We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique, quiet and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique, quiet and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mata Rocks and would recommend it for a stay on Ambergris Caye.

It's a little south of town, which we really appreciated. The heart of San Pedro is bustling and loud, and we were grateful to leave that each night and return to our quieter, peaceful hotel. However, if you're not up for walking a ways and don't plan to rent a golf cart, you might want something closer to town. It was a 20-30 minute walk to get to the center of San Pedro from Mata Rocks. The hotel has bikes available for use at no charge, but you can't take them out at night. And they're not in great condition anyway.

The staff members at the hotel were wonderful - always willing to help us arrange tours, give advice on restaurants and keep the grounds and our rooms spotless.

We had a standard room, and although the accomodations were small, they had everything we needed, including a TV. To our surprise, we were even able to enjoy a Thanksgiving football game from Belize. The bed was very soft and not all that comfortable, but that was really our only complaint.

If you're looking for something unique and not the typical big Belizean resort, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie78704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    135
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
43
202
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was my first stay at MRR and my first visit to Ambergris Caye. Bothwere wonderful. The resort is very nice, not too big, not too small. The staff is fabulous. The yare always smiling and will do everything they can to accomidate you. The resort is right off the ocean with a great pool to cool off and relax with a drink from the beach side bar.
The rooms were very clean, a great size with comfortable beds, AC, satellite TV, wireless internet, ours had a kitchenette, and nice sized shower.
Not too far from town; you can check out a bike or rent a golf cart (this is the best way to get around). They will also call a cab if that is what you want.
The front desk will set up all your excusions and they use the best companies.
I also heard they are going to start working with the locals on saving the turtles and reefs which makes myself as an eco traveler very happy.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view so enjoy them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We just spent a week at Mata Rocks. The rooms are clean with ocean-facing rooms. The pool and bar is relaxing. The staff is super friendly. I will be coming back to Belize and I will be staying at Mata Rocks again.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We just returned from a week at Mata Rocks and had a great time. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are super clean, the pool is refreshing, and the Squirrels Nest Bar has the perfect continental breakfast and is a great place to relax and enjoy the tropical breeze in the evenings.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just stayed a week at Mata Rocks while we dove 2 dives per day. The dive company will pick you up at the dock early in the morning. As for the hotel, we had the cheap Ocean View room. The bedrooms were super clean and the beds very comfortable. The restroom is a bit small with a shower and toilet seat and not much more space. The door just squeezes close: this is my only small complaint about the place. We were here during low season so the place was very quiet. Only a few other visitors. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. The white buildings and pool area are kept very clean. The beach is a clean white sand that gets covered in sea grass that is very soft when it becomes dry. Some snorkeling nearby but involves a bit of swim straight out from the resort. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
243 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Mata Rocks was a nice hotel to stay. It is a bit further south on the island but just renting a golf cart will get you downtown in under 5 minutes. They also have bikes you can borrow and ride to town. The hotel has happy hour each evening where everyone in hotel comes and shares stories of their day of hiking or diving. Really had a good time and made many friends.
Our room had a small kitchenette and balcony overlooking the water.
They did offer fruit and homemade bread along with coffee in the mornings at the bar.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms that overlook the water. We paid a bit more for these but if you like to sit on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotPocket505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a really great stay here for 4 nights. The first night was a bit rough as we had a downstairs room and apparently a herd of unusually large elephants were staying upstairs and had insomnia. Luckily they checked out the next day and we slept great the next three nights. Tip - pick an upstairs room, the floors are thin!

The Squirrels Nest - the onsite beach bar - is great and is an excellent location to meet other travelers if that's what you're into. We met pretty much everyone staying at the hotel over the course of our stay. The beers are cheap and very cold, and the bartenders knowledgeable about mixing good drinks. They have Belizean cigars in a humidor - try one!

Mata Rocks has at least one and sometimes two guys working on cleaning the beach, mopping the pool area, taking out trash, etc. They also have several people on hand to clean rooms whenever you're ready for it. They only have 17 rooms yet employ all of these people!

The only draw back is one in general with Belize - the beaches aren't great. Lots of sea grass washes up on shore, especially if there's a wind. Then there's the jelly fish and rays to be wary of. But you're probably not here for the beach, right? Scuba, snorkeling, fishing, etc is why you're here. Plus they have a nice, but small pool.

Next visit to San Pedro we will stay here... but in an upstairs room. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayan Princess Hotel
Mayan Princess Hotel
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#19 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
SunBreeze Suites
SunBreeze Suites
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Property: Mata Rocks Resort
Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing