We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matachica Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Bay Suites(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SunBreeze Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caribbean Villas Hotel(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$166
$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Cove Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$130
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramon's Village Resort(San Pedro)(Great Value!)
$290
$155
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Secreto(San Pedro)
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$419
$406
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
840
135
37
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
840
135
37
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmata chicabeachfront casitajade spaour honeymoonview suitegaia riverlodgewater taxiambergris cayefishpaddle boatscoconut mojitomain buildingmosquito nettingsea breezerojo barminute boat rideturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
620 - 625 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 glorious days at Matachica in February. From the moment we were greeted at the airport and ferried to the resort by boat to the return trip at the end of our vacation the staff were unfailingly polite, upbeat and helpful. Everyone we encountered was ready to help and so friendly. The hardworking housekeeping staff always made sure that our room was a pleasure to come back to at the end of each day with flowers on the bed and in the bathroom and fluffy fresh towels at the ready. The food at the resort was also excellent and we really enjoyed our servers, especially Jonathan and Dennis. One real bonus for us was the fact that we could kayak out to the reef and snorkel whenever we wanted. This is not something that is found at every resort. After staying at lots of all-inclusives this resort was a little piece of paradise. Thanks Matachica!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fussytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

we had a great stay here! we were actually happy that we did not stay in the city because the hotels that in the city do not have as much space and aren't on a beautiful stretch of land like matachica is. It takes about 15-20 min to get to matachica from the center of san pedro, which isn't bad. we both agreed we liked being on a more remote part of the island. we took bikes into town on 2 occasions, which was an adventure. the ride on the beach is hard where the sand is soft, and the road is pretty bumpy, but it was fun to do either way.

the resort: the beach had sea grass.so there were only small sections that we could sit in. the reef was only a 10 min kayak trip out and we saw stingrays and fish. our room was nice. the air conditioning didnt work that well, but we dealt with it. the wifi is very spotty and does not work often. if you are staying in a room away from the main lobby it will not work in your room. the size of the resort (20 rooms) makes you bond with the people staying there, which was nice. you tend to talk to people more there because you see them around all the time!

food was good. we wished that they had a variety for the continental breakfast rather than the same two options each morning. only had dinner there one night and my fish was good, my husbands ravioli wasn't. drinks were good.

excursions: we just did hol chan/shark ray alley through the hotel. it was awesome! do it through the hotel to avoid the hassle of going into town and to avoid big groups. we enjoyed kayaking, laying on the beach,and paddleboarding. other people said they liked the ATM ruins, but that is a whole day thing.blue hole is super expensive.

overall we loved it. although you are far from town we feel that it is worth it! we would totally stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gado0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Expensive, but very good all around. Very good staff, rooms, grounds, food, pool, service, clean and relaxed and romantic. But, beach is shallow with too much seaweed and plants and no surf, and the physical fitness facility minimal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brookssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Matachica Resort is truly one of a kind. We have never experienced anything quite like the R & R that Matachica provided. Somehow, staff members have managed to find the prefect balance between luxury and simplicity. Staying at the Matachica Resort is like staying with brothers and sisters that you actually like. The informality we felt among the staff, remained unspoiled and welcomed. We stayed on a package which included dinner each night. We never tired of the dining. The food was excellent and unlike other vacation experiences, we would have eaten our dinner every night at the Matachica even if we did not have the package. It was like having a home cooked meal by a renowned chef each night. The expertise by which this hotel operates should be envied by other hotels. Everything runs smoothly and it seems to come easily and happily. The design of this property, inside and out, uses the stunning natural surroundings in a remarkable way. It appears that much thought went in to building while preserving the environment at the same time. This beautiful property, The Matachica, has it all going on!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lourdesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After a week long mission trip working at Holy Cross Anglican School in San Pedro, we took a few day of R&R at Matachica. What an incredible resort. We were treated like royalty from the time we boarded the boat to take us to the resort until the final golf cart ride to the airport. The staff is amazingly courteous and friendly and they were quietly present around the resort to cater to our needs and desires. We stayed in a beachfront "Casita" that was about 50 ft from the water. A double sized beach chaise and a hammock were right out side our door. We never turned the AC on as the beach breezes and the well ventilated casitas stayed nice and cool. We could open the front door and see the waves breaking on the barrier reef from our king sized, mosquito netted bed. We took advantage of the spa services and had massages for a very relaxing time. The resort has kayaks, surf boards, sailboats, pedal boats, scuba gear and fishing gear available at no charge to guests. Lots of other diving and water experiences could be arranged by the staff.
The swimming pool was a beautiful infinity pool with lounge chairs in the water and a hot tub available. The food and drink were wonderful too. Water taxis were availed to take guests into San Pedro for shopping or dining away from the resort, but the food at the resort restaurant is so good that we didn't want to take any time away from being at Matachica.

One could very easily get used to this relaxed and beautiful place. The lifestyle in Belize operates on island time which is a very casual pace. This is an incredibly restful place, especially after working at the school. It is an adult resort, no children under 12, so if you are looking for a quiet spot enjoy and relax on the cayes of Belize, Matachica is a wonderful resort.

Room Tip: The Casitas on the beach are worth the extra expense!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews