We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get married”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Reviewed April 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a week, before we got married. Our wedding party stayed in most of the rooms in the hotel. The location was excellent: on the beach, ten minute walk from town, next to bird sanctuary, and quiet.

Some of the rooms had kitchens, which helped a lot with breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Most of the rooms had views from inside or from right outside. The staff is low key and friendly.

The staff gives lots of good advice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarstonTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 822 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2008

Wonderful relaxing location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were well kept and clean. Right on the beach. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey15624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My mother, sister and I stayed at CV for about 1 week. CV is about 3/4 mile from the city centre so it's close enough to the city but still far enough away to have some peace and quiet. The beach and hammocks are also nice in addition to the grounds. Most of the accommodation on the island is simple so there is no need to pay higher than 200USD/night. What is important is location. The next time I go back I will not stay any further than CV. Also, there is a small supermarket nearby if you would like to buy milk, beer, water, etc. As for snorkelling gear to rent, the rental place a few minutes walk south at Banyan Bay has practically new gear to rent. The rental place towards town has very old/used gear.

I would recommend booking excursions through SEAduced. They're located in the city along the beach. I like using them because they give a nice discount if you pay cash (unlike the hotel which puts an extra charge on top of the commission they charge to the excursion companies). We booked a fishing trip through the hotel and realised that we had been ripped off as the people on the boat docking next to us had paid only 250USD which included a lobster diver. They had a tonne of fish and lobster. We paid 300USD through the hotel and had 5 fish. Our boat guide was lazy and did not know the best spots for fishing.

As for food, The Reef is best for seafood and I beg of you DO NOT EAT at Caramba's. Just don't take my word for it, I was warned by the locals but I gave it a shot anyway and was very disappointed - the owner is dishonest and most if not all of the food there is frozen!!! So, if you don't mind eating frozen seafood in the Caribbean then knock yourself out. The Reef on the other hand only serves fresh seafood. Elvina's also has good reviews.

Overall, a good experience once we booked excursions ourselves. Tony and his shipmate Henry are a good pair to go fishing/snorkelling with. H'es half-Mexican half-Belizean. I lost his card so I don't have his details but if you ask around town someone can contact him for you.

Hope this helps. Enjoy San Pedro, it's lovely and we will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank songita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a one-week stay at Caribbean Villas. We would heartily recommend this hotel toanyone wanting beautiful beachfront hotel that is not fancy. The property is beautiful and extremely well maintained. There is no pool or television but you are at the beach and there are two hot tubs. The staff is very helpful but not pushy and seem to have answers to all of our questions. Overall we highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank khazelbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We just arrived home yesterday from our 1 week in Ambergris Caye. The CV hotel was a great place to stay. We were in the Pelican Perch suite. There were 3 of us and it was large enough to sleep and accommodate 8. It was comfortable, clean and easy. The staff were lovely. Pleasant, helpful and always happy! Javier picked us up at the airport and gave us a tour of town. He told us all the hot spots and places not to miss. Later in the week, he cracked open a coconut for us after plucking it down from a tree on the property. The women at the front desk were always helpful when we needed assistance. The security guard brought us a lamp when the electricity went out one night. The location was fine. A little bit out of town but close enough for a 10 minute golf cart ride. Walking to town, on a regular basis would be hard, especially if you are carrying stuff. A golf cart is a good idea and the hotel has bikes as well. CV is a great place if you like more laid back, relaxed and quiet accommodations. The staff do not intrude and other quests keep to themselves pretty much. There is no TV. Wireless is available but it was nice to be disconnected for a week - we left the laptop and cell phones at home!

Ambergris Caye is fabulous! Do day trips to the ruins, Caye Caulker for lunch and a walk through town, snorkeling, cave tubing, zip lining, hiking through the jungle, river boat trips etc...We used "SeaDuced" - they were great! We also took a half day trip to the North End of the island on Segways! We had a great guide from the Segway place - Rafael...We rode to Captain Morgan's and had lunch. It's a great way to see the places on the beach.

The restaurants and food is fabulous. We did not cook at all although we had a full kitchen. You can get everything from 5 star to local. We did mostly local. Don't miss the Reef restaurant. Try the Sunset Grill on the bay side for international and casual great food. The best food we had were the Papusa's on Middle Street on the street. Look for the women and their grills standing in front of their small restaurants. We liked them so much we bought plastic containers to bring home 14 Papusa's and the toppings!

Some quick tips:
-Use sunscreen - the winds on the beach are deceiving
-Plan on spending a lot of money - food, trips and grocery store items are very, very expensive. More like urban US or Caribbean resort prices than Central American prices
-Don't bring too many clothes, make up or hair stuff - leave that behind you won't use it - tie your hair up put on a hat!
-The people in Belize are wonderful, happy and sincere people - get to know them - for the most part they really want to engage even with the tourists and they have a lot of interesting perspectives to share
-Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Proboscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We had been to Caribbean Villas eleven years ago with our son who was in high school. We had such a wonderful time then, we decided to take our daughter and two grandchildren back to visit. It was just as delightful as we remembered....beautiful location not too far from town but just far enough away to keep beachfront traffic to a minimum. The unit stayed in had a living room/dining area, kitchen (fully equipped), a bedroom and full bath on the first level. Upstairs there was an area with twin beds which was perfect for the kids as well as a separate area with a queen size which was perfect for our daughter. The fact that the hotel is right on the beach made it an ideal spot to jump right in to the water and snorkel from the dock. The snorkeling is better at Hol Chan and Shark Alley, but the children had an opportunity to swim whenever they wanted. We biked, watched the birds as well as the crocodiles being fed, and relaxed on our balcony overlooking the beautiful sea. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and one of the highlights for the grandchildren was the trip on the golf cart that Xavier expertly guided so we could get an overall perspective of the town. Would highly recommend for anyone who enjoys being independent and having their own living space.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brokergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

My Husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. We booked our stay at the last minute and were very happy to get the last single room available. The room was very clean, a little smaller than I had imagined, but was perfect for our 3 day stay. We found the staff to be very accommodating and the hotel grounds unbelievable. The hotel is about a mile from town and it is a great walk, not far at all. If anything, rent bikes, there are too many golf carts. Do bring bug spray if you plan to walk on the road. If walking up the beach no worries, the breeze keeps the bugs away.

This was my second visit to the island and can honestly say it is one of my favorite places to vacation and very different than other Caribbean islands. I think that is an important distinction. I have been to Barbados, St. Martin, Guadeloupe, etc and this is different. The "vibe" of the island is difficult to describe; I forgot to bring a comb so I just didn't comb my hair for four days...People are so relaxed and friendly. The perfect no-makeup, swimsuit and flip-flops vacation. Being my second visit we decided to be more experimental and take the water taxi from Belize City to San Pedro. It was an experience. Not bad at all, just an experience. Belize City is very impoverished and, even preparing myself in advance, it was still difficult to see. We did not feel unsafe in any way and do highly recommend this mode of transportation. The boat ride is long, well over an hour, but its fun. We did, however, decide to fly back on Tropic Air, simply for the sake of time..

Favorite restaurants include: Estelle’s for breakfast, Fido's for Conch Fritters, Caramba's for seafood, and Ruby's for tortilla sandwiches. There are a few more "western" restaurants and they were ok..We preferred the smaller quaint places. Avoid the large supermarkets...they are empty for a reason. Explore the town; there are several small corner stores for whatever you need.

Advice for first timers...don’t be afraid to explore, there is no danger, everyone is friendly. Be sure to ask lots of questions, ask locals where to eat or which guide to use for fishing, diving, etc. And, read the guest book in your rooms!!!

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank WillardChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
10 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,076 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#38 of 54 in San Pedro
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
363 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#28 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $116 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has comfortable suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to two fresh water pools, the only Waterslide on the island and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing