We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mata rocks rocks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mata rocks rocks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

These guys have a great place albeit is aways from town. They have a dock where they pick u up for trips and a fantastic staff. Shirley is a quality bartender and Irma runs the front desk with a smile always. They offer free bikes and have a great pool . The owner , terry seems like a cool dude . Thanks for a fun week.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dugcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    145
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
45
213
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Mata Rocks. If you are looking for a simple, but nice place to stay this is it. We stayed in #10, and it was perfect. Comfortable bed, plenty of towels, air conditioner, fridge, Wi-Fi, tv, and plenty of hot water. We stayed ten days and at the end of the stay decided that next time we will ask for a room with a kitchenette, just for the options of more eating in. The women in the out door bar were great, loved chatting with them and they were very helpful with island information. Our room was cleaned daily. Couldn't ask for more.!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

1st time visitor to San Pedro and to Mata Rocks. The staff are absolutely awesome ESPECIALLY Sherlyn....... Way to go! Hope I'm not butchering you're name, sorry if I am. The people I travelled with have been several times to this hotel and I can see why.

We went fishing and snorkeling all set up by Sherlyn. Not a single hick up, not one! If you like a clean, reasonably priced, ocean front hotel......literally ocean front, with a pool and a bar, did I mention, "all ocean front" you'll absolutely love this place!!!!

The only complaint I have is that we couldn't stay "FOR EVER"!!

Room Tip: Choose any, BUT we loved ground floor #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theroyals2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at Mata Rocks. We came back because of the friendly staff, the cleanliness if the rooms and the opportunity to chat with guests from all over the world. It is a laid-back and friendly place, where you can hop on a free bicycle and explore the beach and downtown or just hang-out at the breakfast/bar on the beach. It faces right onto the Caribbean Sea, and all rooms have an ocean view...but some are larger than others and more comfortable (like a small studio apartment). Some of the best food on the island is at Robin's BBQ across the street...you eat whatever is on the grill (jerk chicken, curry chicken, or fish) with rice/beans and coleslaw...it's all good and inexpensive. The staff at Mata will set you up with any excursion you want at a fair price, and the reef is one of the main reasons people come to Belize...so be sure not to miss it. A cab to town is $5 US, a massage on the beach is about $20/per 30 mins., and there are several very good restaurants in town or on the beach...Licks, Wild Mango, Waragumas, and Pupusaria. Wonderful baked goods at The Baker a short walk up the street. Belize is a magical place.....a melting pot for many cultures where everyone seems to exist in harmony and happiness.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite..it is worth the price difference. Some rooms are clean, but very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diharris27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Everyone is very friendly and fun. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent value. San Pedro is a great vacation spot. Don't be afraid of street vendors or food. Good water. Great place. We will be back again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susielolajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

mata rocks resort was exactly what I wanted. people friendly but you could do your own thing. staff friendly and helpful. the weeks I was there the guests all got along great. chatting over breakfast, sharing tales of the day, meeting for drinks. you could go your own way too. the resort is small enough to get to know folks but the staff will help you with anything. loved the bikes but golf cart for night

Room Tip: all ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nina6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
419 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here and loved every minute of it. We enjoyed every moment of our stay from the entrance, which included two complimentary rum punches (panty-ripper). There are bikes to use, also included that you will need to get into town. It is a 15 minute ride by bike or a 5 minute cab ride for 5USD. During the day, ride the bikes, at night you will definitely want to call for a cab. The front desk is more than willing to assist you with any of your travel needs. They assisted us with the shark ray alley tour (must do), calling a cab, bike use, and even phone use when I discovered that someone back home had been using my Debit Card to raid my checking account. The bar is nice as is the Continental breakfast offered free in the morning. The rooms were spacious and clean, poolside suites come with a kitchen, and pool and deck areas are clean, bright and inviting. Chairs and palapas are offered for guest use near the private beach. At night, it is completely safe on the beach side. Kind of remote on the road and very dark so we stayed close to home. We loved the service and grounds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#26 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#27 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#14 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banyan Bay Suites
Banyan Bay Suites
#23 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing