We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience...great place and great service”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful Experience...great place and great service”
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I stayed at the Blue Tang Inn with a couple of friends. We had a great time. The service is friendly and very helpful. It is in a great location if you want to be in walking (on the beach) distance to local bars and restaurants. The hotel has a nice pool that is great to read by and cool off in the afternoon. The beach is right in front of the hotel. It is fun to snorkel off of the docks and you can rent the equipment from the hotel front desk. I would recommend friends and family to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieg9546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    126
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
118
236
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, CT, USA
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My sister and I (Nnalee) stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. I never saw a hotel where you saw someone cleaning almost all the time you were there. The grounds were immaculate. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The view from the rooftop deck is phenomenal - you can see a lot of Ambergris and the mainland. The pool was spotless. 2 supermarkets are 1 block away. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunrise2748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We were 3 couples and liked that we could walk to bars, restaurants and shops. You can walk along the beach, or through the streets. The Inn is right on the beach, so you can relax on lounges or go for a swim. I recommend that you rent the golf cart for a day of exploring the island. Going North the roads are really hard to traverse, but we did it and had a terrific lunch at Rojo. All the staff were terrific. Fanny and Allan were especially quick to help with anything we asked. We did a snorkeling trip with David aboard the Inn's beautiful wooden sailboat & highly recommend it. We loved that the guests socialized with each other- breakfast around the pool, BYO cocktails on the roof deck at sunset. This is the place to stay if you want a homey, friendly, small hotel where you can relax, and yet be close to the action in town. There are so many places to eat that we never did cook in the room kitchen, but it was nice to have the fridge to keep our Belikins cold! We certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newenglander24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! The grounds were beautiful. The employees were very hardworking and extremely friendly. We had 3 different rooms. The one was kind of small but was still good. We loved that it was quieter than when we stayed on beach in town. The rooms had a full kitchen. We would definitely stay there again and I'm pretty picky.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We spent 4 days and 3 nights at the Blue Tang. The quality of hotel for price paid was great. The shared public pool area/breakfast/and entry off the beach was alway super clean and kept up everyday. The pool was small, but perfect size for the number of guests, we never saw more than 3-4 other people by the pool at one time. The breakfast was small, but perfect if you don't need a large american breakfast. Usually a main carb. like pancakes or waffles, fresh fruit, cold ceral, bread or toast and then beverages of tea, coffee and juice. The best part of the place was probably the service. The staff was always very quick to help out and get us anything we needed. The rooms were always keep clean each day. They washed our clothes even when we had technicly check out. They have a golf cart to rent our for $10 an hour which is actually the cheapest we found on the island. The rooms were simple but great for the price. Nothing fancy but the kitchen and refrigerator came in perfectly. If you want to save money on beverages, it is best to buy in larger qunatities as long as you have a refrigerator to keep them cool.
Location is not in the middle of the action, but a great place if you want ot be away from the older crowd. And only a 5-10 minute walk if you do need to get to that part of the beach. In a 2 week period this was the best place per price that we stay at.
would go back anytime.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beez22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

A group of 21 of us -- we all felt very welcomed. Happy Hour with shrimp cerviche and drinks on the top deck on the afternoon when we arrived. Cold soda and beer waiting in our fridge. Grocery stores nearby -- kitchens in suites were well stocked. . . easy to cook group meals, make nachos, blend up drinks. Suites are nicely decorated; have charm. Restaurants. . . a 5 minute walk away. Bring ear plugs if the nearby Wet Willy's might bug you when you sleep. The Blue Tang's staff was excellent -- carried all our scuba gear up and down, always cleaning the pool, fetching beach towels, making up our beds, even cleaning dishes. Very easy to work reservations people for BZE to San Pedro flight, taxis, etc. By the way, the divemasters Mike and Juan at Amigos Del Mar were tops with our dive group. Dive shop picked all of us divers up at the pier, or we could walk to dive shop - just 3 minutes away. Kept us entertained, brought chum for the nurse sharks, did everything for setting up/taking down/rinsing dive gear, remembered our names, knew whose fins/masks/BCs were whose. A great vacation all around.

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
Thank diversgalore1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Because the folks at the Blue Tang Inn made everything easy. There wasn't anything they couldn't arrange, stop, fix, suggest or help with - from getting in to the country to getting to and from the airport to restaurant suggestions and reservations to diving and nightlife. They even arranged for cold drinks to be placed in our refrigerators when we arrived.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XAHTEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,042 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
531 reviews
3.5 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing