We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramon's Village and San Pedro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ramon's Village and San Pedro”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The resort is literally walking distance from the small airport, although they will transport your luggage for you and will take you too ifyou like. All on golf carts. I had not been here before but other memberso fthe group have. Great place, great food, very kid friendly, nice staff. The beach and the pool (very nice) helped keep two active young children busy and satisfied. My only word of caution is that there was a big mix-up with what meals, if any, were included in the original price. We though breakfast was included for the adults, and found out later that was not the case, which changed the pricing considerably. We opted for the meal plan for lunch and dinner, which allowed a certain dollar figure for items on the menu and you could add extra items (not included) if you wishes. A modest lunch and very nice dinner with juice drink worked in the budget. Desert was extra but quite tasty, so it was worth it. We also had a room mix-up with the kids but it is not clear whether it was the travel agency or the resort who failed in the communication. It was a bit crowded but workable and we had a great vacation. The kids loved it, and that's what was important. Also good for diving, day trips to mainlan Mayan ruins, snorkeling.

Room Tip: All rooms are bungalow style, attactive in a rustic sort or way. Thatched "A frame" roofs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFeely600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    312
    90
    43
    22
See reviews for
229
546
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had a wonderful time at Ramon's Village. The staff was super friendly and efficient. I feel like Ramon is a long lost Uncle (tio) he made us feel very welcome. The Cleaning staff was always able to get every bit of sand that I dragged back to the room from the beach. Love the fact that each room has a fridge. The AC worked well even though all of the bungalows had thatched roofs.

The Dive shop staff was friendly. I especially the love Captain Edwin and Dive Master Palma on the MISS BELIZE (boat). They always helped me with my gear.

Alex and Ron at the Bar kept our glasses filled (virgin of course).

The only complaint I have is with the owner (AMERICAN INVESTOR). He does not allow any of the local music to be played. It is shame that a group of almost 40 black divers could not even hear any of the local black music, PUNTA. As with every genre of music there are family friendly versions of songs that can be played.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view or beach front room they are farther away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were referred to Ramon's Dive Shop through a homeowner in San Pedro and unfortunately I was less than satisfied. I had not been on a dive in over 2 years; and the first thing that the dive shop said to me was grab a BCD and put your gear together. I thought I was going to have an anxiety attack. I needed at least a little reassurance that these people cared about me and my life; but apparently they automatically assumed everyone on board was an experienced diver. I understand that if you are experienced this probably is a normal situation and you don't want to be babied...but they at least need to take the time to be personable enough to know what experience levels they have on board. In addition, our dive to Hol Chan (which was amazing the previous year with another dive shop) was horrible and disappointing because the dive master simply went straight through the cut without stopping to show us anything or allowing us time to explore our surroundings. We opted to dive with another outfit the next dive and it was 100% better. I would not recommend any amateur diver to use Ramon's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MRFaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My friend and I spent 5 nights at Ramon's in July. We did a lot of research and were more than satisfied with our experience. Check in was easy. We were given a seaside room that had a partial ocean view. The outside of the bldg. was unique and the room was well equipped with a nice king bed, beautiful h/w floors, decent sized bathroom and a porch with 2 chairs. It's not 5 star but if you are traveling in Belize you should know it's a more adventurous vacation to begin with.
The common facilities were in great shape & immaculate. The grounds were stunning. Breakfast each morning was delicious and the service was great. Nice strong coffee. Delicious fresh & local fruit. Fantastic views of the ocean.
We did not use the dive shop but the guys who work breakfast and man the bar gave some of the best advice about local food and things to do.
I had a pedicure on the beach and it was lovely.
The beach was one of the nicest in the area and towels & chairs were readily available each day. We rented a golf cart only on days we wanted to visit the north side of the island - everyone must hit up palapa bar.
One testament to the customer service at Ramon's was that on our last night we had a baby lizard in our room on the ceiling. We made a call to the front desk and we were moved immediately to another room.
I would absolutely recommend Ramon's to anyone who likes to experience a little bit of rustic accomodations with excellent service, food and amenities. Rustic is not code for "dirty". It's an adjective to describe what I think is a good balance in travel accomodations.

Room Tip: Order a happy hour cocktail and lounge in the pool or read your book under the big palapa at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pepebrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We didn't stay at Ramon's, but we were next door and our family group of ten ate most of our meals there.

The service is cordial and efficient, there is a large selection of menu choices for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and prices are reasonable.

Señor Ramon Nuñez (the namesake of the hotel) is the consummate host. Even though we weren't hotel guests, he spent a lot of time at our table making us feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I visited Ramon's Village in July for a vacation. The beach was lovely and ideal for relaxation - there were ample beach chairs, as well as shady places to lounge. We were also pleased with the quality of the restaurant - good menu options and prompt service. I appreciated all of the fresh fruit at breakfast!

We stayed in a garden room, which was a thatched roof cabana with a king bed and private bath. There were also two chairs on a shared porch. The room was comfortable, quiet and well maintained. The shower in the bathroom is a bit narrow, but we made do.

What stuck out for me most was how friendly and attentive the staff were. The servers in the restaurant were warm and extremely helpful, and the staff in the dive shop and at the front desk also had excellent customer service. The resort really felt like home to us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillyexpat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at Ramon's Village for 7 nights following touring Guatemala and Belize for 2 weeks and were looking forward to relaxation and water based activities. We were picked up by golf buggy and shown Rooms 10 and 11. Immediately the road noise assaulted my ears as both rooms backed on to the main road to the southern part of Ambergris Caye. Following a complaint the hotel moved us to Rooms 2 and 3 which were a significant improvement. However we were charged for an upgrade when we left (which I declined to pay). After 4 nights we were told that we would have to move back to our original rooms and when I resisted this we were moved to Rooms 14 and 15 which were better than the original rooms in terms of the noise but still there were some issues such as air on blowing so hard on the nearest bed that my husband had to build a barricade of pillows against it! On a positive note, we used the Dive Centre at Ramon's and were very happy with it. Valentine was great with my younger son doing his PADI and my elder son doing advanced PADI. My husband did two resort dives and I snorkelled twice - all great. The resort feels outdated but despite my reservations on the layout of the pool it was clean and larger than it first appears. The Garden Rooms should be avoided but the others are fine. Expect large dive parties from the US and I suspect that service would be stretched at peak season. It is well located for restaurants in San Pedro but noise from the airport is pretty constant from early morning.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank KateREBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
966 reviews
3.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
451 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing