We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GardenView - Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramon's Village Resort
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“GardenView - Not worth the money”
Reviewed November 25, 2007

First, the good - the hotel beach had to be one of the best on the island. The beach was the cleanest with the least amount of seagrass and a wonderful view of cabanas at ends of piers. Its location to town center was also excellent, another personal must haves for us.

This review is only regarding Garden View rooms. We did not stay at one of the units up against the wall, but all I can say is the room is ridiculously loud. We can hear the planes taking off, the trucks driving by on Coconut Drive (the floor would vibrate too), including the golf carts and whatever else drove or walked by.

We did not eat at the restaurant but the service from the Purple Parrot Cafe whilst on the beach was excellent. In general, service at the front desk was pretty good as they provide a safe at the front desk, fresh beach towels whenever you need, and transportation to and from the airport - though it was only a few minutes walk away. They do nickel and dime you, such as asking them to check us in on-line, they were going to charge us for the internet fees.

The room/hotel ambience was very island-ish with thatched roofs and we had individual cabanas with our own little deck but our roof had a leak and the water also leaked in under the door. It's a small leak when the torrential rains came but still, you don't expect that for the money you paid. As someone had put in a previous review, the rooms were a little grubby and dirty. There were cracks in between the walls, and little bugs flying everywhere. As a side note, we also stayed at the Sunbreeze where we got a deluxe room for $20 cheaper with much more amenities (fridge, cable tv) and much cleaner and quieter. Also, Ramon's does not have tvs at all - I know I know, we didn't fly here to watch tv but it is a nice way to unwind at night.

The pool was set in a nice tropical environment but we did not see one person using the pool the entire time we were there and the water was cold too.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank flyboyarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    316
    90
    44
    22
See reviews for
231
556
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2007

If you're looking for a cabana on the beach on Ambergris Caye, Ramon's Villiage is the place. Cabanas are air conditioned with a real thatch roof. You can hear the wind ruffling the thatch while dozing off at night. The People there are all so very nice and helpful. There are few rules on Ambergris Caye. Ramon's is very well maintained and beautiful.

We took a catamaran tour that stopped for snorkeling at the Hol Chan Marine Reserve. This was the best snorkeling trip we've ever done. We saw sharks, rays, turtles, moray eels, and any number of other types of marine life. The water clarity is spectacular.

We visited Caye Caulker and were glad we had chosen Ambergris Caye.

The food on Ambergris was simple and good, much like you would find anywhere in Mexico. Service is good but slow as everything is made from scratch. Shopping in San Pedro was fun. The town is so quaint. No paved streets, just cobbles or sand.

We rented a golf cart one day to tour about but it's not really necessary as Ramon's is just minutes from the center of town. People use the shore front as kind of a highway. You'll see people of all kinds walking the shore on their way to work or school.

Relaxation is very easy on Ambergris Caye. Time slows down. Worrys slip away in the sleepy little beachtown atmosphere. If you're looking for a posh hotel, don't come here. It's all simple and basic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon,bc
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

My husband and I spent 3 weeks travelling around Belize in May, and this was the worst place we stayed by far (actually it was the only one we didn't like). It was also one of the most expensive. We booked an ocean front room that turned out to be small and grubby as well as noisy. It was desprately in need of work and a coat of paint.
We had a couple meals at the hotel, the food was boring and very overpriced.
Service at the bar was good, they even brought you drinks in the pool! But again very expensive.
We liked San Pedro and plan to return, but we'll be staying elsewhere.
Lots of good places to eat in San Pedro, I highly recomend Casa Picasso for tapas type food and good wine!

  • Liked — good bar service
  • Disliked — dirty and run down
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chrissiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Had a great time learning to scuba while on vacation with a couple of friends. Gilberto (Gil) was very professional and thorough instructor and we all had a good time while we were diving in the beautiful waters amongst sharks and tropical fish galore. The bartenders and staff were all friendly and attentive. Our room was cute, but they could have had a better air conditioning system. It either blows directly on the bed or somewhere into the vaulted cabana ceiling. I wouldn't recommend spending much time eating at the restaurant. The food was bland and overpriced, but rather venture down the road to Mangos (excellent) or the Jamaican place on middle road which offers jerk shrimp/lobster that is VERY much worth the wait. Overall I would recommend this cute little establishment with great ambiance.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nickola02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

If you are going to Ambergris Caye for the first time this is the place to stay because everything is right there at your fingertips and it will teach you about the island. The rooms are definitely dark and ...... musty. Great not having a television for 5 days!!! The food at Ramon's is HORRIBLE!! The breakfast is Eggs, Eggs, Eggs, not much to chose from and the food is over priced. The rooms need to be modernized!! It's close to the airport, you can walk to the grocery store and to restaurants, you can rent your golf carts there and you are right down town. Would NOT go back, too many other places to experience on the island!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms were Musty and Damp and old
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank olliebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We just returned from a week at Ramon's and we really enjoyed our stay there. The customer service is EXCELLENT. I thought all the people who worked there were extremely attentive and good-natured. The rooms were "themy" and fun - the thatched roofs were cute (although it was hard to sleep when there was a lot of wind). The included breakfast was perfect although I do think their prices for lunch and dinner were too steep. The pool is tiny (misleading in the photos) and we never went into it - it seems more decorative than useful. The beach is gorgeous and you can always get a chair. You can snorkel near the pier and see sea stars, rays, trumpetfish, etc so that was fun. It definitely seems like one of the nicer hotels and we were all very happy. Some of the rooms back up to the street so there can be some noise at night. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank biologyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

I'm so sorry some people had a bad experience, but it reminds me of the old saw "Your expectations will be met . . ." We had a great time at Ramon's!

After four wonderful days at the Lodge at Chaa Creek, we traveled to San Pedro via water taxi to Ramon's, to our beachfront room (#61, not completely private but terrific if you get up early -- we had a private sunrise every day). They picked us up at the water taxi pier and we were quickly checked in; the room was clean, comfortably sized and cold -- but the remote for the AC worked and the whole time we were there it was just right. Our beachfront patio was perfect for morning coffee, and we always felt safe.

Bar and restaurant were acceptably serviceable, breakfasts were the best of their meals but all the food was pretty good (Dinner at Elvi's Kitchen's, five minutes' walk from Ramon's, is hightly recommended!). Staff throughout the resort were friendly and helpful. If it's your first time in San Pedro and you want a midpriced accommodation you can use to explore the town, it's just right. Next time we visit San Pedro (and there will be a next time) we'll probably stay at Victoria House, but for a first time this was fine.

Again, I'm sorry others on this site had a bad time, but if you go expecting a reasonably-priced, well-located and comfortable place, this won't disappoint.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
11 Thank TheresaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
1,027 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
3.0 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Property: Ramon's Village Resort
Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#8 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramon's Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic Palm Thatched Cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ramon's Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing