We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little peace of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matachica Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After leaving Belmopan with tropic air (quite a scary flight!) and a 10 minutes boat ride, what a pleasant surprise to arrive at the beautiful Matachica Resort.
We stayed in a beachfront casita for 5 nights. It was windy when we where there so it made quite some noise but to open our door and see the turquoise sea every morning was so relaxing. The staff was helpful, friendly and caring. The food at the restaurant, the Mambo, was very good. We went with a pedal boat to the reef and snorkelled and did sea kayak. We walked on the beach (which outside the resort is quite dirty) to see other resorts and we think that matachica is definitely the best one in San Pedro!

Room Tip: The view of the beachfront casita is beautiful!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marieriez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for Matachica Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 961 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wow what a great place for a few days R & R. It doesn’t seem to matter where you stay as it’s a really small resort and all the casitas are well positioned. Our casita was nicely laid out and equipped. The staff were really great and the trips we did to the Hol Chan marine reserve and our boat trip looking for Manatees were really memorable.
If it wasn’t such a long way from our home we would be tempted to visit Matachica again.

Room Tip: if you like swimming, its the pool not the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airportblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Matachica is magic, from the moment you are met at the airport in San Pedro by Christopher and whisked away for a 10 minutes boat trip up the caye. As so many reviewers have said, the staff is wonderful - helpful, informed, always anticipating ones comfort. Our casita was splendid with the sea right outside and a contant refreshing breeze. Fresh flowers every day on the sheets and towels, and towel sculptures in the bathroom. Quiet reigned, relaxation was immediate. And the food, not enough is said about the chef. He is a treasure. We majored in fish, and whether blackened, stuffed, or grilled, it was scrumptious.
Watching geckos, lizards, hermit crabs, and lovely birds, sunsets and sunrises. We kayaked out to the reef, a piece of cake even for the uninitiated, to find the best snorkeling we've ever experienced. Go in the morning when the rising sun dapples the reef. Breathtaking.
One of us indulged in the 90-minute massage and was extremely pleased.
We hated to leave and will go back. We feel as if we've made friends there. Burga in reservations, Margaret one of the servers, and Ever at the bar.
As an aside, we were at Matachica for Valentines Day. Every available spot in the main building was set with tables for dinner, decorated with lovely red flowers. A telling sign that the restaurant is considered one of the best in Belize.

Room Tip: Seaside casitas are worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay in Matachica for our honeymoon. WOW - what a place! It really does stand head and shoulders above everything else I've experienced (and been lucky enough to stay at some great places in my time).

Firstly, it has very cleverly defined its own unique style that brims with character and class without being too showy or overly contemporary. It blends beautifully into its surroundings, unlike most of the other resorts on the island, and everything is furnished and decorated impeccably, with nice little touches everywhere.

We stayed in one of their "Sea Breeze Suites". We'd seen the pictures on their website before, but even so, when we arrived and were shown into the room, we were blown away. The room was really spacious, laid out brilliantly, and had all of the facilities you would need. It had an almost rustic charm about it whilst being spotlessly clean so created a really warm feeling that you don't get in your more typical resort rooms that are plastered in glossy and marbled surfaces.

The pool is excellent. This is important because the sea is not really great for swimming due to the shallow depth and the prevalence of sea grasses. The resort was full while we were there and yet there was only ever a small handful of people around the pool so it never felt crowded. There are deck chairs in the shallows or you can use it to swim lengths without having to negotiate twee pool features that you often get in many resorts.

As for the service and staff, I cannot speak of them highly enough. I challenge you to find a friendlier staff anywhere! They really make a difference. From the moment we landed to the moment we were returned to the airport, our every need was met. While we were there, one of the guys took me out on their small sailboat to show me the ropes, and everyone was courteous and kind to a fault. Dinner service was brilliant. Breakfast was perfect. In fact, everything was spot on.

If you're thinking of Belize, you should go to Matachica. It is gem and an absolute treat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Talk about paradise! Perfect mix of luxury and relaxation without being snobby. Everyone was extremely friendly! Ms Abbey would have made our trip alone, but all staff are obviously very well trained and held to a high bar of excellence. It was the little touches too. Like a bowl of flowers under your view when getting a massage, and that staff knew you by your first name basis.

The activities were impressive for such a small resort. We paddle boarded, kayaked, and learned how to sail all in one week!

We stayed in one of the deluxe ocean front casitas and it was worth it if you can afford it. Staring from your bed at the beautiful turquoise water was something to behold. A first we were thrown off by no tv, but by the end of the week we were glad.

The food was also amazing, but i'll write a separate review Mambo's. spoiler alert: the pasta is great!

We don't usually visit the same place twice, but we may have to make an exception here!

Room Tip: Luxury ocean front all the way!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suebdoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is absolutely amazing. At 2 full time employees per guest room, this resort is on top of their game at every moment. Matachica is romantic and laid back, and luxurious but not pretentious. It's not for the spring-breaker...the atmosphere is quiet, relaxing, and romantic. Every employee was warm and friendly and every other guest we met was absolutely in love with Matachica! And the food will knock your socks off! Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The going to Matachica Beach Resort is Easy but the leaving is Hard . Even though it hurts my heart to say good-by ....I am eager to go again .This was our 9 th. visit for our 58th. A. And once again the staff made it Special for us .The weather was off-on rain this year but we hardly noticed it cause the Staff and other guest made " sunshine " inside ....we laughed , talked , played cards eat and had drinks ... A good time was had by all .This is just the most perfect place for us...we kick back and the Staff takes care of us in style . I can not think of another place I would rather be in that space of time . Every one there is dear to us ...as I write that ...I get a hurt in my heart and tears come ... but knowing we will return next year and they will welcome us Home makes the wait a tad more easy .

Room Tip: Every Casita is perfect ...nicely spaced... Excellent comfort... beyond maintained....Always clean...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
5.4 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
235 reviews
6.9 mi away
Victoria House Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
1.4 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portofino Beach Resort
Portofino Beach Resort
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matachica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront | 5 miles north of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Matachica Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range: $338 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Resort & Spa is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 27 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom SeaBreeze Villa. All with beautiful Frette and Matouk linens, and exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. A minimum age requirement of 14 years for children applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Matachica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Resort & Spa Belize/San Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing