We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located on the beach but a 2* feel. Free rum punch daily!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I expected more for the cost. It covered all the basics with a beach front location, a pool, AC, daily maid service and free rum punch.
Rooms are very crampt and walls paper thin that you could here the tv and conversations next door.
Breakfast was bread, peanut butter, jam and a small fruit selection and coffee. I have had better in hostels.
Bar by pool didn't have a great selection of food but had snacks e.g nachos, chips n dip. There were nice drink options. Bar staff friendly and is a great place to meet other hotel guests with the layout.

Free rum punch daily from 12-6 was a very nice touch but needed so u can forget about the poor to non existent breakfast and noisy nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 459 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

I've stayed at the Corona del Mar before so I knew the place well. The location is perfect, just a short walk into town. The staff at the Corona del Mar take their job very seriously and from the bartenders to the cleaning crew and the front desk, all are great.
I was on the 3rd floor looking at the ocean for 9 nights in Dec. Just to open the doors in the early morning and let the air come in, wonderful. I even got a few games of horseshoes with Frank (the legend). Thanks

Room Tip: ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Best winter vacation ever! It's so relaxing to stay here, thanks to all the friendly staff. They were so helpful. Be sure to see detective Kenny at the bar or pitch horse shoes with Frank. The property has a pier in front so you can book all your water activities and jungle excursions on site. Corona Del Mar has everything that an expensive hotel has and more! Thanks for the hospitality guys! We"ll be back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The room is decent. Don't expect resort luxury. It's fairly clean, safe, hot shower, etc. All you really need when traveling to Belize. If you're staying in the room the whole time, you're doing something wrong when you visit Belize.

The staff that worked there was extremely wonderful and friendly. I know them all by name and they know me. I'd stay there again just for the friendliness you receive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 904NicoleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked a trip last minute with no other accommodations available and stayed for 8 days here. I cannot say enough about Kenny and Margie...they were amazing and as a solo traveler were so welcoming. I LOVE them. Margie deserves some sort of aware or raise for what she does...such a trooper and she loves her bar and are and wants it to be the best and is so proud of it. I love her, she is amazing. The rooms were okay, but really who cares where you are staying because you are outdoors the entire time. And really for the price they were really nice. All-in-all...it's the people you're around and not where you lay your head down at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

As many other reviewers have noted, the staff here are just terrific--SO nice and helpful!! In terms of reviews that noted problems, I avoided these by a) paying for a better room ($187 in peak season) and asking for only an updated one; b) getting a room that was not facing out on to the pool, where the bar and noise is. I stayed in room 205 (206 looked like the mirror image when I peaked in). This room (with ocean view and balcony) was in the north building--a building that was separate from the one with the pool. I think the garden view rooms may also be the noisy building, but not sure). I recall someone writing something about being in the "right" building, so look for that review (and maybe similar other ones) and see if what I'm saying is the same. There were also non-view rooms in that building, so maybe you can get a cheaper updated room as well in that building. Do note that there was neither a coffee/tea maker in the room, nor a hair dryer. They need to take that off of the amenity list. Wifi wasn't consistently working, but tolerable. Don't expect much of a continental breakfast--consisted of fresh fruit, coffee, toast, and peanut butter and jelly.

In addition to the staff, the fridge and microwave were invaluable. And if you like to party during the day, the FREE rum punch (how cool is that?) made available during the day was super yummy, and not at all wimpy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurietjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a week in room 206 - fantastic! Clean, well kept, and well worth the money. The people there were fantastic: Happy Man, Margie, Kenny, Marlemi and the rest of the staff. Rum punch all day, and hammocks that will suck you in...:)

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the ocean front rooms....well worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 53 in San Pedro
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramon's Village Resort
Ramon's Village Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: $73 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments, your home away from home. A nice beautiful 15 minutes walk along the beach to town. Not too far from town but yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy our free rum punch and fruit punch all day long. Once you are here, leave everything to us. We guarantee your vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Hotel And Apartments
Corona Del Mar San Pedro
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing