We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tropical Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tropical Vacation”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I vacationed on the island of Ambergris Caye from February 23 - March 2, 2013 and could not have been happier with our stay at Ramon's Village. From the moment we walked in the lobby until our departure, we were greeted with smiles and treated with excellent service. All the staff members were very friendly and courteous at all times. The grounds at the resort were well kept and the beach area was very clean. The pool was small, but refreshing. Beach and pool lounge chairs were fairly easy to find when you wanted one. My husband and I stayed in honeymoon suite #1 which is on the far South side of the resort. The other honeymoon suite is on the North side (#47) and is close to the swimming area. The room is an individual cabana with its own deck, deck chairs, and hammock under the deck. The room was spacious, modern, and clean. It had a nice decor and the bed was comfortable. The room also had a couch, table w/ stools, fridge, and microwave. There is AC and also a fan above the bed which both worked well. I loved how quiet and private the individual cabana was and would recommend spending the extra money for this suite. However, you can hear the planes from the local airport taking off in the morning, but this really did not bother us much as there are lots of other noises, such as boat motors and birds, that can wake you up in the morning. We ate at Pineapples restaurant almost every day and thought the meals were excellent there (as opposed to some other reviews I have read). The restaurant and bar staff are friendly and definitely know you by name by the end of your stay. The location of this resort is one of the best on the island. It is only a 5-7 minute walk into the town of San Pedro by street or on the beach. It is so nice to be able to walk into town to get snacks or explore the shops, bars, and restaurants on a minute's notice. We went on 1-day snorkel trip, which was booked through the dive shop at Ramon's, and it was fabulous. The crew members were very professional. If you get the opportunity, I would recommend visiting the island of Caye Caulker. It is such a unique place. I would also recommend renting a golf cart and exploring the island. The Palapa Bar and Grill on the North side of the island is a must see. There is also a casino on the very far North side of the Island (Captain Jacks's), but it doesn't open until evening. Other places we enjoyed in San Pedro were Fidos (live music), Elvi's Kitchen (authentic Mayan buffet), and Caramba's (great food). Another recommendation would be to sign up for any day trips to the mainland early on in your vacation because they won't run the tour unless six people are signed up so you may have to wait a day or two. My husband and I waited until the end of our vacation to sign up for a tour to the Mayan ruins, but couldn't go because there weren't enough people. All in all, I would consider Ramon's Village a reasonably priced resort, with friendly staff, and good amenities. If you are looking for a luxurious and opulent resort for your vacation, this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for a casual and relaxing vacation spot close to to San Pedro, I would definitely recommend Ramon's Village!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite #1 is on the South side of the resort and does not have direct access to the water b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndcherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    319
    90
    44
    22
See reviews for
233
557
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have to say, there is really not enough room to add all i wud like to say about RAMON'S & the people that worked there!
I would like to say that not only was RAMON'S an excellent place to vacation but the entire staff was the best group of people we could ever be so fortunate to meet!!!!!!
The restaurant @ Ramon's Village, PINEAPPLES,,was outstanding & i am not just talking about the food there! The food was exceptional and the staff was the most wonderful people we have met in all our travels! Guys we miss everyone already!
Please make your vacation plans there, you will not be dissapointed, you will be delighted you did!


P.S. please FB me, i lost the paper with you alls sweet managers name on it!

D & V

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIAPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We decided to take the ferry over to San Pedro a day trip and wanted to enjou a nice lumch on the beach,,A great choice as the outdoor seating was a perfect touch with a great menu to choose from.. The salads and fresh fish tacos were among just a few of the great specials they offered ... Service was excellent and it was a great break in the day to relax and dine on th water.. A must visit for travellers looking for good food at a great price with a beautiful view.. We walked around the grounds as well and the unites looked wonderful. Definitely a place I would consider staying at if I was staying on San Pedro for my next visit. San Pedro has more to offer than Caye in for shopping, restaurants and night life if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancineI70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We loved Ramons, stayed in beach front room, very simple but all you need. Very clean, and ice water dilvered to the room daily. We had a breakfest plan , good idea because your day stsrts early. Hi to Jack,Joel, Vidal, are servers, so nice every morning kept us laughing. Great beach, lots of shade if you need it. So off to Remons water services, we did 2 snorkling trips, Hi Fish, thanks for holding my hand. Snorkling off the end of peir was very nice as well. We rented a golf cart for the week to get around at night, but every thing from Remons is 3, 4 5 blocks at tops. Great bars on beach , but Remons bar was greAT AS WELL. Also alot of places offer boat trips, but the price is all the same, and here we would go to pier if we wanted to go , you did not need to make or cancel resverations.

Room Tip: on the south side of Remons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank volm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife, son, his best friend and I visited Ramon's the last week of March, 2013. This was our second stay at Ramon's with our first in 2004. I selected Ramon's because of the "total" experience and variety of activities that would keep our teens busy.

Ramon's is an extremely friendly place to stay with all staff helpful and friendly. This isn't a five start resort so if you're looking for pomp and circumstance you should avoid Ramon's, San Pedro and probably Belize all together. Ramon's offers thatch roof huts that are well maintained and landscaped. You'll be very close to the town of San Pedro so it's easy to walk or golf cart through the town and stop at some of the excellent restaurants along the way.

The beach is a couple hundred yards long with a good area for swimming. With only about 30 beach chairs we still always had a chair available when we wanted to sit. There is a small pool which some people sit around.

We went snorkeling at Mexican Rock, Shark Ray Alley and a couple other spots over two seperate snorkeling expeditions. We swam with Nurse Sharks, Sting Rays, Eels, Sea Turtles and a plethoria of beautiful fish and amongst the barrier reef. We reef fished, successfully filling a cooler with Snapper which the restaurant prepared for our dinner that evening. We cave tubed and zip lined. We visited the Myan ruins at Lamani. We sailed and visited Caye Caulker. There is so much to do you can't get bored.

The entire experience is awesome starting with the single engine plane ride over to Ambirgras caye from Belize City. Ramon's will meet you at the airstrip with a golf cart and take you directly to your room. San Pedro is a dirt road city with more residents than tourists, although it is very busy with carts, bikes, walkers and some vehicles.

Room Tip: Book early to have a choice of room types. The beach front are nice because you have a beach view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ramon's was a great place to stay! They didn't really excel in any particular area, but they were pretty good at just about everything. The rooms were adequate, clean and priced right. The restaurant food was reasonably priced and pretty darn good. The pool was clean and very cold. The beach was small but larger than most places on the island. No complaints or rave reviews.

Room Tip: Make sure if you want to be on the water, you get the most expensive room...the descriptions of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chingadero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Ramon's was the right level of luxury for us. We'd rather spend our money on diving and day trips than pay for a 5 star hotel experience. The staff is friendly and entertaining (Jack is a veritable encyclopedia of sports teams). Ramon himself spends time with the quests at breakfast and entertains you with his adventures with Jacques Cousteau. The room was spacious (it was actually large enough to hold all our stuff and bags, which when you are diving is A LOT). The bed was soft and comfortable. A comfortable stroll to town along the beach to enjoy the other restaurants, even if don't want to rent a golf cart. The breakfast each morning was delicious.

Room Tip: Next time we'll pick an ocean view. The garden view was lovely if you can't get an ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
1,040 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,346 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing