We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
87
11
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
11
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrum punchfirst floorample towelsgolf cartfrench doorsmake arrangementsblack orchidprivate poolbedroom condobumpy roadmiles south of townbeach areabelikin beerthe ground floorshallow watercome homecomforts of home
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 103 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the Hol Chan Reef Resort with another couple and we all had a great time! I can't say enough about Sue and Joel - we had to reschedule several of our tours on the fly due to weather, but they handled everything without a hitch. The resort is beautiful, the units are large, modern, and well furnished. The view from the balcony is spectacular, especially in the early morning. There are many exciting tours and activities that you can arrange for your stay. We enjoyed the fishing and the snorkeling a lot, and had a good experience with the Lamanai tour. There are a surprising number of excellent restaurants near by, from simple local eateries (Do NOT miss the chicken at Robin's Kitchen) to modern find dining. All in all a great place and a great time!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a unit facing the water.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I had the most amazing time at Hol Chan Reef resort. The accommodations were first rate and we loved the views and the pool. We also had the opportunity to do some day excursions during our visit, and the onsite managers, Sue and Joel, did a fantastic job of setting these up for us and making sure everything went without a hitch. Can’t say enough good things about this place and we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place. Perfect beach and pool that were very private, the accommodations were great having room to spread out with the three nicely furnished bedrooms, and easy access to water activities (kayaking, personal boat pick up @ private dock, and fishing day trips). Thanks to Joel and Sue for making our first vacation with 9 month old enjoyable and relaxing. Its far enough from town to feel remote and private but close enough for a quick lunch and cocktails while shopping.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank jujubean30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We celebrated our 50th Anniversary by taking our 2 sons and their families to this outstanding, luxury, upscale place. There were 5 members in each family and they stayed in 2 different, spacious units. One family included 3 large teenage boys and their parents. These units were very large, 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, & a washer & dryer (at no additional charge); a large kitchen that connected with a family/living room; very comfortable & plenty of room for all of them.

Also available to guests were kayaks, paddle boards, & bicycles, at no additional charge. We went on snorkeling, beach barbecue, & fishing trips with Suya Tours. It is so convenient as they will pick you up at the pier at Hol Chan Reef Resort. Snorkeling was fantastic; swimming with the stingrays & nurse sharks & all the other brilliant, colored fish was unbelievable!!!

My teenage Grandsons also enjoyed the reef fishing and Barracuda fishing. They brought the fish caught to a local restaurant (Lone Star Grill); and that evening we had fresh fish tacos and grilled fish. What a life!!!

Property Managers, Joel & Sue Petrie, were very gracious hosts. They were so helpful to assist us in any way possible. One family was arriving late in the evening, and the next day was Christmas day; so Sue offered to buy some supplies for Christmas Day, in case the stores were closed for the holiday. With so many of us, coming and going, at different times, Joel & Sue had to guide us and answer many of the same questions over & over; but they were always cordial & friendly.

As one of the other reviewers said, "You do not come to Belize for the beaches; the second longest barrier reef in the world; which is just offshore, makes for world-class fishing, snorkeling & diving, but not great beaches." However, the beach area at Hol Chan Reef Resort is well maintained. There is sea grass near the shore to support the ecosystem; so we swam off of the dock in the warm, shallow water.

As Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas are 3.5 miles south of San Pedro, we rented golf carts for our stay, so we could go to town to shop and go to the local restaurants. This is a very safe area traveling back and forth on golf carts; and all the Grandkids thought it was a fun way to travel. People that live in this area are all very friendly and helpful.

The only problem with this trip: It was not long enough!!! We all hope to repeat this trip and definitely stay at HOL CHAN REEF RESORT & VILLAS!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a wonderful place to vacation. Sue and Joel were great! When I didn't know what scuba dive I wanted to take, Sue did and she booked the greatest dives I have every done. The visiblity was unbeliveable and the marine life was incredible. The dive master was great. But best of all when we returned from our great adventures we always felt like it was home. Something for everyone at Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas be sure to pack your adventure hat. We had a wonderful 10 days there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews