We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay, play, and dive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I can't come up with anything bad to stay about this place. We ended up having a room at the Belizian Princess, the less expensive rooms across the street from the main property but still allowed us access to all of the amenities. From being picked up at the airport and our bags being carried to the room for us to the wonderful waitstaff that greeted us at breakfast every morning, Ramon's Village is a delightful place. We had a key break off in the lock, the front desk had someone at the room within minutes of reporting the problem. The beach was always clean and the beer always cold at night. This place truly does have service with a smile.

The dive shop is the tops! All divemasters were beyond helpful. We had a bit of boat trouble on the way to the Blue Hole which was fixed by Capt. Marcos out at sea, allowing us to still make the dives planned for the day. We had completed out diving in San Pedro when my girlfriend had a bit of trouble with her computer. The dive shop actually called the next place we were staying in Placencia to find out who could look at the computer. I can't think of another place that would come up with their solution!

The day trips organized were fantastic. Rolando and Ricky took us to Lamanai; they were wonderful to have along on the trip; knowledgeable and friendly they always had a smile on their faces.


The next visit to Belize we will be staying at Ramon's Village for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Icy_Blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

The golf cart pick up service from the airport was a really nice touch, friendly staff, very good beach for the area and well situated. The cabana's were clean and comfy. I would not hesitate to recommend Ramon's.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ScubaSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed 5 nights here. Couldn't find anything wrong with the place. Food and drinks were great but it was odd that they don't come on the same tab. We had the garden room with fridge, AC, and a safe. Nice and quiet with complimentary coffee. Fresh cold filtered drinking water is provided daily. Buggy ride to and from the airport and water taxis available on request. Dive facilities on site are superb. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tipster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We really could not have asked for a better stay at Ramon's Village Resort April 19-23. We were a group of 11 in 5 different rooms (Sea Side Doubles and Mini/Guest Suites). Overall we were very happy with our choice and I highly recommend you consider Ramon's if you're looking for a comfortable island atmosphere, friendly service, and convenience.

Ramon's is right in the mix of San Pedro town, but it feels like a little oasis and gives you a sense of peace and quiet while on property even though it's a somewhat busy location. You can literally walk from the Tropic Air or Maya Air airports to Ramon's - not that you'd need to, because Ramon's will pick you up immediately upon your arrival via golf cart. (And we were never bothered by the occasional plane noise some complain about - you barely notice it, and they're gone in a matter of seconds. When I did notice, it actually reminded me of Fantasy Island - de plane, de plane!)

Check-in was a breeze and our our accommodations met or exceeded our expectations. I stayed in Seaside Mini Suite 24, which had a small mini-kitchen with microwave, small fridge, sink and wet bar; safe; a sitting area; king bed; and large bathroom with a stand-alone shower. Located on the upper level (so we had full enjoyment of the thatched roof), we had a cute balcony as well; all of the rooms have either a balcony or a porch with seating where you can sit and listen to the birds and enjoy the breeze. Our room adjoined our friends' in Seaside Guest Suite 23, which actually had more of a view than ours did. Seaside rooms are basically one classification back from Beachfront and don't guarantee a view (but do have proximity to the beach). Our view in 24 was almost completely blocked, but we didn't really mind because the surroundings are so lush and pretty anyway. The bed was very firm, which I prefer anyway. The beds in the Seaside Doubles had much more give to them. No one had any issues with their beds/sleeping comfort.

Our friends stayed in Seaside doubles 42, 43 and 46. These doubles are one-level thatched-roof cabanas with a cute porch in front and were situated along one side of the property perpendicular to the beach. Sea Side #46 is just one unit removed from the beachfront (the Honeymoon Suite #47) - might be a good one to request! Given the intimate size of the resort, all of these rooms were just steps away from the beachfront really. The rooms are adequately sized if you have two people, cozier with three. Four adults mights start to feel a bit cramped.

Housekeeping did a good job, although if I have a small quibble it might be that there were a few overlooked spots in our room that could've use a good dusting. Ramon's could also invest in some new bathmats/rugs - ours were pretty shabby and worn-looking. As others have mentioned, there is little in the way of privacy when in the bathroom as the walls don't go all the way up. Again, all small quibbles over an otherwise awesome room. I slept like a rock each night, although be warned that the birds start their day at sunrise! (We watched a mama bird feed her baby in the tree right off our balcony each morning - fun.) One of the Seaside doubles had an AC problem on the first night, so Ramon's moved all 3 occupants into two different rooms for the night. They were very happy to have AC for the evening. They were returned to their originally booked rooms the next day after repair.

We often felt like we had the whole "village" to ourselves, even though there was a wedding going on one night and an anniversary party another (for Ramon himself and his wife - 50 years!). The pool area and beach were never crowded - you could always find a hammock or a chaise. Ramon's staff was friendly and always bringing us whatever we needed. The pool is refreshing and charming with Mayan idols and lush landscaping. We loved every minute by the pool and on the beach. You can stroll north for additional dining and shopping, and while there are other properties up the beach I was always so glad upon our return to Ramon's that we were staying there. Felt like home!

The dive shop onsite is absolutely brilliant. So convenient and staffed by friendly and helpful guides. If you're on Ambergris, you MUST snorkel Hol Chan. It was stunning and the best place I've ever snorkeled in terms of sheer size and variety/quantity of marine life. We had amazing guides. The next day we were able to charter a group boat ride to Caye Caulker. We felt like celebrities pulling up to the Split on our own boat instead of taking the water taxi. Again, our crew was so accommodating and drove us to a second spot for lunch (Rainbow Cafe, great food) and then stopped on the way back so we could take an impromptu swim in the beautiful waters. Paradise. In short, do not hesitate to ask Ramon's for whatever your party might need. They will go out of their way to accommodate.

The Purple Parrot bar was a little sleepy while we were there, though that could have been due to the fact that they were hosting events. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not the place; in fact, most of San Pedro was quite low-key even on Friday/Saturday evenings.There were a few spots with music or signs of life past 10pm, but not many. We were usually wiped out by that time anyway so we weren't really looking for it. Drinks were generally good - the Dirty Banana was a favorite, as was the Panty Ripper! On occasion a drink needed tweaking, but nothing that couldn't be fixed. Bar service was prompt and friendly.

We didn't sit down to eat at Pineapple's until our departure day breakfast, which was good. Other items we ordered from the kitchen (appetizers and lunch on the beach) were basic but tasty. Nothing fancy, but no complaints either.

I appreciated the on-site security as well and felt safe on property. You always got the sense that Ramon's staff was looking out for their guests.

WiFi is free although it works best close to the lobby/office. I was never able to connect from our room (24) as we were located opposite the office; our friends in the upper-numbered Seaside Doubles had no issues.

One night we inquired as to a good spot to eat and Ramon's gave us complimentary transportation to/from the Hidden Treasure restaurant (south of San Pedro). This was a nice dining experience, definitely give it a try! We also ate at Elvi's in town (good), Blue Water Tavern (not as wowed food-wise here except for the ceviche), Estel's beachfront for breakfast (neat place and tasty), and Caprice, which had some pretty tasty dishes and great happy hour prices. If you make it to the north side just beyond the bridge (you can rent a golf cart), check out Palapa's. Not only can you float in a tube with a delicious Belikin (the beer of Belize), but the pulled pork there was the best. Not sure how it compares to the Lazy Croc, but it was incredibly good!

Ramon himself is on property frequently making sure guests are enjoying themselves. We simply had a great stay here and I would return without hesitation. I've rated Ramon's "excellent" for nice amenities, atmosphere, and service at a great value.

Room Tip: If you go with a Seaside double, request #46 - it's only one room removed from the beachfront. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you have the right expectations you will really enjoy Ramon's. It's not a luxury hotel but the facilities, beach, and grounds are well maintained. It's a beautiful setting and the hotel, restaurant, and bar staff are friendly and accommodating.

All rooms are close to the beach but the ones furthest away (Garden View) are also the ones nearest a busy street and the (small) airport so you will get some noise. We chose one of the family cabanas. They have a microwave and small fridge which is nice but again, they are near the back of the resort. I knew exactly which room we were getting (41) so I was expecting a little noise and it wasn't a big deal.

Based on other reviews, we knew the room would be dark and it was. There's not much natural light that gets in there. The view from the room itself was OK. No ocean view but the Caribbean sea was plainly visible from the deck, - which is where I spent a lot of time when we were actually at Ramon's. I loved sitting there and reading, even well after dark.

Though overall I was very happy with Ramon's if I had to pick an area where they could improve it would be the friendliness of their dive shop staff. Not that they were at all rude. In fact some of them were every bit as pleasant as the rest of the hotel staff. However, a few them, especially at first, didn't exactly render service with a smile. They were a little gruff. Over the course of the week we did several dives and inland tours with them. We got to see some of the same people multiple times. Even those that were not so friendly at first seemed to warm up as they got to know us and we them. A few tips didn't hurt either. ;)

Basically I chose Ramon's because of the close proximity to town, the fact that it had a decent beach, and because there was a reputable dive shop right on site. If those things aren't as important to you, you can find better accommodations for the money either North or South of town.

If it's your first trip to Ambergris Caye, I think it's a great place to stay as long as you're not expecting the Ritz (if you are, Belize might not be the right destination for you anyway).

So far Belize has been our favorite family vacation. Not sure if we'll ever make it back (the world is a big place) but if we do, there's a good chance we'd end up staying at Ramon's again.

Room Tip: Family Cabanas (like #41) are larger, have small fridge, microwave and TV but located nearest a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank unimacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here on our honeymoon and LOVED it! We didn't eat at the restaurant there since the resort is centrally located in town. we loved our beach front room and enjoyed swimming in the ocean. We walked to different local restaurants and could not get enough of the great seafood. The staff was very nice and helpful as well. We will return here for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psychucsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Everything you hear about the staff is true. They are unique in their genuine friendliness and kindness. The entire population of this island is as well. This trip last week with my wife, April 20-27, 2013, was my third visit, first in 1990, then in 1995. Ramon's has only improved its accommodations, and many of the same people were still there! My old friends from 20+ years ago, including dive master, Turiano, were still enjoying their jobs at Ramon's. The dive ans snrel services are even better, very nice boats a d full gear. The boat ride to every dive is a whopping 5 minutes from shore, you can always see the shore! The rooms have a strong AC if you need that (as I do). I already miss the staff members Jack, Vidal, Edwin, Joe, and of course Turiano and his nephew Juan. Don't mess up and stay anywhere else! Signed, George and Carla.....

Room Tip: Beachfront cabanas are best if you need to see the beach from your room when you wake up, but otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,076 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
1,000 reviews
3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Belizean Shores Resort
Belizean Shores Resort
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
893 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
880 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $157 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing