We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great dive center, avoid the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, great dive center, avoid the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The resort is within walking distance from the airport. The landscaping is wonderful and gives the place a more secluded feel. This is THE place to stay if you have come for scuba diving on Ambergris Caye. The restaurant, however, is ridiculously overpriced and the service was excruciatingly slow, even for island time. It took 45 minutes just to get two simple appetizers. After 20 minutes the waiter apologized and said it was because of a wedding party backing things up, and that our food would be out in just "a few more minutes." Another 25 minutes went by before we were served. After that we didn't even bother to order dinner. Instead we left the resort, walked 5 minutes to a nearby restaurant, and finished our meal at half the price, half the time, and twice the flavor.

Room Tip: Book in advance because this resort is popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasTraveler2348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    279
    78
    37
    21
See reviews for
201
489
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ramon's for 3 days of R & R after working at a clinic in rural Belize for a week. It was a delight - everything we'd hoped for! The very attentive staff is always ready to do your bidding. We were looking for quiet and rest which we certainly enjoyed. We got the feeling, though, that had we wanted constant attention and help, that that would also have been readily provided!
We stayed in a Seaside Mini-suite which was perfect for us. Loved the 25' high ceilings!
We ate at their Pineapples restaurant the first two nights and had fantastic dinners and service. We ventured elsewhere for our last night and wished we hadn't - it didn't compare.
We booked an afternoon of snorkeling through Ramon's Dive Shop and it was great! Very well organized and professional.
If we return to San Ambergris Caye, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!
Everything Ramon's does they do very well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

THE GOOD:
Our Women's diving club has booked this resort several times, and for good reason!
This time, our stay was Mar 2 - 9, 2013
The water temperature: 79 Deg; Air Temp Day: 78 - 85; Night: 68 - 72 (NO A/C needed; however, it is available)
The dive dock and boats are literally 30 seconds walk from anywhere on the resort!
Over 20 dive spots are within 10 minute boat ride, including Hol Chan Marine Reserve.
Blue Hole, on the other hand, is 2 1/2 hours away.
Turiano owns his own boat, and has Juan as his assistant. Turiano is delightfully humorous and very helpful to our range of beginner/novice, advanced and seasoned divers. Juan assists you putting on your dive gear before entering utilizing the backward roll. He unbuckles and lifts your BCD/tank out of the water before you climb up the ladder: VERY NICE FEATURE for us Princesses!
Breakfast at their feature restaurant was included in our pre-paid package, as was 12 dives.
It was gracious of the resort to credit us, and a couple other of our divers of the unused dives: TOTALLY UNEXPECTED and UNUSUAL, BUT GREATLY APPRECIATED
San Pedro is within a few minutes walking, or rented golf carts for further exploration. There were so many good restaurants for lunch and dinners.
The 2 to 1 dollar exchange rate made it easy (2 Belizean to 1 USD); although they readily accept USD currency, but no coin everywhere.
THE BAD or THE UGLY:
This is really an over-exaggeration (I just wanted to use that famous phrase :)
Our Beach Front Mini-suite #31 was on the 2nd floor of a 4 unit premium room category: 2 downstairs, 2 upstairs
The other upstairs mini-suite had a microwave; ours did not. This would have been a great assist for our leftover meals.
Although other reviews already mentioned the lack of nightstands as furnishings; I used the small stool holding the bathroom basket of towels for one nightstand. I used the wicker seat tucked under the desk as the other nightstand and placed the solo lamp on top of the room refrigerator on the make shift nightstand.... PERFECT!
The outdoor deck with 2 reclining chairs make relaxing very enjoyable, and the railings were great to hang out our wetsuit/dive gear to dry every night. Be careful however; it can get very windy at night and you may not find your clothing where you first put it unless it is secured!
The Mahogany wood is used extensively for the decks, platforms, doors, etc. throughout the resort.
It is a beautiful wood; however, the first few nights I missed seeing the transition levels and mis-stepped quite a bit.
Although I did not fall, some would or at least twist an ankle.
The diving facility has so many, but unused boat docks.
Compared to the space alloted to the locker storage space which was small.
A 2' x 2' locker with keyed lock is issued to each/pair of divers.
This did not allow hanging out of our BCD/wetsuit/etc. unless we hauled it back and forth to our room each day after diving.
We also had to bring/load our dive gear to the initial dive of the day each day.
Also mentioned in many other reviews is the proximity of the airport.
This can be good (day of arrival and departure) in quickness of transport; however, daily beginning 6 a.m.ish is all the noise of the small aircrafts beginning their days runs. If you are a light sleeper or late sleeper, it could make things difficult!
The Friday and Saturday night restaurant/bar music to midnight can be a bit loud also if you go to bed early.

All in all, I hate to use their overused phrase, but it really was Unbelizable! We would return and recommend it to our friends.
Even if you are not a diver, there is much to do!

Room Tip: No one is in front of you if you get the Beachfront Mini-suite; only white powdery sand, coconut tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RZPhyxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at Ramon's for a week. It was great. We had a seaside room that was in great shape and included a King bed, nice little patio, safe, and fridge. The service was great from the time we landed to the time we left. They picked us up at the airport and brought all our stuff to our room. They showed us how to use the safe and asked if we wanted to be shown around the resort. They also have free wifi. We used it a little bit and it worked great. The restaurant and bar were great too. We did the breakfast plan and it was definitely worth it. There is a lot of variety, so you can have something different every day. The waiters will remember your name and strike up a conversation every time they see you. We ate a few other meals there as well, also good. Again, the staff was awesome at both the bar and restaurant. The beach is great. We walked and biked a long ways in each direction and I would say its one of the best stretches of beach. They clean the beach every day and there are a bunch of beach chairs and hammocks to use. They also have a great pier. We snorkeled off the end and saw tons of fish. There are buoys around the snorkeling area so the boats stay away. We also booked the snorkeling and catamaran trips right at Ramon's which was convenient. Hol Chan, shark ray alley, tres Cocos, and Mexico Rocks are all amazing places to snorkel. We did all of them. The catamaran snorkel/Caye Caulker day trip was great. Overall, our experience at Ramon's was extremely positive and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Winedinepartytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our 15 month old was treated like royalty by the staff. The entire restaruant and bar staff went above the call of duty in entertaining and occupying the attetnion of our son. The housekeeping staff schedule our room cleaning after our nap times to not interfere with our sleep schedule. Francis met us at the airport and constantly interacted with our son throughout the holiday, even taking time to allow our son to play with the water hose while he was preparing the grounds for a wedding. The diving was especially good with the dive guide Ernst and boat captain Andy. Thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: Beach or ocean view would be the besgt
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I kid you not! Everything was clean and everything worked, but this was a throwback to vacations back in the 80s. If you get with the funky spirit of the place, you'll have a great time. We had two double beds in the main building and after the time warp kicked in, sat back and had a great time. I was told that ours was one of only four rooms to be graced with a television, so if that's your thing, you'd better ask about it upfront. (Our first room absolutely reeked of mold, so we were upgraded to the television-equipped room next door. No smell. Staff was great about the move.) It was clean, the people were friendly, and the location was good. It's right on a great stretch of beach and you can drink (oops, I mean't walk) your way from hotel to hotel. Breakfast add-on is a good value, but I suggest trying some of the other eateries along the beach or in town for the variety and the quality. Dinners tend to taste a little mass produced. Plus I think it had to be a management requirement that the wait staff kept using your first name over and over and over. A little over the top and more than a little annoying. Internet was available on a slow desktop in the lobby. No mini bar. No room service. Good margaritas. A lot of people rent golf carts to visit other areas, but we never found the need. Ahhh, the island life! Wish I were there right now!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family just returned from Belize. We stayed at Ramon's for the the first part of our trip. We also had friends who stayed at Victoria House. We stayed in a cabana with 2 double beds in unit 46 which is steps away from the beach. The grounds and rooms are very pleasant. We are all divers (kids ages 17,14) and found the dive shop very convenient and well equipped. Our dive master Will was great and very competent. We rented a golf cart from the front desk and enjoyed exploring the island. We also visited Victoria house (where our friends stayed) it was very posh with a very nice beach. The resort reminded me of something out of a Tommy Bahama catalog.The area around Ramon's was much livelier and had walking access to restaurants and shops. After Ambergris Caye we went onto the mainland and visited Caves Branch Jungle lodge near Belmopan. I have written a separate review of this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
7.4 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing