We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matachica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Azul Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Las Terrazas Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
X'tan Ha Resort(San Pedro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
828
136
36
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
136
36
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmata chicabeachfront casitajade spaour honeymoonview suitegaia riverlodgewater taxiambergris cayefishpaddle boatscoconut mojitomain buildingmosquito nettingsea breezerojo barminute boat rideturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I can simply not say enough good things about this place! We stayed here on our honey moon for 6 days 5 nights. The second we arrived in San Pedro, we were completely taken care of. The hotel grounds are kept so beautiful and perfect daily. The lobby has such an amazing feel, very relaxing! The food was fantastic and on point each and every time. The employees really take time to make you feel at home, they make sure to take care of each and every need or want you have. They are amazing! The service here is top notch, unforgettable. The entire atmosphere is great, very relaxing and peaceful. Definitely take advantage of the kayaks and go out snorkeling by the reef! If you want any excursions, they are very helpful. Our room was very romantic and comfy. Loved how each cabana had its own personal touch. The bar always makes great drinks! The spa was very relaxing with a great feel, the massages won't disappoint! We loved going on beach walks at night and laying on the big comfy chairs on the pier looking at all those stars! We went through beach bum vacations, using Erica, highly recommended!! She helped make the trip flawless and was extremely helpful through out the entire process! The only bad thing was that the vacation had to end.....We plan to come back for our one year and can not wait!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Everything is great, staff is beautiful people, sevice is great, rooms are a beauty and confy, decoration is gorgeous.

Its a cozy and friendly hotel. Not great for people who likes to go frecuently to the town.

Total relaxing atmosphere, details everywhere, awesome food, beautiful snorkeling trips.

I would go there every year if I can.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

we arrived by boat a wonderfull trip and a great way to view the island , arriving on the dock you are struck by the beauty of the resort it looks like you are the only place on a tropical island . the entrance is spectacular and the layout of the resort lends to privacy and peacefullness . The villas are well placed and the o]pool area is a beautifull spot surrounded by palm trees and tropical plants all facing the beautifull barrier reef just off the shore . we visited with friends and had a wonderfull meal in the open air restaurant and we were not disapointed all four of us had a seperate menue item for dinner my only regret was not taking a photo as the meals were excelent . The service here is a big part of enjoying your trip and you will not be dissapointed . we will be back for more soon .

Room Tip: all of the rooms are situated well , you may want a bit closer to the pool area but you will not be disapointed .
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The employees were amazingly friendly and accommodating! The rooms were okay/standard. The food was exceptional, and as a vegetarian they made sure they took care of me! However, if you are looking for a beautiful beach to swim and relax, this is NOT the place. The water, just above ankle depth, was filled with slimy sea grass, crabs, and other marine life that likes to hide in such areas. For us, this was a huge disappointment to our honeymoon. There is one swimming area that is about 3 feet deep and 5X8 area, but they gut the fish there and toss the extras in for the stingrays...thus you can only swim when the stingrays are not eating. There is a beautiful pool but it is always murky feels unclean. We had a couples massage to pass the time and it was, by far, the best massage I have ever had! If it were not for the amazing people that work at the resort we would have left upon arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kzims617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Matachica is a magical resort. Let me start with the less obvious; the people of Belize and all of the employees at this resort are the most friendly and helpful people we've ever encountered in any country we've visited. I woke up early our first morning (6:15 am) after arriving late in the evening the day prior and wanted to go explore the resort and get a cup of coffee but the kitchen was closed. One of the young men raking the resort offered to open the kitchen and brew me a pot of coffee. I was blown away. That's how it all began. The food, while moderately priced, was very good and worth the money. Our room (Pomegranate) was perfectly located and near the pool, the office and the restaurant. But, that could be said of every villa there. This is a private, secluded and small resort. The villa we had was beautiful, spacious and well appointed. However, you won't find alarm clocks, TV's or phones in the room. Your time there is about relaxing with the one you're there with. While you're far away from town (10 minute boat ride), there are always free water taxis offered by the resort at different times to and from the resort. If you miss the free one, the town water taxi service is easy to catch and run several times an hour depending on the time. The pool there at the resort is amazing and never crowded. Many days, my wife and I had it to ourselves. Again, the service at the pool is frequent and second to none. They never leave you wishing for anything. If you get bored after a few days of hanging out at the resort, there are other beverage and dining options up and down the beach. One within walking distance and offers spectacular cuisine and one of the best views we've seen. Again, dining in town is made simple with the water taxi service. Most scuba and snorkel companies will pick you up and deliver you back to the resort which makes daily trips very simple and free of complications. Kayaks, stand up paddle, sailboats, and snorkel gear are free of charge and guys at the beach side shack are helpful and ready to aide you if you have any questions. Great snorkeling is within a 10 minute paddle if kayaking is your thing. The water in front of the resort and within the enormous barrier reef is crystal clear and relatively shallow. You can stand up at the snorkel sites which makes gearing up easy for all and makes those a little more hesitant a little more confident. Let me some this up and say we don't like going places twice. We like the adventure of finding new places. But, we will be back to Matachica!!! My wife and I are already planning a trip back in 2015. Did I mention how great the people and employees were?? :)

Room Tip: Our room was located within the resort and it had A/C. The rooms near the beach get the gentle and steady breezes that our room did not get but the A/C units kept it plenty cool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews