We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Ramon's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently spent the week at Ramon's and had a fantastic time. This was our second visit to Ramon's, the first time was 10 years ago. Everything has been rebuilt since the fire last summer and the facilities are better than ever. Our new room was very nice, with a great view from the balcony. The restaurant is very good and we had most of our meals there. They cooked the fish we caught on our fishing trips and it was outstanding. What makes Ramon's special is the staff, the waiters are the restaurant are fabulous. The Orange Walk boys Jack and Steve will always give you something to smile about! All the staff are pleasant, enthusiastic to be there and show that in how they treat their guests. Ramon himself is always around and will sit down and share stories from his amazing life. When in San Pedro we will always stay at Ramon's.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

What can I say Ramon's is one of a kind. My husband and I have stayed at Ramon's 4 times now. It is the only place we stay in San Pedro. The landscaping makes you feel like you are walking around in your own jungle. The rooms are awesome thatch roofed cabanas-> even better now after the fire remodel. We love the dive shop. You can't beat the location. Breakfast daily at pineapples is a must too. The one thing I do miss from this most recent visit is being able to sit at the bar. I really enjoyed visiting with the bartenders and other guests and sharing our days diving adventures.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

1. Diving- perfect set up. If u r an experienced diver the level of briefing will b excessive, but it makes me feels more comfortable. The dive boat leaves @ 9, 11 & 2, so u can do up to 3 tank dive, or come & go at any point, ur not stuck on the boat. Excellent dive masters, excellent diving! 5 star!
2. Food- 2-3 star food for 4 star prices. Very disappointed. Very minimal local options. 2 star
3. Staff- very friendly and genuine, always helpful & ready 2 get u a drink. 5 star
4. Overall hotel: Room- too small. If u r diving, it is very frustrating 2 only have a small shower, we had no place 2 put r dive gear 2 dry. It really needs to have a tub for that reason alone, if not the price u r paying (in general). Bed is comfortable. But, there is Absolutely no insulation in the building & the housekeepers start cleaning early & will defiantly wake u up- annoying. The rest of the hotel is beautiful. Overall 3.5 star
5. Location- ideal 4 us, front street is easily accessible, other restaurants as well. 5 star

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the Ramons in Dec 2013 whilst the Hotel was under going repair from the fire. The staff were all very helpful given the lack of proper restaurant and full facilities. Mr Ramon or the owner even introduced himself to us. One issue we did have was we were bitten by Sea Lice when we went for a swim. No one told us not to swim in the sea and they even lent us goggles etc to do it. Sea lice are baby jellyfish and really a pain, two months later I still have the scares. If you do get bitten get some acid on them asap, lime juice, vinegar otherwise they will itch and drive you mad ! Actually I would not recommend anyone holiday here unless you want to go to the blue hole or go elsewhere. The island is pretty down market and expensive. A little slight of hand goes on when the bills are to be paid, are they in Belize $ or USD, prices in Belize but when you come to pay its USD i.e. 2x the price take care with this. The Hotel was clean and I think after the rennovations it will be great. However they need to quote all prices in either Belize or USD not mix them up.

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the road, choose one by the sea, expect to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oscarwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent a week at Ramon's Village, and loved every minute. I've never visited another place with a better, nicer, and more attentive staff. They were great! About 4 months ago over half of the place was destroyed by fire, but they have rebuilt it beautifully. When we arrived, we were told that our room had a leak - so for the night, they put us in a nicer room. The next day they sent folks to move our stuff for us - to another great room (in the part across the street where we were actually booked). Every day we were greeted with great smiles by staff who remembered our names and where we were from (not as creepy as it sounds as I write). The dive operation was also super well done. Our dive master, Turiano (who has been working there 32 years) was one of the best we've ever dived with. Judy and Rick in the dive shop were very helpful. Boats were clean, nice, and well organized.
Every year we try a different dive location, but because of Ramon's we are strongly considering returning to Belize next year. Even Ramon himself greeted us!

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad ones. The location across the street (Belizian Princess) is a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a bad experience at Ramon's over New's Years 2013-2014. The management came down from Laurel, Mississippi, and on New Years Day the owner, Richard Headrick, decided to end the sale of alcohol at the resort! One of the highlights from our previous stay was meeting up with people in the bar in the evening and telling stories and making new friends. Within a day, the bar was dead. By January 3rd, they were down to their last bottle of coconut rum. The staff was pissed. The guests were going elsewhere or bringing liquor from town back to their rooms. The guests were getting grumpy and the tension was growing. Finally by January 4th, Richard relented and allowed the sale of alcohol to resume. I was suspicious, so I asked Steve, one of the directors in Richards' posse what the long term plan was. Steve tried to weigh his words but did a very poor job. Steve's comment was "Richard's long-term goal is to have a place where guests can enjoy a drink at the bar - without alcohol." I looked Steve in the eye and told him I'd phone ahead before I'd ever consider coming back. It's a great place, provided the management doesn't try to force their narrow minded conservative values down your throat.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach are more quiet. The back of the property backs up to the main road through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TravelDude2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Ramon's in December 2013 in the cottages across the street (Belizean Princess) Overall the resort is beautiful, clean and has the best beach in San Pedro. The location is awesome since you are basically steps from the town center and you can walk everywhere. The cottages are clean, the rooms are spacious and pretty well kept but lack some basics such as table and chair and TV. Not that I planned on watching TV but for $155 per night; I would expect to have at least a table, chair and TV in the room. Other than that, no complaints. There is an airport directly behind the cottages so if you plan to sleep in on your vacation, this is not your place to stay. The planes start flying at around 6:30 a.m. and will wake you up.

The restaurant at Ramon's is practically on the beach and very good. We had breakfast and dinner there few times. The mixed drinks at the bar are also excellent and the staff will bring them to the beach for you.

We came to San Pedro to scuba dive and the dive shop at Ramon's was excellent. We took few local dives which are nice and only 10 minute ride by the boat. We also signed up for the Blue Hole/Lighthouse and Turneffee Atoll dives which were the highlights of our dive trip. If you plan on diving with Ramon's be sure to ask them in advance if they plan to do any of these all day trips because they are worth the extra cost. These are wall dives and beautiful. The dive shop has storage boxes where you can keep some of your equipment overnight but there is no storage for drying wetsuits so you will have to take them to your room and dry them on the porch. You are advised not to keep anything outside overnight so it can be a bit of a hassle drying your wetsuits in the room. Other than that, I must say that the dive shop is excellent, the staff there very helpful and the dives were fun and safe.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
483 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
894 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $157 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing