We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolute paradise on La Isla Bonita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Matachica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Matachica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise on La Isla Bonita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just returned from a week at Matachica Resort - and it's really hard to find a single bad thing to say about it. We're very experienced world travelers, and this might possibly be the best resort we have ever stayed at. Un-Belize-able location (as they say in Belize), fabulous food, lovely accommodations, but most important - impeccable service. Attentive, friendly, helpful, yet never obsequious. Waiters with a wonderful sense of humour and perfect service, a front desk that is beyond helpful - arranging inland expeditions to the Mayan ruins at Lamanai, or snorkeling trips to Shark Alley, or a relaxing pedicure at the lovely on-site Spa.

The Mambo restaurant is exceptional. Fresh local fish and seafood every night - shrimp, grouper, snapper - all done to perfection, with reasonably priced wines. The continental breakfast, which was included, was delightful and plentiful - toast, slice of cheese, banana bread, hard-boiled egg, orange juice, lots of fresh fruit.

The "infinity" pool is simply luscious - with a great hot tub inside it. And waiters to bring you tropical drinks all day.

The beach is nice soft sand, but like all the beaches on Ambergris Caye, the shore is dense with sea grass, so if you want to swim in the ocean, then you have to go off the end of the long dock. But we went on 2 snorkeling trips, so we got lots of ocean swimming.

We stayed in the Seabreeze bungalow, and it was excellent. You're outside all day, so you don't miss the view of the beach. Hammock on the front porch, nice linens on the bed, huge bathroom and shower - lots of beach towels for the pool.

If you didn't get the reference in the title of this review, it refers to the old Madonna song, which was written about San Pedro and Ambergris Caye. As she says, "Tropical the island breeze; All of nature wild and free." That's Matachica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HighcroftManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    110
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
56
658
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay at the Matachia has been very pleasant. Our room though off the beach (we were in the Passion Fruit cabana) was beautiful, clean, simple & luxurious. The infinity pool was very nice, the grounds kept clean and the sand raked throughout the day. The staff was exceptionally friendly & helpful in all circumstances. A small boutique resort I would recommend to anyone. Our excursions (snorkeling for instance) were better at the Matachia than the charters we took in San Pedro. The restaurant served excellent dinners, as good as any restaurant anywhere & the continental breakfast of 2 hard boiled eggs, two small cups of sweet fruit flavoured yogurt, a small slice of cheese & an assortment of fruit wedges, papaya, watermelon, pineapple, & half a banana. We chose not to indulge in cereal or the roll that was also offered. was light and provided us with a good start to the day. Wi-Fi in the cabins would have been nice but you can have W-Fi usually access basically anywhere in the lobby, lounge or restaurant. Though it is not always available. When we were there there can be some mosquities at night & in the morning. The resort is a distance from San Pedro (about a 20 minute boat ride) and if you don’t mind that than I can’t see you having anything but a positive stay at Matachia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMacDRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A really excellent hotel, the most outstanding thing, as well as many others, is the high standard of staff training. They are polite, efficient, attentive and appear to be really enjoying their work. We found the bar a little expensive but the restaurant was good value, serving superbly cooked food, attractively presented. On several evenings people came in by boat to eat in the restaurant. There is no trouble finding empty sun beds at either the pool or the beach. Swimming off the beach is a bit impossible as the coral and sea grass comes almost up to the sand and this makes it very shallow but there is a swimming area off the end of the hotel's boat jetty. The bar waiters make regular trips to these areas to see if any beverages are required. The resort runs a no tipping policy but a charge of 15% is levied from your food and beverage bill as a tip for the staff.For those who are a bit adventurous there is a bit of a run down restaurant, the Jabal Jerk Pit, serving Belize and Jamaican food, 10 minutes along the beach to the north. To the south there is Rojo's Bar and a bit further is a small bar (closes at 7pm) that does lunches. Their prices are comparable with the hotel and the food and service is probable better at the Matachica. If you want to go for a walk stay on the beach, DO NOT venture behind the hotel, the mangrove swamps there are the home to 'man eating mosquitoes'. The hotel run several boats to San Pedro (see the chalk board by the reception desk for times) but the last boat is at 5 pm, after that a water taxi is required at US$ 10 per person.
The rooms or bungalows were spacious well maintained and spotlessly clean with a raised sleeping area (flowers petals laid out each day) and a seating area. The room has ceiling fans, ours had air con. but with the door louver slats open the onshore breeze kept the room cool. The bathroom was large and well stocked with toiletries. The hotel has a water treatment plant and the tap water is drinkable.
The only two drawbacks we found was the hotel was a bit isolated for us, and the breakfast. A complementary breakfast (paid for in the 'not' cheap room rate) where you had one of the two choices and came on a plate, not as a buffet self-service. One could order other cooked breakfast items that were added to your food bill. On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay and were looked after very well.

Room Tip: The bungalows facing the pool are close to the reception and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Having spent over two weeks travelling through the countryside of Guatemala and Belize we were somewhat horrified to land in a bustling noisy touristy San Pedro. However the helpful guys from Matachica met our plane in their golf buggies, took us to the jetty and 15 minutes later we had arrived at the hotel to receive cocktails that had been ordered en route! And what a contrast - peaceful, tranquil, beautiful views from the room across the coral sand beach out over the turquoise sea. And what a room! Comfortable, great shower, wonderful views and a relaxing hammock on the deck.
Food was very good and not overpriced. Easy to get to San Pedro by complimentary speedboat or water- taxi - if that is really what you want! And great trips from the hotel jetty out to the reefs - or better, take a kayak out yourself to the reef and snorkel from there
The only picky point that I'd make is that you can't actually swim from the beach - it's simply too shallow. But the pool is great and it's easy to find transport to the reef

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We picked this hotel because we like smaller, intimate places with a bit of a personality and this hotel perfectly satisfied that criteria. From the very stylish arrival by speedboat, the staff looked after us fantastically and we felt relaxed and at home here.
We picked one of the Seaview Suites which I understand are 4 new cabanas and they are situated at the back of the property behind the swimming pool. Whilst not as glamorous as those directly on the beach, we liked them because there was no need for anybody to walk past our room. The cabana itself was beautiful - high quality linens, nice seating area, huge bathroom and lots of storage space for clothes, and generally really quite spacious. Rooms were serviced twice daily with clean towels and new floral decorations each day.
Despite the property being quite full while we were there, it never feels like it - loads of sun loungers on the beach and at the pool mean that you always have space.
There is a pool and beach service which isn't regular but we were always happy to walk to the bar and order if need be and drinks were immediately delivered.
The restaurant is very good although it does get busy with people from outside the property - however hotel guests are always accommodated without reservations.
We found all of the staff, from housekeeping to the watersports guys to the lovely receptionists to be absolutely fantastic - they really go out of their way to ensure you're having a good time and can't do enough for you.
I would not hesitate to go back to Matachica - in fact, despite the distance and the need to clear the tedious US immigration, I don't think I'd consider a Caribbean holiday anywhere else in the future. I can't see anywhere being better than this.

Room Tip: If you can get full breakfast included in your rate, go for it. It's worth paying extra for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I luckily found this little Bohemian gem last minute and they were able to accomodate a spontaneous stay. Based on my own experience, I can say all the great reviews are true. Matachica was warm, charming, and totally lovely. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to the late booking- one larger, which was airy and dreamy (bit more expensive). And a smaller one that was also quite quaint (less expensive). The decor throughout is Bohemian / chill. If you like Four Seasons, this is not for you. If you like something more earthy / vibrant / moody this is for you. (They even did well with the music.)

The staff was beyond gracious and accommodating in every way- even helping me score an epic Birthday cake from one of the best bakeries in town. We shared the cake with the staff because we actually felt we had made friends there.

Other Belize stuff: The staff gave us great advice on Belize in general, diving, etc. We got the heads up to work with White Sands- a small dive shop which ended up really making the trip a full throttle dive adventure. We did many local dives with White Sands- and later conquered the Great Blue Hole with the awesome larger dive operation, Amigos Del Mar.

Our greatest meal was at a place in town called Elvi's Kitchen based on their advice. Small but not a deal breaker criticism- Matachica could do better a little better with food- it's decent, but sort of in the middle. They could benefit from bringing a little Belizean flair to the menu vs. trying to accomodate an more general American menu.

All in all it was a magical stay- and looking forward to going back. Waking up to the chirping birds and the breeze in the morning is something I need more of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, il USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from here and can't wait to let everyone know what a great place it was. From the moment we booked the trip, they made it so easy through email and had quick responses. We bought the 4 night package and added 2 additional nights which was the perfect amount of time. The package deals were great with breakfast and dinners included. Speaking of the food it was amazing! Lots of fresh fish and great flavor. We went on a fishing trip one day and it was great they prepared our lunch with the red snapper and trigger fish that we caught. Matachica makes it so easy to snorkel by the reef right in front of the resort with the kayaks and snorkel gear provided. Ho Chun and shark alley were amazing! The casitas are perfect and a great breeze comes in on every angle. You can walk up and down the beach with ease. The staff is very friendly and is more than willing to help. I would highly recommend this place and am counting the days till I can taste another Belikin beer :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
7.8 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#2 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
6.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing