We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture-Perfect Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Took a flight excursion from the cruise port in Belize to Ambergris Caye as it's rated a most-beautiful beach and we wanted to see it for ourselves. We took a small-plane flight, which was pretty quick, to to the island. Once on the island we rented a golf cart for $45 for the day to scoot around the island.

It's a small island, with 3 main streets. We headed to Ramon's for a drink and possible use of their beach. We were told at the golf cart rental that if we bought a drink / lunch at Ramon's they'd probably let us swim/use their snorkel gear. None of that really worked out, but the view at Ramon's was spectacular. Lunch and drinks at the outdoor restaurant were okay. The pool looked lovely, wish we could have swam there.

Overall, if you head to Ambergris Caye, there isn't a whole lot to do (unless we just didn't find the right spot to swim), but stop in at Ramon's and have a drink and talk to the owners - you'll hear a really interesting story about how they got their start!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank TracyeOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was our first stay at Ramon's Village and trip to Belize. Previous trips to Cancun and Cozumel had set the level of expectations for this trip and I was so surprised and thrilled to find that everything about our stay far exceeded these expectations. The food was phenomenal both at the local restaurants and particularly at the restaurant on-site, The Pineapple. There were many dishes to choose from and all we tried were excellent choices. The Blue Water was very good and Estells is a superb breakfast location -- the Mayan eggs and fry jacks were yummy!
Most evenings we spent at one of the local bars -- Fido's (pronounced fee does) where they had nightly live music and great cocktails. The bar at Ramon's was also a fun relaxing place to hang out and visit with other guests.
Ramon's Village itself is beyond gorgeous! At arrival I was worried because the resort entrance is a block from the airport and located on a busy bustling main road. I was thinking -- ugh it's gonna be a dirty diving motel. Wrong!! Somehow they have created a beach paradise 20 feet from Main Street! The resort is quiet, tranquil, covered in beautiful tropical trees, plants and flowers, and all the units are secluded and provide a sense if privacy.
We stayed in a beachfront unit (#120), and were very pleased with the furnishings and comfort level. The bed was a bit too soft but certainly adequate. There is no TV (who cares?!) and wifi service was erratic, but better on the porch. All the local restaurants had free wifi and easy enough to catch up there if needed.
The weather in May is very unpredictable and sadly because of unusal high winds, my husband was not able to scuba dive as we had planned. I convinced him on the last day to try one of snorkel trips that were offered, and he grudgingly went. So glad he did -- they had a great time snorkeling with a huge herd of sharks that were so close the snorkelers were able to touch them as they passed! They had lots to talk about and memories to share.
Everything is walking distance, with entry to most shops sn resturants a ailable through the beach or the mainstreet. Most transportation for visitors or the locals is via golf carts which can be rented in locations around town, or at Ramon's, where you can be certain they are clean and well maintained. There are many local vendors presenting their wares in the shops and along the beach and street side. Vendors are all very polite and respectful so no worries about harassment.
We felt the value for products and services were reasonable -- especially the food which was such nice quality. Almost all prices are given in Belizian dollars which was an easy conversion to dollars with each USD worth two Belizian.
Oh -- and perhaps because of the high winds -- there were no bugs!! No crawly bugs and no flying or biting bugs!!
The beach experience was not as good as I was hoping but was by far the best beach on the whole stretch. The beach itself was very clean and the resort staff was constantly busy raking and picking up any sea grass that floated ashore. The lounges were clean and plentiful, and the hammocks, once mastered, were very relaxing. Swimming in the ocean was not as enjoyable as I had hoped -- lots of seagrass made for creepy and unpleasant wading. There was a nice area provided at the end of the pier for swimming however that had an easy to use ladder to enter the water. This area was good for swimming, snorkeling and hanging out.
The staff was exceptional!! They made us feel special whether at the restaurant, dive center, or lounge. It was obvious that they felt their mission was our satisfaction!
We enjoyed this tropical paradise experience tremendously and will certainly return soon!!

Room Tip: We were in an oceanfront 4-plex unit (120) with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. Even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lopingeasy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My friend and I just returned from a 10 day trip to Belize and Guatemala which finished at Ramon's Village Resort. We loved it so much we hated to leave. We were fortunate to be in one of the brand new deluxe jungle view cabanas, a one minute walk to the white sand beach and comfy beach lounges.

After "roughing" it a bit in two jungle lodges, the delight of air conditioning, minimal to no bug activity, proximity to the pristine, clear water and abundance of activities at the resort or easily arranged via the front desk made for a delightful end to the trip.

If you do go to Belize, which I highly recommend, start your trip on the mainland doing the more physical and jungle-y activities. Ending up on Ambergris Caye after some time, and especially at Ramon's will really make a trip to this fabulous country all encompassing.

Room Tip: The cabana we had was newly built with what they consider a jungle view. It was on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikegoddessJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ramon's Village was the perfect place for us to stay for our honeymoon. My husband and I were looking for a place that was nice and had amenities to offer, but we are also the type that likes to get out and "explore". We picked it because of the proximity to town. We can walk right out of the hotel and to so many restaurants in a very short walking distance. Many other hotels, you'd have to rent a golf cart to get out, and they are very expensive to rent. We are really glad we rented one for a few hours to get the lay of the land and see things we wanted to go back to - so we do recommend doing that (and you do it straight through the hotel with a really funny / cool guy named Frances). Bike rentals will drop off directly to the hotel if you feel like going further out, or for longer, and are really cheap ($12.50 US for 24 hours!)

From the moment they picked us up at the airport (complimentary) we were impressed. The staff at Ramon's is SOOO sweet. They are all funny, and genuinely nice, and full of suggestions to help your trip. We had a really fun time just hanging out at the bar, or around the pool area, being entertained by them.

The restaurant isn't my favorite - but that's because there are some amazing places around - but it's still good! Their breakfast torta is the bomb. It's very handy, and has a nice selection. It's a little quiet - and I typically like a more bumpin' atmosphere so I'm probably not the best to review it.

Ramon's is very clean, super cute, almost like Disneyworld how clean it is - and it feels very safe. There is security around everywhere. Not that I even feel like I need them, because it's such a comfortable, easy place to hang out. People are always walking around cleaning things, or fixing things, or upgrading them. This place is a tightly run ship!

If you are considering a place in Ambergris Caye, I can't imagine not staying here. Other resorts are just too far away from town - and the town is lots of fun. But if you go further into town, you'll get a place that isn't as nice.

We love Ramon's!!!

Room Tip: I like a bathtub and ours didn't have one, so I'd ask in advance where those are. Book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j_dubs_diemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

After being in the Cayo district for four nights where the living was rustic, I was delighted to arrive at Ramon's. We were given a newer cabana which had a wonderful shower, a sink with tons of counterspace, drawers for clothes and a place to keep our luggage. It was nice to be in a place with air conditioning, an in-room safe, refrigerator and microwave. There were also quite a few electric outlets so there was no trouble in finding a place to charge batteries, electronic devices, etc. My friend and I agreed that the layout of the room and the decor would work well as a master suite in one's home.

The location of the hotel was ideal as it was just steps away from downtown San Pedro and right around the corner from the air strip. Speaking of the air strip, once you arrive at baggage claim, someone will ask you where you are staying. If you tell them Ramon's, they will call the hotel and someone will show up in a golf cart and will whisk you away. The ride to Ramon's is about a minute from the air strip.

Ramon's also sells diving and snorkeling trips that you pick up just steps away from the property. There are plenty of places in town that compete with Ramon's but for the most part, they all offer the same excursions.

The service was great and the staff at the front desk helped us arrange a couple of activities.

I would definitely return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just returned from an 8 day visit to Ambergris Caye and stayed at Ramon's Village. I can't say enough good things about this beautiful resort! Service was absolutely top notch and the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating! We took several excursions to snorkel and it was amazing! Also noteworthy is how clean everything is. The beach was spectacular and spotless. I can't wait to return. Thank you Ramon's!

Room Tip: Try to book a cabana closer to the beach as the cabanas is the back are closer to the road and one m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloglo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We recently stayed at Ramon's Village Resort for a vacation and scuba diving trip. I cannot say enough good things about Ramon's. The dive shop (located on the premises) is one of the best we have ever had the experience of using as divers. Our dive master, Ernesto, and the boat captain, Burl, were incredible and very safe on all dives. I needed a slight repair to my BCD, and the dive shop took care of it for us. We were also able to book our other day trips right at the dive shop. The restaurant food was very good. The restaurant staff, including Jack, Andres, Chief and Edwin, always remembered our names and took good care of us at all meals. They were entertaining but very professional. The room was amazing with comfortable beds and air conditioning. My only complaint was that there wasn't alot of hot water for showers. It was like sleeping in a comfortable tree house on the beach. The premises were clean and very well groomed. The resort is located within a couple of blocks of "town" and was easily walkable even though we did have the option of renting a cart to tour around the town. We will definitely recommend Ramon's to friends and will be back for another dive trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,054 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
475 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
860 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $159 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing