We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A lovely peaceful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely peaceful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I spent 10 glorious days at Matachica in February. From the moment we were greeted at the airport and ferried to the resort by boat to the return trip at the end of our vacation the staff were unfailingly polite, upbeat and helpful. Everyone we encountered was ready to help and so friendly. The hardworking housekeeping staff always made sure that our room was a pleasure to come back to at the end of each day with flowers on the bed and in the bathroom and fluffy fresh towels at the ready. The food at the resort was also excellent and we really enjoyed our servers, especially Jonathan and Dennis. One real bonus for us was the fact that we could kayak out to the reef and snorkel whenever we wanted. This is not something that is found at every resort. After staying at lots of all-inclusives this resort was a little piece of paradise. Thanks Matachica!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fussytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    113
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
58
676
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

we had a great stay here! we were actually happy that we did not stay in the city because the hotels that in the city do not have as much space and aren't on a beautiful stretch of land like matachica is. It takes about 15-20 min to get to matachica from the center of san pedro, which isn't bad. we both agreed we liked being on a more remote part of the island. we took bikes into town on 2 occasions, which was an adventure. the ride on the beach is hard where the sand is soft, and the road is pretty bumpy, but it was fun to do either way.

the resort: the beach had sea grass.so there were only small sections that we could sit in. the reef was only a 10 min kayak trip out and we saw stingrays and fish. our room was nice. the air conditioning didnt work that well, but we dealt with it. the wifi is very spotty and does not work often. if you are staying in a room away from the main lobby it will not work in your room. the size of the resort (20 rooms) makes you bond with the people staying there, which was nice. you tend to talk to people more there because you see them around all the time!

food was good. we wished that they had a variety for the continental breakfast rather than the same two options each morning. only had dinner there one night and my fish was good, my husbands ravioli wasn't. drinks were good.

excursions: we just did hol chan/shark ray alley through the hotel. it was awesome! do it through the hotel to avoid the hassle of going into town and to avoid big groups. we enjoyed kayaking, laying on the beach,and paddleboarding. other people said they liked the ATM ruins, but that is a whole day thing.blue hole is super expensive.

overall we loved it. although you are far from town we feel that it is worth it! we would totally stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gado0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Expensive, but very good all around. Very good staff, rooms, grounds, food, pool, service, clean and relaxed and romantic. But, beach is shallow with too much seaweed and plants and no surf, and the physical fitness facility minimal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Matachica Resort is truly one of a kind. We have never experienced anything quite like the R & R that Matachica provided. Somehow, staff members have managed to find the prefect balance between luxury and simplicity. Staying at the Matachica Resort is like staying with brothers and sisters that you actually like. The informality we felt among the staff, remained unspoiled and welcomed. We stayed on a package which included dinner each night. We never tired of the dining. The food was excellent and unlike other vacation experiences, we would have eaten our dinner every night at the Matachica even if we did not have the package. It was like having a home cooked meal by a renowned chef each night. The expertise by which this hotel operates should be envied by other hotels. Everything runs smoothly and it seems to come easily and happily. The design of this property, inside and out, uses the stunning natural surroundings in a remarkable way. It appears that much thought went in to building while preserving the environment at the same time. This beautiful property, The Matachica, has it all going on!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdesabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After a week long mission trip working at Holy Cross Anglican School in San Pedro, we took a few day of R&R at Matachica. What an incredible resort. We were treated like royalty from the time we boarded the boat to take us to the resort until the final golf cart ride to the airport. The staff is amazingly courteous and friendly and they were quietly present around the resort to cater to our needs and desires. We stayed in a beachfront "Casita" that was about 50 ft from the water. A double sized beach chaise and a hammock were right out side our door. We never turned the AC on as the beach breezes and the well ventilated casitas stayed nice and cool. We could open the front door and see the waves breaking on the barrier reef from our king sized, mosquito netted bed. We took advantage of the spa services and had massages for a very relaxing time. The resort has kayaks, surf boards, sailboats, pedal boats, scuba gear and fishing gear available at no charge to guests. Lots of other diving and water experiences could be arranged by the staff.
The swimming pool was a beautiful infinity pool with lounge chairs in the water and a hot tub available. The food and drink were wonderful too. Water taxis were availed to take guests into San Pedro for shopping or dining away from the resort, but the food at the resort restaurant is so good that we didn't want to take any time away from being at Matachica.

One could very easily get used to this relaxed and beautiful place. The lifestyle in Belize operates on island time which is a very casual pace. This is an incredibly restful place, especially after working at the school. It is an adult resort, no children under 12, so if you are looking for a quiet spot enjoy and relax on the cayes of Belize, Matachica is a wonderful resort.

Room Tip: The Casitas on the beach are worth the extra expense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have stayed at Mata Chica three years in a row. Although we have looked and stayed at other resorts there are none better in our opinion. Friendly staff, activities if you want them, beach is very well kept and food is sensational. Mata Chica has an earthy organic atmosphere that is unrivaled on this island. Something happens to me when I walk through the doors and I am able to leave the troubles of the world behind. The staff greets you upon arrival with fresh cool towel and a complimentary drink of your choosing. The cabanas are painted in the beautiful shades of various fruits. The rooms are exceptional and the turn down service in the evening includes second mini clean with fresh towels. Continental breakfast that comes complimentary with room is delicious and quite large. It is a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of town. We won't stay anyplace else--Mata Chica has my heart.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WrldTravelerNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

After leaving Belmopan with tropic air (quite a scary flight!) and a 10 minutes boat ride, what a pleasant surprise to arrive at the beautiful Matachica Resort.
We stayed in a beachfront casita for 5 nights. It was windy when we where there so it made quite some noise but to open our door and see the turquoise sea every morning was so relaxing. The staff was helpful, friendly and caring. The food at the restaurant, the Mambo, was very good. We went with a pedal boat to the reef and snorkelled and did sea kayak. We walked on the beach (which outside the resort is quite dirty) to see other resorts and we think that matachica is definitely the best one in San Pedro!

Room Tip: The view of the beachfront casita is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marieriez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
7.9 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#9 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 745 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Property: Matachica Resort & Spa
Address: | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing