We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corona was everything I expected and more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Corona was everything I expected and more.”
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We are a couple in our 50's who wanted to go snorkeling and have a relaxing vacation. We arrived mid afternoon from a resort hotel stay further up north and was pleasantly surprised by this quaint hotel.
Greeted by a large glass of rum punch by Franco the maintance and grounds keeper we were taken upstairs to our sunset /lagoon view room and no sooner that I stepped in and asked about the ocean view room Ernesto offered us an upgrade without cost. An ocean view room .
We had perfect view of the ocean with 2 doors opening up to a balcony, queen size bed, tv. dresser, mirror, table and chairs, a sink as you walked in with a frig and basic bathroom ( toilet and shower)
Next day we went down by 7 am to breakfast and we were greeted with a wonderful breakfast of wheat bread, banana and dark bread, boiled eggs, cereal, milk, cut up pineapple, papaya, watermelon, oranges , whole bananas and fresh coffee and fruit punch.
You could sit inside the lobby and meet some of the guests or outside to eat or take to your room and have as much as you wanted. We usually came back down with our laptops and met quite a few guests with common interests.
Pamela one of the managers set us up with Lil Alphonse for 2 tours that were just amazing to Hol Chan and Shark and Sting ray alley plus Mexico and Mata Rocks.
At the end of the pier there was a nice thatched palapa and hammock ,4 beach chairs and a large roped area to go swimming which I absolutely loved. Clean and without the grass normally seen by the shore.
The beach area also had a volleyball net which guests had fun using during their stay along with the horshoe pit.
This was one of 3 hotels we stayed at and we loved this one the best because of the staff and the breakfast and free rum punch.
In fact after we had gone to our 3rd hotel we came back to visit on our bikes and partook in Pamela's birthday celebration, free rum punch , cake and ceviche.
The only downfall is if you enjoy having a pool there is none and even the one to use next door isn't much. We stayed 3 nights here and moved on to Xanadu for another 3 nights and missed the ambience that the staff and this hotel offered.
At times the tv was on too loud in the lobby but I asked politely to turn it down and they did .
There were 3 restaurants within 20 feet from the hotel, George's Kitchen, Monkey Bites and a really good Pizza place.
Next time we visit Ambergris Caye we are planning to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank islabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    133
    58
    23
    18
See reviews for
59
173
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

We came for one week with our family of 6 hoping to beat the tourist season crowds. Unfortunately the previous month's hurricanes had caused quite a bit of damage to the wharf and beach. The unit next door was under constant construction so rather than a peaceful sea, our view was of a large, noisy barge with a crew constantly hauling in supplies. We did our best to ignore that (and the daily rain) - but the real problem was that the help seemed to have taken over the lobby and empty guest rooms for their private use. Although for half of the week we were the only guests, but we never had quiet access to the lobby or the beach cabana. The office was generally locked up early so the staff could entertain their guests. The hammock was occupied by the workers every night so we gave up trying to use it. They didn't even try with the breakfast after the other guests left on our second day there. I'm sure during the slow season it is just too tempting for the staff to take over the place for personal use. Although the staff were not unfriendly or rude, it made for an awkward and uncomfortable stay for us. We definitely will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Prescotttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Based on high reviews on this website, I booked my stay at Ambergris Caye in the Corona del Mar. I stayed there for five nights in a seafront suite on the second floor.
Overall, it was an above average experience.

Advantages:
Slightly away from the more crowded center of town. Yet not far enough away where you have to take a water taxi.
Seafront balcony with a sunsoaked vista.
Breakfast included- banana bread, fruits, coffee, punch, toast.
Plenty of space for an extended stay.
Very friendly, personable staff- they even did my laundry when I got there.
The A/C can make the place as cold as you want.

Disadvantages:
The kitchenette feature isn't all the useful considering groceries in San Pedro are around 50% more than in the US.
(It still may be cheaper than eating out in San Pedro, where an average dish on the oceanfront is around 15$ US).
Since you can't swim in the ocean in San Pedro (full of reeds and grasses), you may not want to pay to be right on the ocean. If you are staying for an extended time, lodging one avenue inward will save money.
If you are looking for a real upscale hotel with a pool and its own resturant, this isn't it.

I hope this review helps. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ezschaef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

After a long week of everything that has to be done the week before a wedding, my new wife and I were ready to relax. It was a short plane ride to Belize from Detroit and we didn't get to rest much there either. We took a water taxi to the hotel (if you tip the boat man you no longer have to worry about seats or luggage, vary nice). Finally at the hotel, check in was a breeze and we were escorted to our room. It is a bit larger than I expected. The bedroom is ice cold because of the window ac unit, like another country. The room has everything we need, coffee maker, stove, fridge, bed, and Spanish TV. The style is a little out dated, but nice. If you're looking for a five star resort this ain't it. there are some holes and some rust, but it's overall clean and very quiet, oh, thats because we are the only guests in the hotel. Frank does everything for us and we finally get a shower and some rest. even though we are the only ones there they still put out a great, free, breakfast and the best beach within walking distance. we are told it is because of a recent hurricane. The front desk can get you hooked up with the right travel guides and I do recommend it (in another review). All in all great views, good close food and a clean, cold room. What more could you want?

  • Liked — View, location, service
  • Disliked — a little run down, rust, holes
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

If you want the BEST rooms in town and the friendliest staff in the world make this your next Hotel and apartments to stay at in San Pedro, Belize. We have visited Corona Del Mar for three years in a row and have NEVER been disappointed. They serioulsy go out of their way for you, not to mention the FREE and delicious rum punch all day long. We stayed in the penthouse suite WOW what a view from the third floor. I really don't have any other words to describe this small piece of paradise on Amergirs Caye, Belize except...unbelizable!!!!!!! 5 star's for Corona Del Mar. We stayed from December 20, 2007 - January 4, 2008.

Teresa & Gary Weller
Germantown, MD

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tmlweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2008

The Corona del Mar Hotel is great. We were there for our honeymoon and
were very happy with the place. Our room was simple and clean, and the
view of the beach and dock from our balcony made it perfect. Our room was well-equipped with Cable TV, air-conditioning, a safe, and a mini-fridge. The staff is wonderful. They made us feel like we were staying
in a full service resort, eventhough it's actually a very small simple
place. The front desk can set up excursions for you and they keep the complimentary rum punch flowing. There are two good restaurants within
a hundred yards (George's and Monkey Bites) of the hotel and there's a
nice swimming area at the end of the hotel's dock. Apparently you can also use the pool at the neighboring hotel, but the beach at Corona was so nice we never did. If you rent bikes (which we would recommend
- we got ours from Joe's bike rentals) there is a good place to lock them up at the hotel. The bikes helped because while the hotel is close enough for you to get downtown within minutes (15 minute walk), it's far enough south to be a little more quiet. We're planning on going back to Corona, so maybe we'll see you there!

  • Liked — Everything (we liked it all)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LizandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We had an excellent holiday at the Corona Del Mar.
From the time we were welcomed with a free rum punch, we found a staff dedicated to making our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Although not a luxury hotel, the Corona Del Mar has clean beachfront rooms, large balconies and the nicest, most helpful staff we've found anywhere.
Because of the sea grass, it's nicer swimming off the end of the motel pier than off the beach, but there's a safe, marked swimming area, with a newly-built palapa at the end of the pier.
The best way to get around San Pedro is on a rented bike, using the beach as your bike path.
Go over the bridge on your bike and head north along the beach all the way to the resorts, to find the best beaches and fabulous views.
Stop for drinks at the palapa bar out on stilts off the beach.
John South and Nancy Wilding.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank snoopy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#31 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#22 of 54 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Property: Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments, your home away from home. A nice beautiful 15 minutes walk along the beach to town. Not too far from town but yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy our free rum punch and fruit punch all day long. Once you are here, leave everything to us. We guarantee your vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Hotel And Apartments
Corona Del Mar San Pedro
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing