We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I just spent a week enjoying Matachica. We couldn't have been happier there.
Since we chose Matachica based on reviews I want to gush for prospective guests.

First, the atmosphere was beyond beautiful. We stayed in Plum, right on the beach. It was perfect, beautiful, airy, comfortable. With our doors open we could see the beach from our bed. The restaurant and reception area are lovely, a wonderful blend of casual and fancy. The beach is gorgeous, clean and inviting. The pool/hot tub area is well tended and completely beautiful. Every afternoon there were couples hanging out there chatting and lounging. One morning we got to the pool before the hot tub was turned on and someone dashed over to ask if we wanted it on, without us even asking. Included in our package was one dinner on our front porch. It was romantic and gorgeous and everything we could have wanted!

Also, the staff was unbelievably competent, friendly and accommodating. They absolutely took a beautiful experience and made it exquisite. Irene and Anita at the front desk were so helpful! We tried to make a deep sea outing a few times, but due to inclement weather it was not in the cards for us. However, the amazing staff never stopped working with us to rearrange outings so we could have the time of our lives! The waitstaff were also incredibly helpful and friendly. Yara, Jose, Israel, Amy, and everyone were always courteous, and often went above the call of duty, to the extent of getting me soda from town when they didn't carry it in the bar. We miss them! We had spa treatments and our masseuses were talented, friendly and courteous, the spa is WELL worth a visit!

Then there are the excursions. We went reef fishing twice, the first trip was a bust, but the second was amazing, I reeled in a barracuda! Then the kitchen cooked our catch up for us for lunch, that was amazing!! Tino took us out that day and I highly recommend him! We also took the trip to Lamani. Our guides, Junior and Gus were great fun guys! The actual visit to the ruins was breathtaking, the getting there and back LONG. I would say there is 3 times as much travel as sight seeing in that trip, still worth it for me, but know your day is mostly boats and buses! We also went snorkeling with Chris. There are not words to describe how lovely that was. It was a perfect outing, I couldn't recommend it more!

You don't have to go on excursions to enjoy Matachica. The beach is gorgeous with chairs and comfy spots everywhere. The pool is a fun place to cool off (or warm up in the hot tub). The pier even has super comfortable couches to lounge on, or just jump off and swim or snorkel right there!! The food is incredible, fresh and wholesome. And every staff member I was lucky enough to chat up was friendly, interesting and knowledgeable.

I couldn't recommend Matachica more. We have already made a pact with another couple we met there to return for our five year anniversary!

Room Tip: Beachfront luxury casitas are amazing. Plum is the farthest from the main house, and feels almost se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    123
    32
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
737
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Matcchica as part of a Surf and Turf package 3 centre holiday for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It is wonderful, very romantic, lots of couples on honeymoon or anniversary celebrations, we had a sea breeze villa and it was lovely, nice and private, great air con, and very comfy beds the l'occitane toiletres are wonderful. The food in the Mambo resturant was truly outstanding, some of the best food we have ever had! The staff are great, very attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The pool was beautiful, and never busy. we enjoyed a massage and coffee body treatment! and a snorkelling trip. We can highly recommend Matachica for a luxury, chilled, laid back, relaxing, indulgent, romantic get way in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmabeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful trip to Belize and loved our stay at Matachica. The room was a thatched roof bungalow that was the perfect blend of rustic luxury. We spent every day on the beach and loved taking the kayaks out. The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive. We reserved a snorkel trip and the cave tubing/Mayan ruin excursion with the front desk and it was seamless. The hotel restaurant is very good and highly recommended for dinner. We definitely recommend Matachica!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Matachica exceeded each of my expectations. It was truly a special resort. Do not miss Matachica.

The staff went above and beyond to be accommodating and to ensure each guest had a perfect stay - they were incredibly lovely.

The huts were beautiful, clean in island style decor. Highly recommend the large suites with the sitting room as the main room and bathroom are very spacious as well as equipped with glass paned windows. The smaller suites do not have glass which lends to heat and outdoor wildlife "visitors". Turndown services each evening were lovely. No need to bring a hairdryer - there are good ones provided, not the wall mounted vacuum cleaner style. L'Occitane shampoo and conditioner at your convience too.

The beach was nice and each morning the resort raked the seaweed that would wash up to the shore overnight ensuring the sand was clean.

The infinity pool was beautiful and relaxing with a warm spa attached.

Restaurant had amazing food, probably the best on the island, so there was not much need to venture out every single night of the stay. The menu and wine list was fantastic.

Loved the dock that jetted out over the water with the lazy beach chairs and "sofa"'s - so relaxing.

There are a couple of comments in the past regarding loud music in the main hut which has the lobby and restaurants - not sure what those were all about. The music was quiet, relaxing and beautiful.

I thought San Pedro was a dump so there wasn't much need to venture out and though Matachica is only accessable via the water taxi or its own boat service, there was not much of an issue needing to go places - Matachica is able to plan any activity you desire.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the large suites with the sitting room as the main room and bathroom are very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavisEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I just got back from a week long stay at Matachica. We seemed like one of the only few couples there who weren't on their honeymoon, but that's beside the point. We loved this place and would highly recommend. Highlights:
- During a conversation with a couple other guests when we first arrived, we were told that it was the service that set this place apart, and that turned out to be the case. Everyone from the resort that we dealt with was very friendly, professional, and attentive. They seemed to have plenty of staff available any time the guests needed anything, but they weren't an overwhelming presence. They stopped by when sunbathing to ask if we wanted a food or drink with just the right frequency. They set up our snorkeling and fishing trips. They provided plenty of advice on when and how to get into San Pedro and other places on the island. Basically, everything we could have asked for was taken care of.
- My wife was five months pregnant while we were there, and I was initially concerned that our casita Mango was right next to the bar / restaurant building. But it turned out not to be a problem at all. First off, the place was pretty quiet in general. There wasn't much rowdiness at the bar. And most people called it quits at the bar by 10 pm at the latest, so noise was never an issue, and the bed was plenty comfortable to get a good nights sleep.
- I liked the location (5 miles north of town) because it was far enough away that you felt secluded, but then you could always hop on a 10 minute boat ride if you wanted to get into town for more bar and restaurant options. We paid close attention from the boat, and nothing in the 5 miles between Matachica and San Pedro looked as nice from the water. North of Matachica were a couple nice looking places (La Perla Del Caribe and El Secreto). I didn't spend enough time there to compare the rooms, amenities or service, but at least Matachica had the advantage of being closer to town.
- The food at the restaurant was fine for what you needed, if a bit overpriced for lunch and dinner. The few times we ate there was more out of convenience, and we enjoyed the meals fine enough. But there were a lot of places that we wanted to check out elsewhere. The free breakfast was perfectly fine, and the coffee was actually pretty delicious.
- Our casita was great. Bed was super comfortable, and the shower was really nice too. Also plenty of room for the things we brought.
- Other amenities we liked were (a) the three lounge areas out on the dock (b) free access to bikes, kayaks, and paddleboards from the beach and (c) the pool. The pool was back from the beach but got plenty of breeze. It was also a nice size and had just the right number of lounge chairs (not too many, not too few).

Overall, we are really glad we picked this place. The other place on Ambergris that we considered was Victoria House. We went there for late afternoon drinks and dinner one night, and were happy we chose Matachica. While Victoria House looked nice, Matachica had more of the exotic beach feel we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Mata Chica. Grounds are meticulous and beautiful. Our ocean view room was fantastic and spacious. Nightly turndown service with incense was very nice. The front desk coordinated our snorkeling and diving trips to the reef. Spa service was very relaxing. Only downside was the distance to the 'downtown' san pedro. about 10min by boat when the resort boats are running, and after hours, the water taxi is quite convenient. We went into town for 2 of 3 nights for dinner. Overall, romantic and great place for couples!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHfromAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon in one of the Beachfront Casitas and had an incredible time. The resort is absolutely beautiful and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful.
The room itself was very nice, and I have never stayed somewhere so close to the water (you could literally throw a stone in from our front porch area). Falling asleep to the sounds of the sea was wonderful and so relaxing. Additionally our bed was the most comfortable thing I’ve ever slept on in my life; it was so hard to get out of it in the morning!!
I was really impressed with how efficient everything ran at Matachica. There is a board at the front desk where you can see the different available tours and they mark your room down when you have been confirmed to go on one. Personally, I’ve been underwhelmed in the past with my snorkelling experiences, but we did one of Matachica’s recommended day tours and it’s a must-do while you’re in Belize… you won’t be disappointed.
Although you can easily spend the entire time right on the grounds of Matachica, enjoying the food at their excellent restaurant (which we did a few of the days), my wife and I like to explore a bit and this was very easy to do even though the resort is about a 10 minute boat ride from the town of San Pedro. Boats run 4-5 times throughout the day from Matachica and they will happily drop you in the town if you want to go up until about 6 pm. In order to get back it’s a very easy jaunt on one of the boat taxis from town and they will deliver you right back at Matachica’s doorstep for $10 USD per person.
Overall this was a fantastic experience and Matachica catered to all of our needs for a relaxing week after all the excitement of our wedding. The setting is perfect and the hospitality is top notch… truly a great place to unwind – we can’t wait to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Watermelon - the room farthest from the Restaurant/"Lobby" on the beach. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdoyle3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
6.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#9 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 54 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing