We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hol Chan Reef Villas
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at Hol Chan in the beginning of this year with some of my husband's family. The units are excellent. The place is nice and quiet, was very relaxing, just sorry we had to cut it so short. We had a great time and hope to come and visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We really can't say enough wonderful things about our stay at Hol Chan Reef Resort. It was beautiful, quiet, relaxing but there was plenty to do for an active family with two teenagers. The resort was very quiet and well maintained, our room was beautiful, the two pools were perfect for the kids and lounging, and we had kayaks, paddle boards and bikes available to us at anytime throughout the week. The short, albeit bumpy:) ride into town on the golf cart was great for trying different amazing food every evening and doing a little shopping/sight seeing. Sue and Joel did not steer us wrong with both restaurant recommendations and excursions. We did the snorkeling trip, reef fishing and beach BBQ. All were fabulous and we saw so many beautiful marine creatures snorkeling. Our fave was the beach BBQ which included snorkeling at three spots. I have to say the only thing that was a downside for us but not necessarily bad was not being able to walk out from beach to water and play in the waves but ...the paddle boarding, kayaking and pool made up for this. Also, being close to town and feeling safe enough to run, bike or golf cart there really gave us a different island/ beach experience then we have ever had when so often all there is just the beach and some overpriced touristy restaurants and souvenir shops that you have to drive to. We felt like we got to experience a different culture and foods and everyone was so friendly. We even accidentally overpaid at one restaurant and the owner came out and found us to refund our overpayment! We have to thank the resort managers Sue and Joel again for their hospitality and recommendations. They were always available for our multitude of questions and we really felt like guests in their home. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Actuary69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

So happy we chose Hol Chan Resort for our Belize Ambergris Cay Vacation! Sue and Joel were superb hosts and our condo was beautiful. We can't say enough about Chef Marfa either. Sue & Joel met us at the pier and as we walked into our condo, we could smell the marvelous aroma of Chef Marfa cooking dinner. She cooked breakfast and dinner each day and every meal was a delight. Joel asked what was our favorite restaurant and we HAD to reply, "Marfa and her son Alvaro!" he's shaping up to be a fine Chef like his mama. Though some additions and remodels were still in process, the resort was serene and comfortable. Even the maintenance staff are cordial and helpful. Everyone made us feel special. Thank you so much Hol Chan!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I highly recommend staying at Hol Chan Reef Resort. It's on a very nice, quiet part of the island and is directly across from the Hol Chan dive site. Sue and Joel were really wonderful and I hope to be lucky to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baishiwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I just returned from a week vacation at Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas and my only complaint is that I wish I could have stayed longer.
The location is perfect! It is only a short golf cart or bike ride to town, yet far enough to get the secluded/resort feeling. Which is a win-win in my book. You are literally on the water in front of Hol Chan Marine reserve. You won't realize how special Hol Chan is until you see it for yourself. The area is flourishing with different kinds of fish, sea turtles, sting rays, and SHARKS (docile nurse sharks, so don't let that deter you). The best part is you get to go in the water with these animals and see them up close and personal. Snorkeling, scuba or even both are highly recommended. Not to mention the wildlife has been known to swim right up to the dock. (Talk to Sue for the best excursions and trips.)
the amenities are also amazing. A beautiful palapa dock with lounge chairs and a hammock to relax on. There are two pools to wind down and relax in. One with a swim up bar complete with bar stools in the water and infinity edge. The beach area is huge and perfect for kids to play or just to relax under one of the large palapas. The lounge chairs are padded and very comfortable. There are even sea kayaks available for you to use. This was really cool, because you can practically kayak right out to the barrier reef.
The villas are all top of the line and have amazing views of the ocean. This is a fairly new resort, so you don't have to worry about dated appliances or old, beat up furniture. We honestly didn't spend much time inside, but it was nice knowing there were simple luxuries like a big screen tv, wifi and a/c waiting for us at the end of a fun and exhausting day. The natural breeze from the coast is actually better than the a/c in my opinion. Leaving the doors wide open and screens closed was an even bigger treat. Something about the breeze and soft roar of the waves crashing in the distance on the reef could lull me to sleep at any time of day. Now that is relaxation.
There is so much to do and see in Belize and most of the excursions will pick you up right from the dock. Whether you want an action packed vacation, a relaxing getaway or even a combination of both, this place has everything you need. Don't be afraid to just ask and you will be so glad that you did. I would definitely stay here again and can't wait to plan my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great views near Hol Chan dive site. Secluded but construction was occurring on both sides of resort as well as in the resort itself. Very distracting to have concrete drilling occur at 7:30 am until 5:00pm. No elevator yet so be prepared to walk up to your room.
That said, Sue and Omar took great care of us. Sue handled all if our plans quickly and never seemed to tire from our endless questions. We were very pleased with all her suggestions, she is great. Omar always was available to help with his wonderful smile and friendly manner.
Hol Chan Resort will certainly be a 5 rating once the construction is complete.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Sue and JOEL were absolutely fantastic and took great care of our large group. Condo was perfect, great condition, clean. Being outside the city is not a bad thing, as it's really great to be at calm and relax. Can't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.9 mi away
Athens Gate Beach Resort
Athens Gate Beach Resort
#3 of 54 in San Pedro
356 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Caribe Island Condos
Caribe Island Condos
#51 of 54 in San Pedro
64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mata Rocks Resort
Mata Rocks Resort
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hol Chan Reef Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hol Chan Reef Villas

Address: 3.5 Miles South of San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Milo's Hotel)
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $325 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A premier, 5-star rated destination in Ambergris Caye, Belize, Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas combines the solitude of private, luxurious accommodations with convenient proximity to restaurants and nightlife closer to town. While staying with us, you'll enjoy 3 amazing pools, complimentary kayak and paddleboard access, personal concierge and tour services, and luxurious, spa-like accommodations with everything you need to relax, unwind, and enjoy your Belize vacation! Located 3.5 miles south of San Pedro town, Hol Chan Reef Resort and Villas offers an elevator and two incredible rooftop decks that will WOW you with unobstructed, 360 degree views of the southern part of the island! Additionally, the very close proximity to two of Belize's PREMIER tour destinations - Hol Chan Marine Reserve and Shark / Ray Alley - means you don't have to go far for some of the best snorkeling and scuba diving in the world! For extra convenience, our onsite tour company will pick you up directly from our dock! Guests of Hol Chan Reef Resort and Villas love our close proximity and easy access to the heart of San Pedro town, while appreciating the relaxing, peaceful atmosphere that being far enough away from the action avails! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hol Chan Reef Villas Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing