and again right after booking.

Mosquitoes are a common nuisance in tropical climates. Usually, you will not be bothered during the day, but just at dusk and nighttime. We also let our guests know about this ahead of time and recommend they bring insect repellant.

We're glad you enjoyed the snorkeling, the people, and Belizean cuisine which are truly some of the best things Belize has to offer! We hope you will give Belize another chance and visit again, but we also understand that Belize is not for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews