We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
241
164
50
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
241
164
50
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews squirrel's nest beach bar sea grass continental breakfast jerk chicken golf cart robin's kitchen ambergris caye small pool small resort in town fresh fruit other guests free bikes every morning hotel dock ocean view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 482 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights here. The staff are amazing! Elliot showed us around and was great at booking things. Enrique made wonderful drinks and was helpful on the restaurant front. It was a small hotel and you got to know your fellow travellers a bit. The seaweed is a problem, but they have someone, Nelson, working daily in the hot sun to clean it up. The bathrooms could use a little facelift and the hot water took a long time to come, but that's first world problems. It would have been nice to have somewhere inside the rooms to hang wet bathing suits, as they don't want people hanging their stuff off the balconies and loungers. The hotel doesn't have its own restaurant, but they serve snacks, and there are 2 restaurants at the end of their driveway (Robin's and Delicia's) that have delicious, reasonably-priced Belizean food. The pool is great to cool off in, but not large enough for alot of playing. Very nice hotel overall!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank skinahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

The staff is first rate,friendly & always helpful. Grounds & rooms always kept very clean. My wife & I had a suite and we also had a regular room for our teenage kids. The suite was basically flawless ( except & "here we go again" the hot water was dreadfully slow to obtain). The A/C & bathrooms in the regular rooms needed slight attention ( loose t/p holders, toilet seat loose & burned out lightbulb in room #5) A/C not cooling well in regular rooms 5 & 7. The breakfast does not start @ 7:00 that's when they open the building & start preparing. Coffee never ready before 7:30. Overall an unforgettable experience, outstanding staff & would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!

Room tip: Suite Preferred
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czar12, General Manager at Mata Rocks Beachfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thanks for your review. We will follow up on your comments.

Just to note the continental breakfast is served from 7:30 am until 930 am.

Terry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

I just want to say that by the time we left after a 6 night stay it felt like leaving family!! Elliot and Irma,Mary, Enrique,Nelson,,,,etc. Everyone was so friendly and helpful! I know they have taken some heat for their "toast" breakfast but they have sweet rolls,fruit and great coffee too! Although the hotel is small it is right on the beach with the most incredible view that will be imprinted in my mind forever!The pool and deck are beautifully maintained -and awesome! You won't get better hospitality anywhere, The rooms are small but clean and very comfortable. Also don't book your excursions until you get there because we had a bad experience with a snuba company. Talk to Elliot and Irma and they will set you up with the best and safest adventures on the island.Miss you guys!!!

Room tip: pool side has the awesome ocean view
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank aveator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017

My wife and I booked a last minute trip to Ambergris Caye to take advantage of the long 4th of July weekend. Mata Rocks was exactly what we were looking for. We had a poolside room which wasn't anything super fancy but everything we could ask for. Comfortable bed, good AC, hot shower, etc. The small pool is great for cooling off and the small beach area is great for laying in the sun and listening to the waves.
The staff at Mata Rocks is the best. They were very helpful in setting up Scuba and other excursions, recommending restaurants, golf cart rentals, etc. The little bar was also great for having an evening cocktail and socializing with the bartender and other guests.
We would absolutely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevey895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017

My husband and I just got back from spending a week at Mata Rocks and I can't recommend it enough. It's clean, beautiful and comfortable. Thanks to Elliott and Irma, we felt like family on our first day. Enrique, the bartender, was fun and friendly as well.

It's a small resort, but in the best way. It never felt empty in an odd way, but we often felt like we had the place to ourselves, sometimes only seeing one other couple at various times throughout the day. The bar area offers a spectacular view of the ocean and is a great place to chill out any time of day, and is also where the breakfast is served. (Also, you can walk into the ocean here unlike other properties that have a sea wall. There is sea grass, but Mata Rocks cleans it up every morning so it's not as bad as other places.)

Mata Rocks is located about a mile south of the heart of San Pedro, but it's within walking distance of several restaurants as well as Super Buy (a small grocery store). They have golf carts on site to rent for a decent price, but if you think you're going to want one for the whole week you should inquire about a weekly discount rental rate. There are lots of places nearby to rent carts, too, if they ever run out at the resort.

At first my husband and I wondered if we were doing ourselves a disservice staying a mile out of town, since we usually like to be right in the hustle and bustle of things when traveling. However, we also value a good night's sleep and San Pedro's downtown gets crazy! It's loud, crowded and teeming with people (mostly tourists) throughout the evening and night time. We kept saying over and over how glad we were that we booked at Mata Rocks so that we were close enough to enjoy the nightlife in town, but also close enough to get back to the resort quickly and easily and have a peaceful night's sleep. It's the best of both worlds staying here.

They can help you book tours here, too, and I'd recommend doing so as you will most likely get picked up at your dock instead of having to meet elsewhere.

I can't say enough good things about this place, really. It was the relaxing but fun vacation we'd been hoping for, and we had the best time here. I'd recommend getting a room on the second floor if you'd like more privacy, as the first floor ones open up to the pool. The best room is Suite 3 upstairs—it has a spectacular view of the ocean that can't be beat.

Room tip: Suite 3 has the best view!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meganemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews