We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,065)
Filter reviews
1,065 results
Traveler rating
867
139
38
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
867
139
38
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachfront casitajade spaour honeymoonview suitegaia riverlodgeambergris cayewater taxifishpaddle boatsmosquito nettingcoconut mojitosea breezerojo barturn down serviceshark ray alleythatched roofsnorkeling gear
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 1,065 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

We had an extraordinary stay at Matachica. The place is just stunningly beautiful, super big and clean rooms, awesome ocean sunbeds and a fantastic cuisine. Many details that made it even more spectacular: limewater everywhere, welcome drinks, perfect service. The staff was extremly friendly and helpful and made our trip wonderful. We even extend our stay even though the next hotel was already booked.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank EvelineK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

This place checks all the boxes and makes your stay really easy. We booked excursions through the hotel without any issue and got massages onsite, that were great! Food is a bit pricey, but I didn't mind paying since it was incredible. Just book it.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Krisbhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

Matachica Resort is an absolutely fantastic place for a quiet beach vacation. The accommodations are elegant but still give you a private/rustic Caribbean “feel”, the grounds are maintained meticulously, and the restaurant is excellent. Those three things are probably not the most notable elements if you can believe it. The front desk makes your stay almost maintenance free. They manage your transfers, pick you up at the airport, etc. All the various excursions/trips are listed with water taxi schedules, prices, etc. right up front and the front desk will book everything for you. Next, and this is a sensitive thing to point out to some, but if you’re looking for a true adult style “recharge” then we would like to mention that kids aren’t allowed. Don’t get me wrong, we love our kids and some may find the following “harsh” but sometimes you just need a few days of peace and quiet after years of non-stop family administration. Matachica underwrites this in spades. Finally, and I think an often underappreciated point, is their tipping policy. They add 15% at the end and you can dial it up a bit at your discretion (we sure did). Not once did I feel as if the staff were constantly “in my pocket”. This is nice and removes an expensive and awkward element that usually comes with most "resort" vacations in my experience.
Having a quiet coffee on the pier while watching the sting rays below, or walking the beach listening to the waves is a great way to wake up. Spend your day snorkeling, touring Mayan ruins, take a jungle tour, or just lounge by the beach/water and maybe start cocktails earlier than you’d ever practically consider in “real life”. Quiet dinner overlooking the ocean in the evening, go on another walk, read a book, whatever. If this is what you’re looking for, we would highly recommend Matachica.
Bottom line, we fully expect to go back and go back for longer than the 4 days we had this go around. Top notch views, facilities, and service.

Room Tip: The WI-fi extends to the rooms close to the main building (Lime has full internet access).
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank major16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Matachica exceeded our expectations! The boutique resort is intimate, private, and stunning with the private villas, infinity pool, and stretch of beach and docks you have access to. Our villa was always immaculate (thanks for the bug spray, you'll need it) and they provide turn down service every night. It's a really quiet resort (no kids) and it's five miles north of the island hustle and bustle. It's very romantic and the kind of place you should go to unplug and relax. There is no internet, clocks, or televisions in your villa which is a plus (but worth noting). They help you escape from it all!

The restaurant, Mambo, is delicious and I love how breakfast is included with your stay. Although we wanted to venture out to try other local food in our week long stay (and I recommend you do) it was nice that the restaurant was onsite. One of our favorite days was a Matachica excursion of reef fishing and snorkeling. The snapper we caught with our Matachica guide was then prepared by the Matachica chef! I also recommend their coconut mojito.

Perhaps the most impressive part of Matachica is the gracious, thoughtful staff. Every single person seeks to know you by name, provide personalized service, and will do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable. From the bar, to the restaurant, to the captains, to the front desk, to the spa - everyone was incredible. We hugged them all good bye because they made our stay so wonderful. I couldn't recommend the resort more. It is well worth the price. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Splurge for the oceanfront villas, order seafood (what's most local) at Mambo, try the daily excursions
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gracekboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

If you are like me, you are scouring Tripadvisor, looking for the best hotel to stay in Belize. Let me do you a favor and tell you to stop your search and just pick Matachica. We recently stayed for 5 nights at this lovely boutique hotel and everything, from our villa, to the food, to the service, to the location, was just downright perfect.

Upon arrival at the airport in San Pedro, we were immediately whisked away in a Matachica golf cart to the marina where a boat was waiting for us to take us on a quick 15 min boat ride to the resort. Our complimentary drink orders were taken on the boat and were ready upon arrival. We were shown to our lovely villa. We booked a Reef View Suite because all of the ocean view suites were booked. We still had a view of the ocean plus we were a bit more protected (one night was very windy) so we quite preferred the Reef View rooms. I don't think you could go wrong with any villa though. The room was so spacious with a sitting room, bedroom, and large bathroom/closet. Plenty of a/c but no a/c in the bathroom which was fine. There was also a hammock on our porch which we hardly used because we were kept so busy there!

Breakfast was included and you can choose anything on the menu. There were plenty of choices and all were delicious. We were usually gone during the day so we never had lunch here but we did have dinner here every night. We meant to go out for dinner at least one night but the food was so good at Mambo restaurant that we figured what was the point. Lobster season had just begun so I think we had lobster 3 out of the 5 nights. Delicious! By the way, everything is very casual and ladies, don't bring any heals, just comfortable sandals or flip flops is all you need.

The service is probably better than I've had even at a more expensive hotel like the Four Seasons or Peninsula. First of all, it's a small place so they really make an effort to learn your name and get to know you. I don't know how they did it, but the timing of the food and drinks was always perfect! Every single night it was like that. And one morning, we had an early excursion and needed our breakfast ready right at 7am. We pre-ordered it the night before and sure enough, it was ready at 7am on the dot.

We also ate a few lunches and snacks/drinks at the bar next door called Rojo's. That place is awesome and fun to go for a different scene. We would go and meet other couples that we'd met at our resort, have drinks, and sit in their pool. It's an awesome way to spend a few hours.

The water is lovely here and they do a great job cleaning up the seaweed on the beach. You can still enter the water from the beach and just wade through a bit of seaweed or you can also enter the water from their lovely pier. We kayaked out to the reef one day, didn't take long at all. It's only 1 mile from the resort. The resort offers excursions but just remember, you don't have to book with them. We booked our diving on our own with a company recommended to us back home. We also went on a snorkel tour with Island Dream tours (the Big Chill tour) and it was so much fun.

To get to town, you can find out when their boat is going in and coming back and take that for free, or just take the water taxi for $10 pp. One day we took the ferry to Caye Caulker for the day... take the boat/water taxi to San Pedro, then the ferry to Caye Caulker. It was a great way to spend the day and see another island.

We also stayed at their sister resort, Gaia Riverlodge, prior to our stay here and that was equally as lovely. A great complement to the beach, highly recommend. This place attracts a lot of honeymooners and other couples, it is a great place to get away, relax, and have a bit of fun. Don't bother looking elsewhere, just stay at Matachica!

Room Tip: Any rooms are great, I don't think you have to have ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cpmurphyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews