We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
87
11
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
11
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchfirst floorample towelsgolf cartfrench doorsmake arrangementsblack orchidprivate poolbedroom condobumpy roadmiles south of townbeach areabelikin beerthe ground floorshallow watercome homecomforts of home
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hi!
We recently traveled back to Hol Chan Reef Resort for a two week vacation in February 2014. We had an amazing time and we were greeted with the upmost hospitality. The management staff (Sue and Joel) arranged for us to have a case of beer, a case of water, a nice fruit plate, and coffee in our condo to help get us settled in right away. We stayed at the Hol Chan in February of 2013 and we enjoyed all of the improvement to the facility and the management staff. Three new pools were added, several new tiki huts were added to the beach, new kayaks, new paddle boards, and a bunch of bicycles available for use! Almost all of the work on the second resort building has been completed and the condos are gorgeous!!
Sue and Joel are the top notch managers of the resort. They were always around to answer questions, give a recommendation, or to help you plan an excursion. Joel was great with understanding the guest desires and on several occasions asked us for our opinions on improvement ideas. It was great that Sue and Joel are so interested in the voice of their customers. Albeit, our wives can offer up some pretty expensive suggestions sometimes- lol.
One ask and Sue/Joel took care of everything for you in a jiff. In fact, we wanted some more Belikin beer and Joel delivered it right to our door. Sue helped us make arrangements for in house cooks (Maria week one and Marfa week two) during our stay to cook our own caught fish. They also cooked chicken and lamb for us and the food was just as amazing. Their company was just as enjoyable!
Patrick and Omar were great as well. They worked tirelessly to keep everything around the resort in great condition. They were always around for questions and advice about the island (i.e. were to go fishing off the beach to catch good fish!).
We fully enjoyed our stay at Hol Chan Reef Resorts. We made several new acquaintances and friends along the way as well. Truly a wonderful vacation in Belize!!

Read the review by Tony "Great Place to stay" He sums up everything perfectly. # 1 rule, Sue and Joel rock!

Sincerely,
Adam C

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrockeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Hol Chan Resort for a week in mid January. Despite the cloudy weather (we had only one day of full sun) we had a very enjoyable time. Our condo unit was on the 4th floor and the view from the balcony was fantastic! We enjoyed having our morning coffee outside watching the boats pass by and admiring the turquoise waters. Sue and Joel were the best hosts! They helped us in many ways....having our unit stocked with food and beverage upon our arrival, booking tours for us, arranging for taxi services and golf cart rental, hiring Marfa to cook a very delicious meal, suggesting great places to eat on the island, etc. Our unit was very clean and well maintained...beds were comfortable (most important!) Our snorkeling tour was the best ever....we saw large sea turtles, nurse sharks, rays, green eel, and tons of colorful small fish!
Fishing with Gavino was great, too.....we caught barracuda, which tasted wonderful lightly breaded and deep-fried, compliments of Marfa. If you are looking for great snorkeling and fishing, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and three kids ages 6, 8, and 10 actually just left the property yesterday. We stayed Feb 12-16 and we really had a good time. If you read the reviews about Belize, Ambergris, and this property, you won't have any unpleasant surprises. First of all, Sue and her husband Joel are the property managers and Sue is the one who keeps in contact with you and helps you to make arrangements before you even get to Belize. She was remarkably helpful and she made arrangements for our arrival, excursions, private chef, and any other things we needed. She also had great recommendations for local restaurants. The property is safe, beautiful and well maintained by a very good staff. Omar and Patrick do an excellent job taking care of the grounds and they are friendly and helpful. It's a GREAT location right on the beach with two beautiful swimming pools. There are plenty of places to relax in such a beautiful setting. The living space itself is stunning. We stayed in 1D, a 3 bedroom unit that's enough space for a family of 4 or 5 to live in for the rest of their lives. It's clean and well decorated and really a lot of bang for the buck, in my opinion. It's like if you lived in a really nice home right on the beach. The unit was stocked with plenty of towels, beach towels and other extras; big screens in every room, free wifi, everything you need. You can pay to have a cleaning person come in later and the price is good. You do have to understand that this is a vacation rental and not a hotel. If you want your bed made every morning or you want to call a front desk to have somebody to bring you a bottle of water at 2am, this isn't that kind of place. In fact, it's best to have Sue do some grocery shopping for you before you arrive so you can have whatever you want to eat or drink late at night or early in the morning. Read that last sentence again and do what I said, because you are 3.5 miles away from town. You have to travel to and from town in a golf cart on an unpaved road. Not a problem, but FYI. I thought it was a blast, especially since the weather was so great. If it rains, though, you are going to get wet. We had a lady named Marfa cook for us a couple of nights while we were there and her cooking was well worth it and the price was reasonable. Do yourself a favor and have this done. It's best to do this the first night you arrive so you don't have to go out and get something. It's just easier. You have a homecooked meal, done by a local, at a reasonable price and she cleans up as well. You will end up with leftovers in the fridge that will serve you well later. She even cooked the fish we caught! Any excursions you have arranged will pick you up at the dock which is right there in your back yard. The only negative point I can make is the fact that there was some construction going on and it would have been nice to know about that before booking. Sue and Joel were more than accommodating about that and it really wasn't a big deal. They were particulary apologetic about the construction going on in the front of the building, but why would you be looking out there anyway when you have beach and the Carribean out back to look at? Another thing to keep in mind is that this beach area, along with many beach areas in Ambergris, have sea grass, so it does not lend itself well to walking right out and getting in the water as one would classically think. At this property, there is a surf wall that separates the water from the property. I actually thought this was very attractive and not a problem at all and I sat out there every morning and watched the sun rise. There are plenty of places you can go to get in the sea if you want. The entire experience was great and when we return to Belize, I will stay at this property. Here's my final list of recommendations:
1. Rent the golf cart. You need it to get around. These are the cars of the island.
2. Do the Shark Ray Alley snorkel excursion. Amazing if you have never done this.
3. Have Marfa cook for you. It will cost just as much to eat out.
4. Bring some bug spray. I lost a pint of blood to mosquitos in Belize.
5. If you want to catch fish, go reef fishing. Deep sea is fun, but less chance to catch something
6. Eat breakfast at Estel's. It's awesome. FYI: cash only.
7. Lily's Treasure Chest. Great Food.
8. Listen to Sue. She knows what she's talking about.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the beach side of the property.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OhioTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

From the minute that we landed in San Pedro we knew it was exactly what we were looking for. The Hol Chan Reef Resort condo was perfect. It is new and the amenities offered are outstanding. The balcony views of the blue water and reef are breathtaking, especially the sunrise. We enjoyed several trips into the downtown area of San Pedro for meals, entertainment and shopping. Joel and Sue, the on site property managers, arranged a day of fishing with a private guide and boat that picked us up right at the pier at the condo. That evening we enjoyed the fish that we caught. They also arranged a Beach BBQ that included world class snorkeling at Mexico Rocks. This excursion included a stop at a beach for lunch of conch, lobster, shrimp and fish cooked by our guide. The weather was warm and sunny, a great escape from a cold, snowy Nebraska winter. The pool at the resort is beautiful and well maintained. This was our second trip to Hol Chan Reef Resort and we can't wait for the third!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBNebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Hol Chan Resort last month and it exceeded my expectations! The property managers, Sue and Joel, were so fantastic and helped me set up my excursions, which went flawlessly. I highly recommend Carlos with SUYA Tours who took me on a Beach BBQ w/snorkeling at Mexico Rocks. I also enjoyed the fun River Trip to Lamanai Mayan Ruins.

The accommodation was first rate- my ocean front room was clean and had a beautiful view. I loved spending time on the beach relaxing under the palapas or lounging around the great pools.

Sue and Joel recommended two restaurants not to miss: Robins for Jerk Chicken BBQ, and Pupuseria on Middle Street. I'm glad they did. You can trust them to lead you in the right direction; all you have to do is ask!

If you're on the fence about where to stay, look no further!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews