We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was the perfect hotel for us in San Pedro. It was close enough to town to take a very short cab ride, a nice 2 mile walk, or to take out the hotel bikes for a short ride in. It was always impeccably clean, it is absolutely beautiful, and the staff was extremely helpful and kind. We loved getting to meet other travelers and guests at the Squirrels Nest - the hotel's beach/pool bar, and spent quite a few hours going back and forth between swimming in the the pristine pool and lounging in the beach hammocks and lounge chairs. We were really glad to be a little tucked away from the center of town as we felt like we were in our own little tranquil oasis.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor balcony room and loved getting to see the beautiful view every morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 410 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

This sweet little resort seems like it was swept from the Aegean to let you watch the Mayan moonlight over a calm sea. As a solo traveler,the place was very secure,a walk into town for local shopping and produce stands was so easy another week and the sandals would be left in the room!Happy people, kids, and beach dogs dubbed "pot lickers" by the way they stay with you only while they are fed.hmmm.i lthink my mutt is one.The resort will book easy trips to the reef and inland Mayan sites They pick you right off the dock and return same.Breakfast is simple fruit ,coffee ,bread,.Rm was super clean ,frig,coffee,local natural soaps i miss.,Travel hint;If you love to walk in the rain as i do, please turn right instead of left when leaving the resort for town or else the first sign in english you will read is about a warning to not feed the crocodiles !locals used to feed them chickens for the tourists.As many tourists do seem to enjoy drinking belizean beer and driving stinky gas goft carts it seems there may be a story buried in this.Other locals say don't let little kids or dogs near this area...taste like chicken?I think Mata Rocks is a very safe place for family as well as solos ..party seekers best stay in town with all that.See the beauty of the place ..wish i was a diver..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The resort is attractive and very clean. The sea grass (?) is piled up on the beach in a large berm and is also in the water itself, making swimming impossible. The location is inconvenient, but taxis are cheap. The bar's staff was not particularly friendly.

Room Tip: If you want sea front, get the second floor - more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zilly1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I went to Mata Rocks for our honeymoon in June of 2010. I've written a few similar reviews but somehow missed Tripadvisor. That being being said, My wife and I never plan on going anywhere twice. We have been to many places and loved most of them but, it's a big world. The exception being Ambergris Caye. Part of the allure is Mata Rocks. First of all, the location is ideal. You're just south of downtown but a short walk, bike, or cart away. Just far enough away for the peace and quiet you're looking for. If partying is your thing, stay downtown. For romance and relaxation Mata Rocks fits the bill. Going just a bit farther south down Coconut Drive, you can visit less developed areas of the island. The service at Mata Rocks is exceptional. From arranging tours, taxis, getting flight and water taxi schedules, directions, you name it. The staff is at your disposal. I collect flag patches of countries I've visited. I asked the manager where I could find one. He said he'd find out and an hour later he put one in my hand. Above and beyond service. We stayed in a second story balcony room with a fantastic view. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The grounds are not very large but, neatly tended and with a nice stretch of beach to relax on. The squirrel's nest bar onsite serves up drinks and laughs. So, yes, we are going back for our second anniversary. And, just as excited for a second visit as we were for the first.

Room Tip: A great honeymoon or second honeymoon getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64dart270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a small little hotel, with lovely beach bar area and the most amazing views of the bay. Just slightly away from the main drag which is nice. Free, but rickety old bikes to borrow to go into town. Truly Caribbean flavour!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

5. Mata Rocks Resort in San Pedro is a small place, relatively cheap and so don’t have high expectations either. Take room no S3 for $10 more for great views. Nice ocean front. There are NO beaches anywhere in San Pedro anyway. At night all the employees except a security guy pretty much go home. Shower water force and temp are pretty weak. Rooms are quite small. Internet is very spotty. Beds are not that good. Do provide taxi to and from airport. Smallish bar. Breakfast decent

Room Tip: S3 best view but poor water force and temp in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supuvjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great place to stay with a quaint, friendly atmosphere that larger places lack. The pool and beach couldn't be closer to every room. The staff in the office was very helpful and friendly. We were there with our two children, ages 9 and 12. Having the beach and pool so close definitely made their stay most enjoyable! Our room was on the second level with its own deck. All decks overlook the pool and ocean. The first level all share the pool deck so if your looking for some quiet time on your own I recommend the second floor. Walk to town was easy and safe on the beach, even in the dark (about a half hour). We would usually walk there and then take a taxi back (about $5 US). Bikes were always available and the room was always cleaned well!

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and beach. Second level have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 54 in San Pedro
815 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#34 of 54 in San Pedro
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#24 of 54 in San Pedro
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#41 of 54 in San Pedro
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banana Beach Resort
Banana Beach Resort
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
403 reviews
1.5 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#17 of 54 in San Pedro
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $117 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing