We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We picked this hotel because we like smaller, intimate places with a bit of a personality and this hotel perfectly satisfied that criteria. From the very stylish arrival by speedboat, the staff looked after us fantastically and we felt relaxed and at home here.
We picked one of the Seaview Suites which I understand are 4 new cabanas and they are situated at the back of the property behind the swimming pool. Whilst not as glamorous as those directly on the beach, we liked them because there was no need for anybody to walk past our room. The cabana itself was beautiful - high quality linens, nice seating area, huge bathroom and lots of storage space for clothes, and generally really quite spacious. Rooms were serviced twice daily with clean towels and new floral decorations each day.
Despite the property being quite full while we were there, it never feels like it - loads of sun loungers on the beach and at the pool mean that you always have space.
There is a pool and beach service which isn't regular but we were always happy to walk to the bar and order if need be and drinks were immediately delivered.
The restaurant is very good although it does get busy with people from outside the property - however hotel guests are always accommodated without reservations.
We found all of the staff, from housekeeping to the watersports guys to the lovely receptionists to be absolutely fantastic - they really go out of their way to ensure you're having a good time and can't do enough for you.
I would not hesitate to go back to Matachica - in fact, despite the distance and the need to clear the tedious US immigration, I don't think I'd consider a Caribbean holiday anywhere else in the future. I can't see anywhere being better than this.

Room Tip: If you can get full breakfast included in your rate, go for it. It's worth paying extra for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    124
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
67
756
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I luckily found this little Bohemian gem last minute and they were able to accomodate a spontaneous stay. Based on my own experience, I can say all the great reviews are true. Matachica was warm, charming, and totally lovely. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to the late booking- one larger, which was airy and dreamy (bit more expensive). And a smaller one that was also quite quaint (less expensive). The decor throughout is Bohemian / chill. If you like Four Seasons, this is not for you. If you like something more earthy / vibrant / moody this is for you. (They even did well with the music.)

The staff was beyond gracious and accommodating in every way- even helping me score an epic Birthday cake from one of the best bakeries in town. We shared the cake with the staff because we actually felt we had made friends there.

Other Belize stuff: The staff gave us great advice on Belize in general, diving, etc. We got the heads up to work with White Sands- a small dive shop which ended up really making the trip a full throttle dive adventure. We did many local dives with White Sands- and later conquered the Great Blue Hole with the awesome larger dive operation, Amigos Del Mar.

Our greatest meal was at a place in town called Elvi's Kitchen based on their advice. Small but not a deal breaker criticism- Matachica could do better a little better with food- it's decent, but sort of in the middle. They could benefit from bringing a little Belizean flair to the menu vs. trying to accomodate an more general American menu.

All in all it was a magical stay- and looking forward to going back. Waking up to the chirping birds and the breeze in the morning is something I need more of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, il USA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from here and can't wait to let everyone know what a great place it was. From the moment we booked the trip, they made it so easy through email and had quick responses. We bought the 4 night package and added 2 additional nights which was the perfect amount of time. The package deals were great with breakfast and dinners included. Speaking of the food it was amazing! Lots of fresh fish and great flavor. We went on a fishing trip one day and it was great they prepared our lunch with the red snapper and trigger fish that we caught. Matachica makes it so easy to snorkel by the reef right in front of the resort with the kayaks and snorkel gear provided. Ho Chun and shark alley were amazing! The casitas are perfect and a great breeze comes in on every angle. You can walk up and down the beach with ease. The staff is very friendly and is more than willing to help. I would highly recommend this place and am counting the days till I can taste another Belikin beer :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the time we were met at the airport, escorted by boat to the resort , provided a cold refreshing beverage of choice welcoming us to the resort, the service never disappointed. The casitas were tastefully decorated with thatched roofs and distinct bright colors, cleaned daily with fresh flowers and provided fantastic views of the water within a few steps to the white, sandy beaches. Staff meticulously raked the seagrass to keep the beach beautiful. Breakfast consisted of 2 choice continental breakfasts or you could choose from the menu. The 1 lunch we had at the resort was fresh and tasty with island spices. Dinners were expensive, but the seafood specials were delicious. We enjoyed the wine selection and of course the "best key lime pie on the island"! The resort provided free bikes for riding to town or strolling on the beach. Additionally, the resort provided complimentary kayaks allowing us to paddle to the reef, and snorkel at our leisure on the beautiful barrier reef. The resort coordinated our snorkeling excursion to Hol Chen (a must) and to Laminai Mayan Ruins (we are glad we opted to fly over....). The staff at Matachica were the best we encounted in our travels. Anita with her coordination of our stay and fantastic taste in music... to Abbey, Myra, Jonathan, Reuben, Sissy, Dennis, Isreal, Irene, Guisepie, Anner, Chris, Noelle, Raymondo and all the staff unnamed we know keep this resort a special place we want to extend a special thank-you for the kind service. We look forward to our return visit to this paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 glorious days at Matachica in February. From the moment we were greeted at the airport and ferried to the resort by boat to the return trip at the end of our vacation the staff were unfailingly polite, upbeat and helpful. Everyone we encountered was ready to help and so friendly. The hardworking housekeeping staff always made sure that our room was a pleasure to come back to at the end of each day with flowers on the bed and in the bathroom and fluffy fresh towels at the ready. The food at the resort was also excellent and we really enjoyed our servers, especially Jonathan and Dennis. One real bonus for us was the fact that we could kayak out to the reef and snorkel whenever we wanted. This is not something that is found at every resort. After staying at lots of all-inclusives this resort was a little piece of paradise. Thanks Matachica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fussytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

we had a great stay here! we were actually happy that we did not stay in the city because the hotels that in the city do not have as much space and aren't on a beautiful stretch of land like matachica is. It takes about 15-20 min to get to matachica from the center of san pedro, which isn't bad. we both agreed we liked being on a more remote part of the island. we took bikes into town on 2 occasions, which was an adventure. the ride on the beach is hard where the sand is soft, and the road is pretty bumpy, but it was fun to do either way.

the resort: the beach had sea grass.so there were only small sections that we could sit in. the reef was only a 10 min kayak trip out and we saw stingrays and fish. our room was nice. the air conditioning didnt work that well, but we dealt with it. the wifi is very spotty and does not work often. if you are staying in a room away from the main lobby it will not work in your room. the size of the resort (20 rooms) makes you bond with the people staying there, which was nice. you tend to talk to people more there because you see them around all the time!

food was good. we wished that they had a variety for the continental breakfast rather than the same two options each morning. only had dinner there one night and my fish was good, my husbands ravioli wasn't. drinks were good.

excursions: we just did hol chan/shark ray alley through the hotel. it was awesome! do it through the hotel to avoid the hassle of going into town and to avoid big groups. we enjoyed kayaking, laying on the beach,and paddleboarding. other people said they liked the ATM ruins, but that is a whole day thing.blue hole is super expensive.

overall we loved it. although you are far from town we feel that it is worth it! we would totally stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gado0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Expensive, but very good all around. Very good staff, rooms, grounds, food, pool, service, clean and relaxed and romantic. But, beach is shallow with too much seaweed and plants and no surf, and the physical fitness facility minimal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
6.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
843 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
1,341 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing