We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bob & Angela...MS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bob & Angela...MS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our home away from home...always a perfect vacation even after 15+ yrs coming back. Fanny and Allan are always so accommodating - booking bone fishing and beach barbeque excursions, even advertised an "0" birthday celebration during our stay in March. Blanca, Amelia and Carmen keep the rooms sparkling and brought flowers to welcome us back. Carmen makes the best fryjacks and pancakes for breakfast!! The grounds/pool/beach are kept up beautifully. The location is the best...restaurants, live music, dive shops, spas are within walking distance. We love the Blue Tang Inn and Ambergris Caye!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view of the sea and hammocks...lower street side room has access to the friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555Angela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    118
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
107
220
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wifeand I found Blue Tang Inn by reading the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. They were so good that we were skeptical, at first. We called Kristin, who gave us a very good feeling about the hotel and its staff, so we booked a week there in July. The hotel is beautifully maintained by a friendly and helpful staff. You can't say enough about the location. It is an easy walk to everything in San Pedro. Excellent restaurants are minutes away, and there are plenty of them. The rooms are essentially suites, with king-sized beds and full kitchens. They are kept immaculately clean. Every morning breakfast is served out by the pool. There is good coffee, juice, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, and either waffles or pancakes. You can't beat it. We enjoyed a snorkling trip out to the reef on the hotel's sailboat. I recommend the snorkeling trip. We had a bit of rain early in our stay, and the hotel provided umbrellas for the guests. In a nutshell, we would return to Blue Tang Inn tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Norman,
Thank you for the great feedback regarding your stay at Blue Tang Inn! Your experience highlighted the many things we love about Blue Tang Inn, as well! We love our staff and all they do for our guests! Our guests develop wonderful relationships with our staff and feel like family as they return year after year. Glad to hear you enjoyed the location and easy proximity to many wonderful restaurants in San Pedro. And the Sirena Azul is always a highlight for snorkeling or a sunset sail.
Thanks for the post! We appreciate it.

Kristin Lamoureux
Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I visited Blue Tang Inn in November, 2012. Blue Tang Inn was pretty nice, especially because of the location (right near the ocean front walkway) and the roof deck. The property has a small clean pool and basic breakfast (fruit, toast, coffee). The front desk was helpful when asked for information on tours and diving. Rooms were cabana-like, with a cozy feel. There is AC and a kitchenette. Bathroom is basic.

I think it's important to realize that this area of San Pedro does not have a typical beachfront, there is no swimming access to the water and although there is sand, it is more like a mix of sand and dirt. The sea is more like a marsh with a rock wall build up near it and lots of boat docks. There is a walkway that goes down the oceanfront passed stores, restaurants, and nightclubs. Most visitors take part in water sports like scuba diving, snorkeling, boat tours, etc. It is not a typical beach vacation, which was surprising to me. The overall feel of the place is pretty gritty-- don't expect 5 start restaurants or lux shopping. But if you want loud music and lots of pinneaple and rum you're set. Also, the conch dishes are great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 80wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
San Pedro Town is a traditional fishing village that tourists fell in love with. You can walk the beach through downtown and its line with docks where the dive shops and tour operators are located. Blue Tang Inn is located on the North end of downtown and does have a nice beach in front with palm trees. The water is clear and shallow. Its best to swim off the end of the pier to the right of us, where the water is deeper and there are steps for easy access out of the water. The photos on our web site show it best.
Ambergris Caye is not the typical miles of white sand beach like found in other Caribbean destinations, but the town is very charming and you'll feel part of the local culture and experience during your time with us. It's very authentic and lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Blue Tang was perfect! It's small and quaint, with a really nice staff! All of the people we meet on San Pedro were very friendly, but Allan and Franny and Alfonso and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. They hooked us up with a really great dive operation named Chuck and Robbies, and we really got a lot of great dives in while we were there. The Blue Tang is very low key, so it was fun and relaxing at the same time. If you're looking for a snooty, fancy hotel this is not for you, but if you want a comfortable, clean room right on the beach with a really nice staff this is the place to stay!
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Blue Tang Inn is small, charming, clean and has a great location on San Pedro. Allan and Franny are wonderful hosts and they are definitely to people to book your tours with. They know the area well and we had no problems with any of our snorkeling or other tours. We even went out on the sailboat owned by Blue Tang. The kitchens in the rooms make it easy with children.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay again when visiting and diving or snorkeling in Belize.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After landing at the airport in San Pedro, called the Blue Tang, and someone came and picked us up. Found out we could have walked there, but you really don't want to walk the streets and beach with your luggage in tow. The hotel is clean, and the entire staff is friendly and courteous. Had some good recommendations for tours and restaurants from the front desk. We wanted some local cuisine and there are plenty of choices. We were close to a lot of conveniences like a grocery store, pharmacy, and ATM. Although it was the rainy season, one morning our 1/2 day snorkel tour was cancelled, and we just sat and relaxed. Belize is a great place for couples with all the water activities. Going to the mainland takes about an hour on boat, so know that when planning trips to see the Mayan sites. If you land at the Belize airport, you can take the local airline and takes 15 minutes to San Pedro. By boat, 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Overall, we highly recommend the Blue Tang Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuyMuySuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Not once did we feel like we were strangers. Allan, Fanny and Kristin really do make you feel like you are welcomed. The rooms were good sized and clean. Love having kitchens in the rooms. So you could have some of your meals in the comfort of your room. Also loved laying by the pool and hearing the local children playing in the ocean. I like taking an afternoon nap in the sun, but not in the sand. Robbie & Chucks Dive operation and Wet Willy's Smokehouse were a great recommendation and would go there again. When you travel, you are never quite sure what to expect, YES I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks for everything Allan, Fanny and Kristin. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: There was no bad room. You pay extra for the better view. Better views are in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
6.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Property: Blue Tang Inn
Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing