We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
87
11
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
11
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchfirst floorample towelsgolf cartfrench doorsmake arrangementsblack orchidprivate poolbedroom condobumpy roadmiles south of townbeach areabelikin beerthe ground floorshallow watercome homecomforts of home
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great views near Hol Chan dive site. Secluded but construction was occurring on both sides of resort as well as in the resort itself. Very distracting to have concrete drilling occur at 7:30 am until 5:00pm. No elevator yet so be prepared to walk up to your room.
That said, Sue and Omar took great care of us. Sue handled all if our plans quickly and never seemed to tire from our endless questions. We were very pleased with all her suggestions, she is great. Omar always was available to help with his wonderful smile and friendly manner.
Hol Chan Resort will certainly be a 5 rating once the construction is complete.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMES S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Sue and JOEL were absolutely fantastic and took great care of our large group. Condo was perfect, great condition, clean. Being outside the city is not a bad thing, as it's really great to be at calm and relax. Can't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had an incredible stay here - the place is gorgeous, right on the water with a lovely dock & hut/hammock on the end, plus two pools. The unit we stayed in was on the 4th floor (3BR/2 bath), with spectacular views and was very clean with modern appliances (including dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer) - everything we needed to cook was there, and more. The caretakers Sue and Joel are absolutely amazing - helped us arrange golf carts, tours, groceries, etc. We had lots of questions for them and they answered them all.

Only downsides are that the resort is a bit far from San Pedro - 20-25 min golf cart ride - and the place is still in the final stages of construction. However, in the coming months they should have things under control! Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: The units on the top floor (4th) have great views though it's a lot of stairs to climb. We stayed in 4B facing the ocean - definitely better than units facing the road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addis450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hol Chan Reef Resort is an absolute wonderful place for a relaxing vacation. Stayed on the ground floor 1B and was able to walk straight out to the pool and pier-this was a great asset for this unit. Unit has 3 bedrooms and can sleep 6 adults. Patio on the roof for hosting and BBQing with great views.
Bikes available to guest, and kayaks. Pier with lounge chairs and hammock over the Caribbean.
Sue and Joel great with setting up adventures-snorkeling, mainland Belize cave tubing and Maya ruins sight seeing, and massages on the pier "Pier Bliss".

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our family needs a break from Seattle rain every Feb-March and this year we chose Hol Chan for our "shot of sunshine" week. We stayed 7 fabulous nights and had an absolute blast! The combination of clean, luxury accomodations, a variety of activities and genuine hospitality made this vacation a permanent bright spot in our family's memory!

We arrived to a stocked kitchen and fabulous smells of dinner cooking, thanks to our reasonably priced personal chef! Email ahead of time and you can set this all up! After a long day of travel, it was beyond wonderful to be greeted by an air-conditioned, clean, warmly decorated home and a hot, wholesome meal on the table! Everyone's beds were super comfortable & my husband and I appreciated having our own separate master suite. We have traveled a lot, but this condo was by far the nicest and the most homey-feeling.

Our boys are ages 13 and 10 & they were worn out by fun in the sun every day! Some days we went on excursions, like deep sea fishing, snorkeling with sharks and rays, and cave tubing... Other days it was nice to simply lounge by the infinity pool. We bought a big beach ball and played some "water polo", paddled on the SUPs, and adventured into town on our golf cart.

But what really made the vacation extra special was the genuine hospitality of the entire staff. Within a day or two, they all felt like family :) Sue and Joel, the managers, accomodated our every wish. I wanted to check out local meat and produce markets, so Sue obliged me with a morning trip into town. They also had great recommendations of "hole in the wall" local restaurants and food stands that were amazingly delicious and not-so-touristy. The caretaker staff were very friendly too... They respected our privacy when we were relaxing, but also helped us with our whims, like "can you cut us down some coconuts?" to practical matters like, "Can I borrow a broom?" Every morning we woke up to not only breathtakingly gorgeous sunrises, but also a freshly swept patio, clean pool, and SMILES.

The absolute only caution I'd mention: If you plan on traveling with family members who have pain issues, you may want to re-consider. The golf cart ride into town is very bumpy and could aggravate someone who has physical sensitivities.

My next plan is to hopefully come back SOON: It'd be an amazing getaway alone with other couples, just the two of us, or... a girlfriend getaway! Whatever your vacation plans, you seriously will be hard-pressed to find a better tropical getaway than Hol Chan and the San Pedro area!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor but heard zero noise from above us. You can request rooms on any level, based on your preference, and Sue will do her best to accomodate you.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ds3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews