We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 21 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The staff and atmosphere makes you feel right at home. Frank always greets you with 110%. Play some horseshoes with him if you have a few minutes, he may even teach you a few tricks. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the beach is right outside your door.
You can walk to town, but if you are here for a long time you may want a golf cart.
Have been several times, and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the beach it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 465 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

2Words!! LOVED IT!!!!!! We arrived at 11 am and from the minute we set foot in San Pedro it was like we jumped into this amazing world! At hotel we were greeted by amazing smiley staff! Got our room, (of course Frank took our bags to the room) our junior penthouse, loved it! Ocean front view! The most amazing part about our holiday were the people we met! Margie at the bar, amazing lady, she will take care of you and if you want to know about San Pedro or Belize, she is the lady to ask! Talk about knowing your history! Thank you Margie for the amazing Micheladas! Frank and Mel! Omg! Wonderful couple that takes care of u!! You want it? You need it? YOU ASK and it shall be done! Frank's special rum punch, be carefully, will knock you out but is awesome! Leroy Mr Happy man, well, Snorkling you ask? Just tell him what you want and he will guide u in the right direction! Ladies at the desk Marlemi and Karla, super helpful! Our room was so clean well kept, felt safe and well taken care of! Can't wait to get back to our new found family in Belize! Thank you for giving us the best holiday we have ever had! And thank you to the wonderful guests we met and friends we made! Antonia, jane, John, George and Judy! Love you guys! Franca and Marlene!!!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Pixan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Although this hotel is not a 5 star, it has some features that make it worth a stay. One is location...right on the beach and within easy walking to restaurants and shops in San Pedro. What else do you need? The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. We enjoyed having an ocean front balcony too. The staff is great and will help you with any need you might have...one tip - if you want to use a golf cart, ask them to order it early - they do run out of them!!!! Overall, it's a fine basic hotel in a great spot...we'd stay again.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank auntkake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed the last 4 days of February. We had spent 2 nights at Banana Beach but did not have ocean view and found it a bit far from town. After speaking to the nice ladies at the front desk, Carla, Marlame and Vickie, I went and viewed a third floor ocean view room. I knew we had found our place! The view was great. Nice bathroom with good pressure for shower. The room comes with a supply of bottled water when so many others make you find and purchase it yourself. The a/c worked but it was not great. It was hard to close the windows and doors to use the air but we just found it too warm at night not to! Believe me that is not a complaint. The bed was good and extra pillows were brought up immediately when asked for. Balcony was nice and big, great to sit out there and enjoy a glass of wine from our fridge. There is a safe in the room and again no extra charge. Wifi was also provided at no extra charge. So important these days. There is a nice dock to swim from or just tan. The beach chairs are also comfortable and plentiful. We met the original owners Grandson who was kind enough to entertain us with history of the place.
Overall the Corona del Mar is very good value and maybe a 10 minute walk to the busier part of town. Much nicer to walk on the beach by the way.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were in Ambergris after a week of diving and fishing at Isla Marisol Resort at Glovers atoll (seperate review)..I have been going to Belize and Ambergris since the early 90's last trip before this one in 2008. I booked the room at Corona Del Mar because the place I usually stay on Ambergris was full. What a pleasant surprise! Decent rooms, convenient to town, complimentary rum punch, arguably one of the nicest beaches in the San Pedro area, even caught a bonefish in front of the hotel! FANTASTIC staff Leroy, Frank,Jasmine, Marge, all at front desk FIVE stars!! Thanks! Loved the fun bar (we also watched the Ravens Patriots game and did karaoe in the bar..great time!).
I noticed that the diving around Ambergris had improved since my last visit and the service by Tuff Enough Divers run by the Leslie family was outstanding, they even delivered our lost masks to our hotel dock! All mny favorite restaurants like Elvis, Mangos, Capricorn were great, Fidos as always a great party place.
Now all that being said I do not plan on returning to Ambergris Caye any time soon. The reason? Rampant overdevelopement. Even since 2008 the difference was staggering,The ambience that Madonna sang about in San Pero is largely gone, the pace of developement and condo building is almost malignant..there is so much traffic that you wipr a pile of dust off of your golf cart after a couple hours of being parked. And having to lock your cart steering wheel even for a fifteen minute grocery run, and the warnings about being on the beach at night? So sad...they are not just killing the goose that layed the golden egg, they are torturing it to death. I am a devotee of tourism promotion and economic developement but Ambergris has become a runaway train and the brick wall is coming up fast. Hopefully the locals and some more enlightened transplants will get a handle on this soon and keep some semblance of the charm that had me in love with this Island for the last 20 plus years..

Room Tip: go for a penthouse room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antlerpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I were in Belize January 20th - January 28th. celebrating our honeymoon and my 50th birthday.Had a fabulous time.We were out beach roaming looking for the perfect place to watch the Patriots and Ravens play off game.We found Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartment What a great surprise.They had a huge bar next to the beach with 3 tv's so we decided this was our place to watch the game. Best decision we made.We had an awesome time. They have the friendliest staff.Jasmine and Marge are the best barentenders.Jassmine saved seats for us that we had picked the night before.We came the day of the game and she had reserved on the seats.We thought that was pretty neat. The poor girl knew nothing about football but what a sport.We had her wearing Patriot tattoos on her face and cheering the Patriots on.Could not have asked for a better birthday present than the Patriots going to the superbowl.We met other staff members of hotel too.Carla, Frank and his wife and Leroy.All wonderful friendly people that made us visit Corona del Mar almost everday. Frank played several games of horseshoes with my husband and yes , Frank is as good as they say he is, even his wife played my husband and she is good too.They have karaoke every friday night 6pm-9pm although went to ten the night we were there.So much fun.The last song of the night my husband got up to sing with Leroy. No one had ever done this song but now it should be a tradition for Leroy to carry on singing "Strokin " it was hilarious.These people are great people and go out of their way for you and we were not even staying at their hotel.Looking forward to going back next year and seeing them again.Jasmine even took us out on a friday night to show us the nightlife. Before we left we stopped in to say our goodbyes , Leroy had made up superbowl squares and we were the first to get 7 squares, something to look forward to. GO Patriots. Thanks to all the new friends we made at Corona del Mar. We will be back. Only rated the service from the bar perspective which was excellant and the location, a ten minute walk along the beach into town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Gatordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

When booking our room, the only negatives we could find about Corona del Mar is that they didn't have a pool. Well, color us surprised, because when we checked it we found out that they DO have a pool! Actually it turns out that they had recently acquired the Coconuts hotel that was next door.

We were in the 'penthouse' room - the view was fantastic from the room and the balcony was so much better. The room we were in was part of the Coconuts building. The bathroom was fine, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was warm and friendly.

I posted a video to YouTube of our room, so if you search for it you should be able to find it.

It is a bit of a walk to get into town, but that didn't bother us much at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
822 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#12 of 54 in San Pedro
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Tang Inn
Blue Tang Inn
#1 of 21 in San Pedro
535 reviews
3.1 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range: $75 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments, your home away from home. A nice beautiful 15 minutes walk along the beach to town. Not too far from town but yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy our free rum punch and fruit punch all day long. Once you are here, leave everything to us. We guarantee your vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Hotel And Apartments
Corona Del Mar San Pedro
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing