We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central, clean, great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spindrift Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spindrift Hotel
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central, clean, great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I have stayed here off and on for years. It's right in the middle of town, close to everything you want to be close to and has a great bar downstairs, Wahoo's Lounge. Home of the famous chicken drop! A must see when you're there. The staff is friendly and the place is clean. It isn't the fanciest, but I promise you'll never be in the room anyway. But it's perfect for sleeping and showering...all you'll need. The side of the hotel closest to the park can get a bit loud, but just have a few belekins and you'll be out like a light.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZTAKPsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
9
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The establishment is clean well situated and the staff is absolutely adorable and helpfull.

Room Tip: Choose the room with ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at the spindrift hotel for an initial 5 nights and really enjoyed the hotel so added on an extra nights stay. Our first impressions were the hotel was clean, right in the centre of San Pedro and all staff were very friendy and helpful. We enjoyed our time at Spindrift, although it was a little noisy, but you are in the middle of town. However our opinions of the hotel have now changed as on the last night when returning to our room we noticed that both my husband and I had money stolen.
The room did not have a safe so we tried to hide some English money that we had been given as a gift as best we could. Mine was stuffed in the bottom of my travel bag, under some clothes, hidden in a hat then in an envelope. I checked and counted the money most nights as I had noticed one evening that my bag had been opened. It was only on the last night that £15 out of the £110 I had was missing. My husband also had £20 taken out of £220, but he had not checked his wallet before getting to the hotel (like me) so it is not a given that money was taken at Spindrift

.I reported the money missing the next day to reception who advised me they would tell the manager the next day and I would be contacted. It is now 2 days later and I have had no contact from the manager after sending 2 emails and the receptionist promising I would be contacted. Instead of any contact before we left I was comfronted by the 3 cleaning staff as they heard the money was missing, this was very uncomftable as I had not made any assumptions or suggestions who had taken the money.
I still wait to hear from the manager but will hold my breath. The amount taken was a small amount and I appreciate we did not have the money in a safe but there was not one in the room. Whoever took the money would have had to really rummage around as both amounts were hidden out of view and the doors and windows were locked at all times.
Make your own mind up about this hotel as up until the money incident I had really enjoyed myself. As I said staff were great, bar was fun and its very central. Personally it's just not worth the risk though of loosing money or other items but it's up to you. If it's happened once it can happen again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Asia2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I simply LOVE the Spindrift Hotel! Its is in the heart of San Pedro..This hotel is squeaky clean, and the staff are wonderful!!!! Downstairs is the famous Wahoo Lounge with the popular Chicken Drop!!! And Coconut Leo usually shows up to show his expertise of climbing coconut trees....(think gymnastics).. Hoping to bring my Grandson's there in the future...The views are spectacular from either the ocean side rooms or the common verandahs..Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Any room is good .If you take an ocean view you can watch the hub bub from your balcony..If you tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snorklerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Spindrift was a great place to stay, in the center of San Pedro and right on the beach! It had been recommended to me by a friend and I was very happy with my stay there. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Two of the three nights I stayed there was music playing into the early hours - but that's all part of the ambience! If you want a quiet, secluded beachfront stay, then you may need to look elsewhere, but if you like being close to the center of things, look no further.

Room Tip: Watch the sun rise over the Caribbean Sea from a beachfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SS150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My boyfriend and our friend and I shared a room for 2 nights at the end of our vacation. It came with a balcony, 2 beds, bathroom, tv and ice tray. It was all we needed to make a great stay.

There is an area to lay out with big soft chairs overlooking the water and the bar downstairs offers $3 us drafts. They also host the patented chicken drop.

It was right in the middle of the town and close to all the bars. From the air strip it is about a 10 minute walk and to get to the more resorty part of the island about a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTime619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Nevada CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nice staff, clean room and good restaurant downstairs doesn't make up for assuring me that it was ok to leave my sliding door open for the breeze. They came in my room while I was sleeping stealing passport, computer, phone and all my money. Do not rely on the security - they only watch the inside courtyard.

Helpful?
4 Thank Sierraraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
9.8 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#16 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Seven Seas Resort
Seven Seas Resort
#41 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
11.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#32 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
9.8 mi away
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
Exotic Caye Beach Resort
#38 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Hotel

Property: Spindrift Hotel
Address: Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Spindrift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel San Pedro
Spindrift Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing