We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lot Bad, Very Little Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Lot Bad, Very Little Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Tang December 5-13, 2006. Our room was clean, albeit dated, the woodwork inside was beautiful. and the beds comfortable with plenty of pillows. However, our jacuzzi tub wouldn't hold water, and the location is very noisy. The Blue Tang is located at the end of the street where all the locals access the beach with their golf carts and it is the main route for workers accessing the water taxis. We were awakened by 7 a.m. each morning by voices and noise and there was traffic well into the evenings, especially on weekends. There was also an irritating small dog across the street that barked endlessly. They also advertised a private balcony which is really the walkway to your room with two chairs outside the door. The breakfast was tasty but you better get there early cause once its gone, they do not replinish the supply. Watch out if you let the hotel book your flight from Belize City to San Pedro. We were charged almost double to what some of the other hotels were charging their guests for the same 20 minute flight. Although the maids had clean towels at the ready, we almost had to beg for soap. There are no TV's in the rooms. If you want one, you can "rent" a small one for $10/day. A load of laundry will cost you $7.50. They do have a small library in the office area that offers reading material. The grounds themselves were very well groomed, the pool clean (but cold) and the office does supply beach towels. It is within walking distance of several excellent restaurants, including Calientes, Elvies, and the Blue Reef. For the price, there are several other hotels, away from the noise and traffic that would have made our vacation much more relaxing and restful.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank Wannabee04/12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    122
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
111
226
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2007

If you are going to Ambergris Caye, consider this hotel. The suites are very comfortable, quiet and near the edge of town, so you safely walk the beaches at night. Real nice private facility with charm. Not a chain, thank goodness, and not so large that you are just another number.

  • Liked — Colorful surroundings, location, friendly staff.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussianRiverWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2006

The Blue Tang had amazing service and it was a beauiful property! Close to everything and just a short walk from Wet Willy's! Highly recommended place to stay by me as well as the other 24 people that I went with!

  • Liked — The service and the people
  • Tips/Secrets — Sign up for excursions to Lamanaii, Robles, and Shark Ray Alley
  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilchica171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2006

We stayed at this boutique hotel for a few days over Christmas. It has the potential to be a great place, but was lacking in some areas. The place was a bit worn, with tiles missing, etc. in the entrance way, and the air conditioner in our unit didn't work at all. (We were actually OK with just the sea-breeze, but did inform management anyway.) A guest left an empty bowl of salsa on the patio table outside our room, and it was never picked up by the cleaning staff - after 2 days, we finally gave it to them. We did like having a kitchenette in our unit though, and being on the 3rd floor allowed us views of the water over the palm trees . Some of the staff was extremely helpful; others were just OK. We rented bikes from the hotel for a day (lots of fun!), and Alan arranged a snorkeling trip for us. Breakfast of rolls, juice and coffee was included in the rate, but if you didn't get down there early, you missed out; replenishment was spotty. I wasn't thrilled about the 10% "service fee" included on our bill. (That would have amounted to $17.50 per night ---for what??). I asked to have it removed, and instead tipped the individual people who were genuinely helpful to us. I understand the owners are American, but they were not present during our stay. I think it would behoove them to get down there and keep a closer eye on their property.

  • Liked — Location on the beach.
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to detail.
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BertieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

We were recently married at the Blue Tang Inn (see Mother-In-Law review below) and the staff were amazing. We had a wedding that no one will ever forget. Many of our guests said that it was the most fun they have ever had at a wedding and several others thanked us multiple times for having our wedding in Belize. I know that much of this was due to the wonderful staff at the Blue Tang Inn! I tell everyone who asks about Belize about how hard the staff at the Blue Tang Inn worked to make our wedding day a beautiful and memorable event.

Everything about the Blue Tang Inn exceeded my expectations, especially the service. The staff helped us out with everything - from setting up excursions to tracking down wedding guests to making restaurant recommendations and reservations to cleaning up after us - they did all this and much more with a smile.

The accommodations were nice, clean and comfortable and the roof deck has an amazing view - we watched several sunsets from the roof deck with a cold Belikin beer in hand - ahh. We filled the entire Inn with our wedding guests and everyone seemed pleased with their accommodations. One of the reasons I choose the Blue Tang Inn was for its in-town location which turned out to be a great decision - myself and wedding guests appreciated that we could easily walk to many shops, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charmcitycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

This is a nice property that allows you easy access to town and also to the dive boat docks. The room I stayed in featured a kitchenette and was a decent bargain. The ammenities are a bit aged, and the rooms could use some updating, but I was comfortable and would stay here again based on convenience. I complained to mgmt about a noisy a/c on the first day and they got someone in there promptly to make an adjustment, although it didn't help all that much. But they tried, and the room did stay nice and cool the entire stay. The rooms do not feature satellite TV's, which is something I would expect for rooms of this price range, but it certainly wasn't something I missed very much.

Helpful?
3 Thank cosmicmessenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Blue Tang Inn for our honeymoon, and we LOVED it! The hotel is a pefect size (only 15 rooms), and it is located right on the beach. It is on the north side of San Pedro, away from the busy tourist center of town (but only a few blocks away) and right next to the more interesting locals neighborhood. Beautiful landscaping, a private pool, a roof deck to watch sunsets and sunrises and extremely friendly staff (not to mention beautiful rooms) set the Blue Tang Inn apart from the others. We will definitely return--we already feel as if we're part of the family!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing