We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks in paradise”
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Tang Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in #14 which is deluxe without the ocean view. My only regret on the ocean view is that the front rooms are the only ones that have hammocks. It would have been nice on a lazy afternoon to be in the hammock. If returning we would opt for the ocean side. Our room was nice, a bit small but it was only us. The bed was pretty firm so if thats a problem I am not sure if they are different in the rooms. May be a good question. The staff kept the grounds and rooms very clean. Both the grounds crew and the office staff were extremely helpful and pleasant although i can be a bit OCD when trying to organize the trips we were going to take. All smiles and continued to help until we figured out exactly what we wanted to do. This was an extremely laid back atmosphere. The hotel is very close to downtown and allows for walking around to most places. If you didnt want to walk there was a golf cart rental available as well which we used a few times. We would definitely recommend the Blue Tang Inn for couples looking for some relaxation and a slower pace.

Room Tip: I would only stay on the 3rd floor ocean side if we returned. Dont stay on the 1st floor. It is extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jequie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 528 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came to San Pedro a day earlier than expected and checked into a room right by the ferry dock for the first day since we werent due at Blue Tang until the next day. We put up our luggage and walked down to Blue Tang to let them know we made it to San Pedro early and were surprised to have Allan tell us he could take us a day early. We ran back to the not so great place we were going to stay at and moved to Blue Tang. Thank gosh!!!!! It is so close to town but at the end of the busy area so there was no noise or harassment from anyone.
They were unexpectedly doing some re-painting and it was a little loud during the day but never disturbed us. Because of the work, the offered us four hours of complimentary gold cart or kayak use. We used the golf cart and got to see the north part of the island.
From the front desk staff, to the housekeepers to the groundskeepers and security guards, we were treated so well that I can honestly say this hotel made our stay worth the trip!
The rooms are so well equipped and comfortable, the breakfast is a great touch and the bottled water so appreciated.
I cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: We were upstairs in room 9. Great view and large comfy room! We made friends with the people in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmybullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We intended to stay 3 or 4 nights and we ended up staying 7 nights. The whole atmosphere was pleasant. The decor was cheerful. The rooms and grounds were immaculate. The office staff, grounds crew and maids were extremely pleasant and helpful. The rooms were large and well equipped. The complimentary breakfast was a very nice touch. We sat in the covered thatched- roof eating area, right on the beach, and watched the morning foot traffic go bye. NIce way to start the day. The location is close to town and close to 2 grocery stores. The free ride to and from the Water Taxi was very considerate. I highly recommend the Blue Tang Inn for your stay in San Pedro. I know you will enjoy as we did.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annconner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for sharing your great experience at Blue Tang Inn on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate when our guests let other's know what they enjoyed. We will share this with our entire staff, as they all are part of keeping the hotel beautiful and our guests happy!.
Thanks again!
Kristin Lamoureux
Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The first time we stayed at Tang was 3 years ago and we have gone back every year. We keep pictures of the hotel in our bedroom at home to remind us of this wonderful respite and the people that care for it. From the first time we walked into the beach hotel from the beach we felt like we were walking into a Grand Hollywood Hotel. The view coming down the grand stairs over looking the crystal blue ocean is unbelievable. All of the staff; from house keeping to the front desk are wonderful. They go out of their way to make things comfortable with our stay as well as help us with events around the island. We had a problem with one of the local banks and the staff called the bank and drove us in the golf cart to get it straight, The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We always sleep well and enjoy waking up to fresh fruit and pastries around the pool. When its time to leave we feel like we are leaving old friends behind. Each year when we return we are glad to see the same faces welcoming us home again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are better for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank local003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location is ideal-right on the beach with a small pool and 10min walk to the city centre. Taxi is covered to and from the airport and the cab driver Reuben is a nice guy. Choose a room on the second or third floor. We had rm 8 which was a garden room with a kitchen and good sized washroom. Grocery stores are 2min walk so good if you want to do some cooking but great food out there so really not necessary. Front desk was very helpful and recommended some good local places to eat. Cons include front desk has limited hrs,sheets had stains on them and continental breakfast was below average (fruit was not fresh). Overall for $100US it is very good value.

Room Tip: ask for room 8!!! view is ok but rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hova_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Blue Tang Inn last September for 6 days. I returned with family for 10 days this September and we stayed in five of the rooms at the Inn. My family enjoyed themselves and were as impressed with the Inn as I was. Last year I did not write a review on the Inn as what more can you say that has not already be written in the past reviews. Instead I reviewed the Sirena Azul their sailboat. This year I feel compelled to review the staff. The reason we returned this year and will go back next, is the staff of the Inn. I have not stayed at a resort or inn that gives you the service and commitment of the staff to their jobs as you will experience at the Blue Tang Inn. Allen and Fanny took care of all the arrangement's in booking our rooms, flight arrangement's to the Caye, transportation to and from the airport, snorkel trips on the Sirena Azul, gear, fishing trip, gulf carts, ect.. One of our group left their i phone on the balcony. The next morning Eric sought out who's phone it was and returned it to them. Where does that happen? After our fishing trip Adolfo and Victor set up the grill and tables, then barbecued the fish and lobster for the next two nights for my family. Housekeeping every morning in addition to keeping the rooms spotless counted out all the dishes, silverware, pots and pans that we had mixed up the night before to make sure each room had the proper amount so there would not be additional charges for missing items. My point is that enough has been reviewed about the inn and rooms. But it is the staff that keeps me coming back to this Inn. No where in my travels have I experienced a staff that goes the extra mile for the customer as I have seen at the Blue Tang Inn. Whatever management is doing for their employees to keep them that focused on serving the customer keep it up, its definitely working.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastiedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Owner at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at Blue Tang Inn on TripAdvisor. Thank you for acknowledging our staff in such a complimentary way. We will share this review with all the staff at Blue Tang Inn. It is a very special place to own and work and our staff are a big part making it that way. We look forward to hosting your family again next year!!
-Kristin
Sales & Marketing Director, MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just spent 6 nights at Blue Tang after originally planning to just spend 3-4! Our room was #1 on the first floor and we had views of the ocean and pool. It was spacious with a table for 4, full kitchenette that was also very well equipped plus a full size refrigerator. The bed was a comfy king size with soft pillows and the bath was large with great water pressure and it was always hot!!!!! The A/C along with the fans made for very well rested evenings. The hotel provides a light, continental breakfast each morning. The staff is just phenominal and at the risk of accidentally leaving anyone out let me just say from the friendly housekeeping staff, to the guys that maintain the property and keep it very private in such a fabulous location right up to Allen and Fanny in the office you can not ask for more! The location is also perfect - right on the beach and in town so everything is within walking distance. The Blue Tang goes above and beyond from the point of arrival with Ruben, a local taxi driver, awaiting your arrival right up to the moment of your departure. I realize this review just covers our room but in getting to know all the other guests we were all complimenting our accomodations - book with confidence if you visit Ambergris Caye.

The staff can also help book all your excursions and on site they have great prices for golf cart rental, kayaks and bikes. The Blue Tang also offers complimentary bottled water coolers on all 3 levels for their guests! Again...AMAZING Hotel! Thanks to the owners and staff - you are a treasure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlcgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor for Blue Tang Inn and our staff. Other guests find this so helpful when looking for a great place to stay on Ambergris Caye! We will share your compliments with the entire staff. Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
-Kristin
Sales & Marketing Director, MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,054 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Colony Island Villas
Grand Colony Island Villas
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 54 in San Pedro
1,305 reviews
3.2 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#16 of 54 in San Pedro
879 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: $114 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing