We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! ”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay! ”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for five days. It was just as we expected! The location was good, the beach was quiet and private. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was just right and the bar had really good drinks! If you're not wanting to go all out on a room but still want good amenities (a/c, pool, beach, cable with plenty of channels, free bike use, golf cart rentals on site) we would highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ottlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    148
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
49
217
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

As all of the other reviewers have said, the staff at Mata Rocks is great. They are extremely friendly and knowledgeable and will go out of their way to help. We really enjoyed talking to them at the bar/breakfast area. The rooms are small (especially the bathroom), but are you in Belize to stay in your room? Besides the staff, what impressed us the most was how really clean the entire area is. Every day staff was raking seaweed, cleaning pool area, and all other areas. Empty dishes and glasses were immediately whisked away. The location is very convenient for almost everything and quiet!! If do you do not want to walk to San Pedro along the beach, a taxi is only $5. We cannot wait to stay again.

Room Tip: Room 7 is too small for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyhurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Upon arriving at Mata Rocks we were greeted by very polite and helpful staff. When asked if we were interested in any tours, I told them that I booked most of our trips prior to arrival. Not many smiles after that, with 30 years of travel under my belt, I know that networking and a few dollars, will direct business in a direction to benefit the staff. I was not upset with the temporary unhappiness of the staff, I know that a few extra dollars in their pockets goes a long way. We are very generous tippers which the staff soon came to realize. We plan our excursions to optimize our time not, to short change anyone. The better tour operators can be booked far in advance, and you can’t say “oh well maybe next time”. The breakfast was simple and served outside at the bar, there was fresh squeezed OJ every morning. My boys and I ate breakfast around the corner at a small restaurant it seemed the majority of other guests were smokers. We stayed in room 7, the room is really in some need of some updates, but we understand that tropical destinations are in constant need of maintenance, we focus on cleanliness and hospitality, both of which Mata Rocks does provide. There is not much of a beach at the hotel as told by other reviewers, but we did not spend our vacation at the hotel, we like to explore. Since our departure and arrival was shifted our last three nights were spent at an adjacent hotel. While at the other hotel I asked the staff at the front desk to please order wave runners for my family, she said I could use the phone in my room @ $1.26 per minute, I asked if she could make the call, and she said no. I walked back to Mata Rocks and asked Sheryl dean if she could make the call, she promptly picked up the phone and called. Those are the things that will bring me back to a hotel. For a family of four, room 7 is too small, if you have a group my size I would advise to find out if there are any larger rooms. The rooms are decent and the staff is hard working, and will help you with your needs.

Room Tip: There is a nice view of the ocean from room 7 but not much room for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Mata Rocks is a small hotel south of San Pedro in a quiet neighborhood, with easy access to town and a dock where you can be picked up by boat for trips. Safes and refrigerators provided. Bikes are available to ride around the island and to the Mayan ruin of Marco Gonzalez. The small bar serves both continental breakfast and afternoon/evening drinks. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything from recommendations for trips and meals as well as guest needs. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beorygun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedale
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Staff have worked there a long time so are very attentive as they must enjoy their work and be reasonably looked after to stay their so long and it shows, we had a balcony superior which was nice loads of room for the 2 of us, it also has a microwave, so I cheated at breakfast and took down scrambled eggs to have with the complimentary continental breakfast the hotel offers. The bar is quite Cody and everyone gets to chat, closes at 9pm though so great during the day and for pre dinner drinks, happy hour between 6 and 7pm. Free bicycles are available which is a very nice touch. Each room also has a diary or log book where guests could leave comments and advise on what to do or where to eat, it is a great idea to get actual guest reviews in room. Will definitely recommend Mata Rocks

Room Tip: If you can stretch to it get a balcony room, although pool sides are nice you are much more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our third trip to Belize and Mata Rocks in four years. It is refreshing to see the same friendly staff that we've come to know on a first name basis. The beachside location is a managable walk from town or you can grab one of the free bicycles or rent a golf cart if you are so inclined. Eustavio in the office will gladly set up any activity available from scuba diving, snorkeling with nurse sharks, cave tubing, myan ruins visits, sunset sailing ect.... that you may be interested in. One of the staff even gave me a fishing tip that allowed me to catch my first Tarpon from shore less than a 5 minute bike ride away (Thanks Kareem)
Sherilynn and Chriselda close the on site Tiki bar around 9:00pm ensuring you can get a good nights sleep for your next days adventure. If you want a little more night life a short walk down the beach you will find several beach bars that offer everything from a chcken drop, karoke, to live music. We have never felt unsafe on midnight strolls along the beach.
All in all Mata Rocks is a quaint, clean, quiet, comfortable base of operations for any Belizan adventures you may wish to activeties partake in.
P.S. My apologies to the staff I know I mispelled thier names, but wanted to recognize the individuals in appreciation for making our vacations memorable

Room Tip: Upper suites offer more space . Lower rooms are smaller, but poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wi_permagrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Matarocks has its location going for it which is on the less noisy outskirts of San Pedro and on the beach. The hotel itself is a decent value for the money but nothing special. There is no restaurant on site, only a beach bar which also serves continental breakfast, consisting of inexpensive sweet rolls, fruit, coffee and juice. Luckily there a many restaurants in walking distance, including "The Bakery" for pastries and sandwiches and located on the street towards town. Matarocks' personnel tends to be helpful and friendly, however, I will probably chose a different location the next time on Ambergris Caye.

Room Tip: We booked last minute to copy the itinerary of a family member and got a corner room by the pool of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globeluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#41 of 54 in San Pedro
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing